We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Helpful Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ndutu Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ndutu Safari Lodge
Save
You added Ndutu Safari Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   P.O. Box 6084, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not Very Helpful Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I expected to like this lodge much more than I did based on the reviews I had read. Instead, I found it just average.

One mosquito net was hung when we got there and the other 2 beds didn't have nets. I asked for the nets to be hung and they were. Then I noticed holes in one of the nets and told an employee there were holes. He said, "No, there aren't." I said I would show him. Then he said they would change the net the next morning. That wouldn't really help us our first night. The manager heard about it and got the net changed right away.

The manager never introduced herself or said she worked at the lodge even when I spoke to her. I thought she was another guest at first.

The room was fine (a bit cramped for 3), the location is nice, the genet cats in the dining room are fun (they were fighting in the roof one morning during breakfast which was fun to listen to). I just didn't feel the lodge was anything special. Dinner here is not a buffet but is served to you at the table.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afisa N, General Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hello there
Thank you for writing a review on TA for us and thank you for commenting positively in our gues book at the lodge.
I'm sorry the manager was not more specific explaining who she was, but I am glad that she was able to rectify the problem with the mosquito net immediately for you. The good thing at Ndutu is that the mosquito here are simply grass mosquitoes, are not the malaria carrying ones so a net is not really necessary. There is also spray supplied in each room and a quick spray before going to dinner in the evening ensures that you are not bugged during the night.
Some people do find that Ndutu Lodge is not the place for them, and that is fine, everyone has different tastes, however as you would have read in our guest visitors book, the majority of guests love Ndutu Lodge and cannot wait to return. I do hope that you will return one day too, so that we can hopefully make it a more positive experience for you.

All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    95
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
61
113
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We spent 3 nights here in March 2014. My family (wife and 2 daughters- age 11 and 14) were in the tail end of a 2 week northern circuit safari. The location is very good with tons of wildlife around. The game drives are really good in the area.

The chalets are very nice. Good, reliable water and electricity. Few bugs and no malaria in the area.

The staff is very friendly and willing to help. The service is nice. The bar is nice.

The food area is great with the resident Genets hanging around at times. The quality of the food is not very good. It was average for the places we stayed, but overall the Tanzanian food was not good. This was my third african country and the most disappointing food. Ndutu did not offer any choices during lunch or dinner. It is a set, one choice menu.

This is worth the visit for the location and facilities. The food is average in quality. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: This fills up early. Make reservations well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi Stephen
We appreciate you taking the time to review our Lodge and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Am disappointed to hear that the food was not to your liking. We do not pretend to offer extraordinary cuisine, rather simple home cooked meals, which going by the comments in our guest book, the majority of guests are happy with. Each high season have a visiting chef from the USA who comes for a short time to help with fine tuning recipes and to lift the standard so I am sorry you didn't benefit from that.

Karibu tena
A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I'm not quite sure why but this was my favorite lodge of the five lodges that we stayed in while on an 11 day safari. It wasn't the fanciest and the service and food wasn't the best but it was just comfortable. Maybe it was the guests who stayed here. Everyone was very friendly. Or maybe it was because of the wild genet cats who appeared on the dining room rafters every evening. Anyway, I really liked this place.The rooms were fine with a small porch where you could see the lake. There was nice common area in the main lodge. The manager or owner was always around making sure that everything was going OK. The game drives were great. Lots of cheetahs and lions. You'll like this lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi Charles - so glad you loved the lodge so really hope you can come and visit again one day! So long as you don't want a super luxury Lodge with unnecessary bells and whistles, Ndutu is a great place to stay so Karibu Tena!

All the best
A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was our second visit to the lodge, this time we chose to spend 7 nights there, and we were in no way disappointed. The location is superb, being just at the edge of the Serengeti park but without the restriction of having to stay on the existing tracks, so one could follow (at a reasonable distance) the abundant wildlife this area has to offer.
As distinct from the Ngorongoro crater, which resembles a vast zoo, this area has all the wildlife you could want and at suitable times of the year, it is possible to see the great migration-a wonderful spectacle.
The lodge is a permenant collection of about 30 detached or semi detached rooms each with shower and WC and a short walk from the main building, and the owners/hosts are charming...thanks to Eva and her team!
Food quantity was always more than adequate, well presented and excellent.
We had excellent sightings of amongst others, lioness with cubs, cheetah with 5 cubs, buffalo, wilder beast, zebra etc.
Spend as long as you can here, you'll not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All have the same views, no preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi there

We appreciate that you have taken the time to review our Lodge and are very happy to know that your time here was so enjoyable.

We really are in an extraordinary part of the world, and our staff do their best to make your stay and pleasant as possible. We have many guests who return year after year becuase it is one of their favourite places.

Do spread the word and do come back again!

All the best
A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Spoke with the owner of this lodge and thanked her for not installing Wifi! We all spent the evening sitting around a campfire enjoying each other and talking with people from faraway lands. The water is very soft here so getting soap off of you is a challenge but they seem to have made great strides in the hot water department since I was last here as it was plentiful.
We had our laundry done here also and it was reasonable. Star gazing was the biggest hit of the night next to just relaxing. The food was planty and hot and the beer cold. There is a computer you can use in the office and I would bet that they will give in to Wifi before long but I hope they don't.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the high 20's they are the farthest from the lodge and you don't have peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afisa N, Manager at Ndutu Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi there
Yes, isn't it amazing when you actually can sit and talk to one another without the impolite interruptions of wifi / cellphone users. We want people to come to Ndutu Lodge and have the opportunity to get away from the modern way of being 100% accessible 24hrs a day, and have the opportunity to listen to the sounds of the bush and spend time star gazing and practicing the lost art of conversation with other travellers.

All the best
A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for one night, traveling between the Serengeti and Ngorongoro. Ndutu felt like the true wilderness, with not many lodges in the area, so much fewer cars than in the Serengeti. We had a private viewing of a pride of lions and saw some cheetahs with just one other car. It felt very natural being able to drive off-road, and truly explore the entire area. The lodge itself was charming, lacking a few basic creature comforts (you could tell there weren't many female staff!), but spending just the one night was an unforgettable experience. The food was terrible, but not sure than can really be helped given the remote location and limited electricity! The setting is lovely, and sitting around the campfire in the evening with the tiny little dikdik deer coming right up close to you was magical. I have never seen a clearer sky or so many stars in my life.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Wonderful base location for daily outings.Accommodations very clean and comfortable. Food was excellent and the bar well stocked. The staff was suberb. Overall first rate experience. Highly recommended if one can secure a reservation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ndutu Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndutu Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 6084, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ndutu Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ndutu Safari Lodge, shaded by majestic acacia trees, is situated in the south-eastern part of the Serengeti. The Lodge has thirty four cottages, all built with local materials, with individual verandahs facing Lake Ndutu. Tucked away from the madding crowd, Ndutu offers peace and tranquility. Stay close to the lodge and enjoy our resident wildlife or go for a drive to explore the surrounding plains or marsh area. After sunset return to the homely warmth and hospitality of Ndutu Safari Lodge. Karibuni. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ndutu Safari Hotel Arusha
Ndutu Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ndutu Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.