We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borj Dhiafa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Borj Dhiafa to your Saves list
Borj Dhiafa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route soukra km3, Sfax 3052, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sfax
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quiet Comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Back to Borj Dhiafa after 18 months almost. Still retains the same qualities. Comfortable and large room, clean. Retains an old world charm. It is a bit away from the center of town (at least I think it is!). Has it's pro's and con's. It is easy for me to reach my office avoiding traffic snarls. We had free wi-fi all around the building and I thought it was wonderful. No hassles of a password, and the smart phone was always online. Great!

Very friendly staff too.

I would prefer to have some more choices in the TV channels as well the breakfast menu . In my opinion, for a 5 start hotel, considered the best in SFAX, the choice in food is limited. But I must say that the steak I had the first day was really good. It is good to have some more options on news/movies etc..), especially when you are travelling.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
7
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife after using tripadvisor to make the choice. We were not disappointed. Firstly the first impression is fantastic, the exterior and interior of this building is beautifully done. Not only are the rooms great, big airy and spacious, the shower is one of the best l have used in Tunisia!

We only stayed for one night but bumped into a lady that had lived in Sfax for 3 years and advised it was also the best restaurant in Sfax. We have nothing in sfax to compare it to, but the food was fresh, delicious and authentic. Served with a smile.

The health spa is cheap. My wife and l had both had an hour massage for approx 40gbp for the two of us, and it was good!

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Borj during a business trip to Sfax. Having stayed in some real dumps in Africa, I'm always a bit hesitatant.

But, this large hotel was very pleasant. It's worth mentioning the large indoor pool; guarded entrance and secure car park, spa (which I didn't visit) and smart courtyard surrounded with occasional chairs and waiter service.

Breakfast was ok.
- lunch and dinner excellent.

Rooms are very clean, bed a touch firm (for me at least) but all modern and very good.

Altogether, a good stay easily up to 4 star + European standards.
- only negative was a slightly off hand service from a couple of waiters.

PS - alcohol is of course available in the hotel and throughout Sfax restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The place is okay. I stayed there for a couple of days this week. The place has a more of a big house rather than a big hotel atmosphere. Language was my big issue,as I could not speak French or Arabic,especially in the restaurant! One night they were moving furniture in the middle of night and I could not complain or convince them not to do so in my English!

The breakfast selection was poor with limited selections and I thought not of a five star quality. I tried to convince them not to serve me fish on my salad,but was served it on every day! That was frustrating...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Classy hotel, big rooms, nice decor. Wi-fi is fast.The restaurant is fantastic but only for dinner. It's hard to believe that breaksfast and dinner come from the same kitchen because the breakfast offerings are 3 star at best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was very pleased with the hotel architucture and decoration. I stayed there with my husband and son for 2 nights. The room was excellent, clean, spacious, with comfortable king size bed, breakfast was good, staff was helpful... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

During a Tunisian wedding, my seven months old son, my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this jewel for four nights. We had an excellent and spacious room with a balcony, even got a "king size" baby bed for our son. :-) This part of Tunisia is especially well known for its seafood cuisine, and this hotel took this to a culinaric level. Fantastic food; both breakfast, lunch and dinner. Special thanks to Ahmed in the kitchen who provided us with such fantastic "patisserie" for breakfast! :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borj Dhiafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borj Dhiafa

Address: Route soukra km3, Sfax 3052, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sfax Governorate > Sfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Borj Dhiafa 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Borj Dhiafa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borj Dhiafa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.