We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 3rd favorite lodge on the tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Save
You added Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“My 3rd favorite lodge on the tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Spent the last 2 nights of the tour at this lodge. It's a cool set up - the rooms are like circular little huts. The rooms could have used an update, but the main building and dining room were beautiful. Our first room had an obstructed view - there was a big tree right in front of the window blocking the view of the caldera. Fortunately, we were only in that room one night, as in the middle of the night we woke up to something eating our snacks out of the bag. That's when we found out that there aren't a lot of security guards outside, and the rooms don't have phones. I was afraid it was a monkey, but it turned out to be a mouse or some kind of rodent, and we were moved to another room with a better view closer to the main building the next night. The staff were very helpful, accommodating, and apologetic about the rodent. Despite the rodent, I thought this was a very good lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    392
    138
    34
    7
See reviews for
238
460
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful views. Great room. Staff were very attentive. Only problem. MATTRESSES WERE HARD AS ROCK. Not sure why. It really difficult to sleep. That being said the food was amazing and we really loved our two nights and the tour to Ngorongoro.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The room felt a little dated, but it was spacious and clean. The food at the lodge was good. The staff was very pleasant and they even walk you to your room each night just to make sure you get there ok. Wifi is only available in the common area, but the signal was good. The view of the crater is wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of Thomas Cook Taste of Tanzania tour. The lodge has a great location on the rim of the crater giving fantastic sunset views. It is also on the road down into the crater giving easy access.
Rooms massive and with nice sun area. Hot water bottles provided with turn down service.
Great food again. The bar area was also nice with open fires.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Was the nicest place I stay while on safari. Bit of a drive to get to, but definitely worth it. The buffet was excellent. It very busy when we were there, so the service in the dinning room wasn't the greatest, but that would be the only fault I can find with it. Rooms were great, and the view of Ngorongoro from the pool area was amazing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed only one night and were very comfortable. What was once a five star lodge is a bit tired. Service was fine, food was good, rooms were large and adequate. Hot water bottles were offered with a turned down bed. The views of the crater are fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here one night towards the end of our safari and were quite disappointed.

When we arrived we were given a cold towel and drink which was very nice after the long, dusty drive up here. The lobby is very grand and nicely decorated, leading out to the pool and seating area with a view of the crater. The view was absolutely breathtaking.

Our room was large but basic, although it did have a very nice view from the enclosed patio. The bathroom could have been cleaner (there was mildew in the shower) and it was chilly in the bathroom. The window slats did not close completely and rattled throughout the night even after waking up to close them.

The food was also mediocre. This was the only large lodge we stayed in and so take that into account. The other places we stayed were small tented camps with much fewer guests. The buffet was very crowded with people who did not have very good line etiquette. The food was also not good (with the exception of the desserts). The salads looked very good, unfortunately as we were about to serve a cockroach scampered by. The night we were there they had mainly Indian food, so we mostly had vegetables, rice, and roast chicken.

You must be careful when checking out to verify your bill. After telling the lady our room number she tried to overcharge us for another room's tab. I persisted that we could not have spent that much and even showed her our room number and she kept showing me the bill for a different room. It took about ten minutes to get her to show me OUR bill.

The view from the lodge is beautiful, but the mediocre food and discrepancy at the front desk would lead me to look at other lodging next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Sopa Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.