We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay when visiting Ngorogoro Crater” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Save
You added Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jackson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good place to stay when visiting Ngorogoro Crater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel was our "homebase" while visiting the Ngorogoro Crater. The rooms are spacious and clean. Our overlooked the crater so we had a great view of the sunset.They even warm up your bed at night with a hot water bottle. I was having trouble adjusting to the altitude so I went to see the hotel Dr. She took excellent care of me. She even checked in on me several times to see how I was doing. The staff went out of their way to take care of me as well. I could not have asked for better treatment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    392
    138
    34
    7
See reviews for
238
459
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is the only property in Ngorongoro with a westerly view, good for sunsets over the crater/caldera. Don't expect to see wildlife with binoculars - the crater is just too far away to see such detail. Rooms were massive with large shower areas. Due to altitude there are no open balconies which is a shame; instead there are glassed- in areas with one screen window to open, and there a rattan rocking chairs which need careful negotiating as they skid around a bit!
Complimentary water is provided daily. If you have any disability or problem with hills it is essential that you ask for a room close to the restaurant, otherwise you will find the slope up very challenging. The restaurant is too crowded with tables and it's more comfortable when service is provided (as opposed to self service). This was also the restaurant with the slowest service of all during our safari. Check your bill: I was billed for someone else's drinks in our party because the waiter was too lazy to bother to write the correct room number down. The pool looked ok but few people used it as it was too cold. No option was given over smoking or non smoking rooms which is just unacceptable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I was suffering a lot from tse tse fly bites upon arrival. The fairly long walk to our room aggravated the bites, making walking almost unbearable. I went to see the hotel dr and she was amazing and very concerned. I was very impressed with her and very thankful for her assistance. The rooms are large with a beautiful view. I would loved to have stayed here longer. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Arrived here for 2 nights as we began a 2 week trip into the Ngorongoro Crater, Ndutu and Tarangire. I agree with other reviews that it is large and the rooms are bigger than necessary. Still... it was clean and the beds were great. Our room had no view. Whether others did.. I couldn't say. The best view is reserved for the front of the lodge.

We were greeted with cool face towels and fruit juice on check-in. The gates open for entry to the crater at 0600 AM. Unfortunately breakfast does not begin until then as well. This is not unique to this lodge and I am continually amazed by this. You can however go down to the coffee bar and even though it is not officially open, it is possible to get a cup of coffee before leaving in the morning.

Dining room is huge and the food is good. Braaii on Saturday night was very nice. Certainly not small or intimate and we enjoyed our week at a tented camp much more but I really cannot fault it for much. It IS a big lodge and operates like one.

Really liked the location. It was well away from the other lodges. If your room is far away security walks you to it as it is possible (but not too likely) to run into a small animal.

Room Tip: Possibly request a room with a view if they exist???
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

On the plus side, the location of this lodge is grand - both for the views and for having quick access to Ngorongoro Crater for viewing in the morning. However, the lodge is huge and you may get a room without such a great view (we did), so I'd specify this in your request. The rooms were huge - almost ridiculously big. But they were outdated - by at least 20 years. The pool area was ok, but not nearly enough chairs and the water was ice-cold. We were only there for one night so maybe the food can be good, but I didn't find it so while we were there. It was the typical big all-inclusive buffet and so there was a lot of food, but none of it especially good. The costumes that the servers wore were supposed to be "traditional" I guess, but just seemed artificial. In fact, the whole place seemed a bit artificial - like we could have been at Epcot (aside from the great views). For location, it's a fine place to stay but absolutely wouldn't want to for more than 1 night.

Room Tip: Get a room that is on higher elevation, with a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Although this was the biggest lodge we used during our safari, it was nice and welcome. Incredible view from the lodge and a huge room as well with a stunning view. The restaurant was a bit crowded but the staff always found you a place and never give you the intention that they were in a hurry. We had one time a set dinner and one time a buffet-style dinner. Both were good and tasty with efficient service.
There was plenty of staff and always eager to help you. More in a professional way than in the smaller lodges but we found them warm and friendly.
Internet worked fine when we were staying.
We were very happy with the choice of Sopa Lodge as our last lodge on our safari.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

best things about this lodge was the view...very very good view of the ngorogoro crater. the rooms are a little dated, but super spacious and clean. the food was solid, the highlight was some stir fry that the chefs made on the spot. that was excellent! but in general, food was a little oily. selection was very good.

service overall was good. we didn't like our waiter though... bad english (compared to ever other waiter I've met which had good or excellent english skills) and too intrusive. he wouldn't leave us alone.

the biggest advantage of this lodge is that it is REALLY close to the road that leads down to the crater. less than 15 min drive to crater floor.

Room Tip: ask for room close to main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Sopa Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.