We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Guiyang Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Novotel Guiyang Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Novotel Guiyang Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Zhonghua South Road, Nanming District, Guiyang 550001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 502 Hotels in Guiyang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during Chinese New Year.

The hotel itself looks amazing, the lobby is so grand.

Staff are really helpful. We ordered room service and the breakfast was a bit cold but I don't blame them because the temperature outside the hotel is below 0 and we had ordered lots of food. I accidentally knocked off 2 plates and a cup of coffee and they immediately came to clean it and they made me feel so comfortable as even though I did something wrong, they were still very polite and kind. They also send us back the dishes that I knocked off immediately without charging us extra. We ordered supper in the hotel as well and the food was delicious.


The shower is amazing, it's called the rainforest shower, we stayed in the shower for an hour because it was that nice.

The only negative thing is the central heating was broken when we got there and it was below zero degrees outside so we were freezing! But fortunately they staff got us an external heater which kept us warm all night.

I definitely recommend this hotel to any travelers!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    37
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
14
19
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The facilities are first class, the staff is well trained and speakes efficient English. They are also flexible and despite of cancelled reservation in the system due to very late arrival during the night they managed to book me a new room with a very nice upgrade indeed.
The breakfast is also remarkable with a higher portion of Chinese food of course.
The location is really downtown and very close to a popular area for restaurants and bars also frequented by expats.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Guiyang.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here for almost a week and I am checking out tomorrow, I have to say that I really enjoyed the gym and the panoramic view of the room. Plus, their restaurant started a thailand food festival yesterday so I got to taste some really good dishes from this country. They brought up the chefs and even a very pretty musician who plays some kind of harp. A word of warning, some of those dishes are really spicy (I love spicy so no problem for me here). They put up some nice decorations and even got the employees to dress up. The only issue I had was because of the location of the hotel which is right in the middle of downtown, it is practical except when you have to hit the road during the hours of trafic. Be aware of that by planning some time ahead of your outside mettings. I was late two times because of rush hour.

Room Tip: ask for a panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have been there last month for a leisure hnoliday. I was so surprised by the amazing wine bar on the top floor of the hotel.We enjoyed a wonderful night there with very nice wine and romantic music.Will choose this hotel again next time!

Room Tip: king room with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I had one of the best seafood dinners in my life in Novotel Guiyang last saturday. Fresh, tasty and big variety of food, the Italian wine (for free) was excellent. Thanks to the great service too, I will come again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanya, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I went travelling in this forest city. At first, I thought it was not my day with heavy rain, however this hotel changed my feeling. People working there were nice and friendly, they helped me a lot to search the scenic places in Guiyang for me, and provided me an umbrella. For 3 days staying this hotel, each day was around with warm smile and professional service, what a unforgettable trip.

Room Tip: king standard room with one bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I came to Guiyang on business trip days ago, staying in this Novotel makes my trip very easy, It is right in the city business district, very close to our client company, close to the airport, very close to the famous scenery spot, a..n..d just next to many big shopping malls, I also tasted many delicous and spicy food there. I will definitely choose Novotel again for my next trip to Guiyang!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novotel Guiyang Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Guiyang Downtown

Address: No.8 Zhonghua South Road, Nanming District, Guiyang 550001, China
Location: China > Guizhou > Guiyang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guiyang
#8 Best Value Hotel in Guiyang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Guiyang Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Guiyang Downtown is ideally located in the city centre at Dashizi, within walking distance to the Jiaxiu Pavilion and Penshuichi shopping area, only 15 minutes drive from the airport and 8 minutes from Guiyang Railway Station. Featuring modern amenities, the 243 spacious rooms and suites offer comfortable accommodation to Business & Leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Novotel Guiyang Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Novotel Guiyang Downtown China - Guizhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novotel Guiyang Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.