We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home in Serengeti!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ndutu Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ndutu Safari Lodge
Save
You added Ndutu Safari Lodge to your Saves list
P.O. Box 6084, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Arusha, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My Home in Serengeti!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We work in a nearby Camp at Ndutu and I usually sleep over at Ndutu Safari Lodge. I come and go often to check work progress , I stopped over this weekend and I fell ill, The staff treated me like a prince! I was accommodated and served very well , the manager assisted me with a driver on my way to and from the camp at night , The Chef made me some nice Tangawizi to soothe my Throat and appropriate meals, the Receptionist assisted me with painkillers and medicine + he checked on how I was doing frequently, he was truly amazing! One of the Staff - Joseph , came and served me my meals in my room ! I just cant be thankful enough ! Special thanks to the Manager , Chef, Receptionist, the Barman, Joseph and the Driver!! Thanks to the whole of Ndutu Safari Lodge , I will be visiting again Soon! All in all the place is very comfortable and perfect for a stop over!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    79
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
48
93
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Ndutu part of Serengeti exceeds expectations. Here, drivers can take you off-road, which means seeing more animals and fewer vehicles. The Ndutu Safari Lodge is out in the Serengeti bush, where water is a scarce commodity and electricity is from generators and solar panels. The lodge is clean, food is quite good, and staff are exceptionally helpful. They provide safe, filtered drinking water for the room every day, with the option to buy bottled water; hot/cold showers; and electricity in the mornings and evenings. But one would be foolish to go to Africa seeking posh accommodations. What's great about the Ndutu lodge is that it is right in the Serengeti. We saw giraffes, buffalo, storks, and elephants wandering the grounds. One night, we heard lions calling in the distance. The proprietors keep track of what is going on with the local cheetah "boys" and lion prides, and love to share their stories around the campfire at night. Staying at the lodge is a remarkable, wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great food, decent room, wildlife, great common area - let's go back. Several animals on the grounds - dikdik, impala, bats, lovebirds, plover and the genets in the common room, which is really fun to see. Sitting around the fire with the Milky Way above. Homemade breads included banana bread, and although no choice for dinner, it was excellent food. Surrounding area has beautiful acacia trees to frame both sunrise and sunset. Started a game drive the next morning and a cheetah was sitting just outside the gate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Camping in the bush could be daunting but not at the Ndutu Safari Lodge. The accommodations were very comfortable, if basic. The staff was outstanding and so hospitable. Sitting around the fire in the evening was the perfect end to a day exploring the Tanzanian bush. A definite must stay if you are in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same small bungalows it is just the distance from the main building but it not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived here at night, after a long drive from Mto Wa Mbu, stopping by several places along Ngorongoro Conservation Area. This is a fantastic lodge. I had seen many positive reviews here in Trip Advisor, but once you get there, you become truly happy that you are staying.

When I woke up the next morning and went for a stroll, I could confirm how fantastic the surroundings are. You are in the middle of the savannah, with chance of seeing wildlife just outside the lodge itself, and even the wild genets decided to make it their "home". Apart hundreds of lovebirds and the genets, we weren't able to see elephants or other big wild animal there, but we saw many giraffes nearby when driving away from the place. Lake Ndutu is very close and the surroundings are great for game drives, where we spotted a pregnant cheetah, amongst many other animals.

By the fire at night, where you can relax drinking your coffee while you listen to the nightly sounds of the savannah, we met the the owners, who were very nice to talk with and share a few pictures. The staff overall is great as well. One small issue was that the welcoming was not very nice. They checked us in with an "off you go now" attitude and didn't brief us about the place. The restaurant decoration looks great and the food was also excellent.

The lodges are the best you can expect, having in mind that you are in the middle of the wilderness, far away from civilization. Water for showering looks strange because it comes from the soda lake, while the drinking water is collected from the rain. There is limited electricity, but you can find sockets to charge your batteries in case you need to. The lodges are not that spacious, but they are very cosy and really nice looking from the inside and the outside.

We only stayed here one night, and this place deserved more. If I go back to Serengeti, this will be a mandatory place to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived after bumpy drive from the Crater. While the rooms are quite basic, the setting is magical and the main bar and dining lodge area super-comfortable with spectacular views.

The food was very good and the staff were terrific.

We had breakfast with a huge stork standing sentry which was fun. There was a lot of wildlife to see in and around the lodge.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Ndutu is placed in a fantastic setting with wildlife in and around it, the birdlife is fantastic and the quiet mood makes it like really beeing in the bush of Africa! Rooms are nice and clean, and the staff is really nice. Last time we were there a lot of people got stuck in the mud on the plains, and Ndutu staff were out all night pulling weird tourist out of the wet mud (Driving a 2WD from Kenya is NOT advisable!!). THe place on earth we really like to get back to, next time we will book the most remote bungalow :)

Room Tip: For photo opportunities the most remote rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ndutu Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndutu Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 6084, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ndutu Safari Lodge, shaded by majestic acacia trees, is situated in the south-eastern part of the Serengeti. The Lodge has thirty four cottages, all built with local materials, with individual verandahs facing Lake Ndutu. Tucked away from the madding crowd, Ndutu offers peace and tranquility. Stay close to the lodge and enjoy our resident wildlife or go for a drive to explore the surrounding plains or marsh area. After sunset return to the homely warmth and hospitality of Ndutu Safari Lodge. Karibuni. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ndutu Safari Hotel Arusha
Ndutu Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ndutu Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.