We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms but felt a bit out of place with surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Save
You added andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms but felt a bit out of place with surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This lodge is so over-the-top given its location in Africa. While this lodge was very comfortable, it just felt strange to be staying in such an extravagant place on a safari trip. I now know I prefer accommodations that feel a bit more appropriate for the location.

Our “chalet” room was very well-designed with terrific crater views from every angle. Service was good albeit a bit stiff and formal. Our butler, Daniel, was fantastic. Food in the dining room itself was mediocre, especially relative to the price as well as the food at other lodges where we stayed, however the picnic basket breakfasts and lunches were of very good quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    54
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
91
244
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our group of 10 had very high expectations about our stay at the Crater Lodge and most were met. The location on the crater rim is phenomenal. During dusk, we could hear lions roaring from the crater floor and if you dared to peek your head outside your own personal hut at night, you might spy a few cape buffalo right off your deck.

The rooms are comfortable and while not a bath person, the tub of water at the end of a day filled with game viewing over dusty roads, a hot bath was a welcome pleasure. The showers are located behind the bed in the bed room - completely open to the entire room - and makes for a chilly prospect during this time of year. Adjusting the water temperature in the shower almost required a plumbing certification.

The glowing and warm fire in the wood burning stove at night is a nice touch. Overall, the rooms may be due for an update, but the beds are very comfortable.

We were able to work in a couple of massages and both therapists were excellent. It is a tight squeeze with two massage tables in your hut, but worth the effort.

The staff is very accommodating, but make sure to check your laundry to ensure you received your clothing and not another guest's clothing before turning in for the evening.

The food received mixed reviews from our groups of 10, but it was overall an upgrade from the other lodges we visited during our visits at lodges not owned by andBeyond. We all agreed that if we did return to Tanzania, that we would stay at the Crater Lodge again.

Room Tip: The upper two lodges have larger huts for those traveling with children. A couple of huts are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

If Ngorongo Crater is considered as one of the natural wonders, then perched on the rim of the crater itself is The Ngorongo Crater Lodge, a lavish wonderland. It will feel like you are in a dream. The individual villas are dotted across the property with spectacular views of the crater and Zebras and buffaloes roaming the grounds. As soon as you enter the villa, it will transport you in an era of opulence, that is matched with lavish hospitality…andBeyond style. They know how to create memorable experiences. We were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday and I wanted to do something very special him, like make his favorite Indian breakfast! All I had to do was, give them the instructions and Viola! My husband liked it better than the present I got for him :) Mandi, Irene, Nemes and the entire team go through lengths to make sure your every whim is taken care of.

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon Suite, which was the most private. BTW, we were not on our honeymoon, but we st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

After going on our first safari last year, my husband and I decided on a second trip. Having heard so much about Ngorongoro Crater Lodge, we decided that we had to go there.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and the food was good. The main lodge was well decorated and comfortable. Fires were lit, drinks served before dinner, and conversation with other travelers was fun. But at the price they charge, more is expected.

We arrived at the park at lunchtime, so went directly to the dining room. When we finished eating, we went to our rooms unescorted. No one showed us around. We left shortly for a drive to the crater, then dinner. Our butler lit a fire, tried turning on one of the lamps, and said he would have to get a new light bulb. We were there two nights and never had that light working. After he left, we had to search for some of the light switches. They were quite well hidden! There was no hair conditioner in the bottle provided. It was the little things that were lacking.

We had read on other reviews that we could go to the crater early, return for lunch and then return to the crater. We thought that it might be a good idea so that we would miss some of the crowds. But when we asked to do that, we were told that we could only go into the crater once a day. We later were told that there was a $200 per vehicle charge upon entering the crater. There were 4 of us in the car, so at the prices we paid, an additional $50 per person would not have seemed unreasonable.

On our last morning, we had an early wake up call in order to get to the airstrip on time. Our butler was asked to bring coffee and tea. He brought two teas. As mornings were quite cold, he should have offered to light a fire but was out the door before we could ask him.

It is a shame that this lodge seems to be falling in its standards because the possibilities are there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Mandy , the general manger dies a terrific job , she comes and greets guests and gives everyone a very personal attention. The staff is extremely attentive and the food superb!! Game drives in the crater are the best you can get and I have no words for the excellence in housekeeping and the private butte let service . This is my third time and it just gets better and better ... World class top 5 . Congratulations to Mandy and her staff .

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We just returned from a ten day safari experience in Tanzania that included the Crater lodge, Serengeti Under Canvas, and Lake Manyara Lodge - all andBeyond properties. They ALL exceeded our expectations (which were quite high), and the Crater Lodge property was the favorite of both my wife and myself. Our two adult children loved them all but liked the ambience of the Lake Manyara Tree Lodge a little more.
First, the property at Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is one of a kind. The suites are spacious seperate units positioned on the edge of the crater and all have fantastic views of the crater floor below. Your personal butler (ours was Moyo) attends to your every need.....even coming buy in the evening and starting your log burning fireplace.
The common quarters house the reception and dining room and are beautifully appointed. The food was outstanding and the service was some of the best we have experienced. Special eating needs were handle flawlessly.
We can't say enough about the staff.......Our personal guide for our daily safari rides was Erick. He was excellent, and made every effort to ensure we had the experience of a lifetime, even packing a gourmet lunch during one of our all day jaunts to the crater floor.
I can't say enough about andBeond properties. I booked this trip completely on line at their website. My contact was Alyson DeBruyn, and while we never spoke live, I feel she completely understood what I was looking for and customized my trip to create the vacation of a lifetime. I highly recommend using her if you decide to book an African Safari. We went into this vacation with the perspective that it was a one time deal, but after the experience, we plan on returning in a few years to do it all over again.

Room Tip: All suites are excellent and have views of the crater floor. We stayed in the "south" sect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Difficult to describe this fantastic hotel in a fantastic setting with fantastic service. Not cheap but considering what you get and where is it, it is a real fantasy. The service of a five start hotel in one of the major world cities on top of the Ngorongoro Crater, which must be one of the most beautiful places in Earth. The arrival to the hotel was truly exciting and the whole team really made and effort to make your stay unforgettable. After a visiting the crater in a 4x4 (great place for wildlife - remember you descend to a crater), the return to the hotel was the second highlight and also a great experience. Fire logs, bath tub and a few drinks (they even rememebr what we had the day before) before dinner. Amazing experience. Highly recommended for couples.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in romance, each stilted, handcrafted banana thatch suite at andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is adorned with graceful antiques and unforgettable opulence. Ensuite bathrooms, with a centrepiece of fresh roses, feature huge showers and chandelier-lit bathtubs, while floor-to-ceiling windows ensure breathtaking views from all around. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Crater Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Ngorongoro Crater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.