We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ngorongoro Crater Lodge, Tanzania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Save
You added andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Cincinnati
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ngorongoro Crater Lodge, Tanzania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A grand and fabulous lodge. Beautiful and wonderful staff. Friendly and warm welcome each time we entered lodge. Decorated as if in a dream.Food and service staff grand.Still thinking about it , weeks after our stay.Not to be missed !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    52
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
88
223
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was the fist lodge my husband and I stayed at while on safari and I must say that it brings tears to my eyes to look back at this pictures. This lodge was absolutely gorgeous and the service was amazing. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone that can afford as the location, views, service, food, and special extras were amazing. We were surprised mulitple times a day with honeymoon extras and those added touches made our stay here unforgettable. Thank you to the wonderful staff. Our butler KK was the best.

Kind regards,

Chris and Melissa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is unlike any other safari lodge we have encountered. Founded in 1935 it continues in an Art Deco eclectic theme that could seem out of place but actually works quite well. The bungalows are along the rim of and over looking a magnificent volcanic crater. They are very large with a massive bed, fireplace (it gets cold there), desk, makeup table, tub, rainshower, and two balconies. You could come just to stay in the room, but there is more, game drives.

The lodge has a sitting room for cocktails and appetizers. The dinning room is formal with high back chairs & tablecloths. Some dress (informally) for dinner, but safari clothes work as well. Unfortunately, the food on lodge was not up to expectations.

When leaving for the drive, you descend about a 1000' into the crater. At first it seems desolate, but it is full of wildlife living in desert, savannah, forest, marsh, lake and river. There can be considerable driving on rutted dirt roads, that can be dusty and jarring, but it is well worth it. Within the crater is every species common to Tanzania except the giraffe. We made a short 3 hr introductory drive the first day, and then a 9 hour drive, that included breakfast & lunch picnics in the crater. We saw everything we wanted to see, except the leopard, but we did see black rhino, cheetah, elephant, and ten lions, in various activities.

The Crater is a unique location that should not be missed. As long as you are adventuresome and really there to see wild animals in a totally natural habitat, any complaints in other reviews should be ignored. If you have a low threshold for discomfort you should pay attention to those complaints.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with friends as part of our trip this year. The location is superb, our two lodges were next to the main building and looked right out over the crater. We had zebra grazing on the lawn right in front of us. What an experience to lie in your bath tub which had been prepared for us whilst we were out on the game drive and filled with bubbles and decorated with rose petals and look out through the full length window into the crater. Oh and don't forget the bottle of champagne place in the ice bucket as well. If you were cold your butler would light the log fire in your bedroom and the wonderfully comportable beds have electric blankets to make sure you stay nice and cosy at night (it is high so nights can be cold) The lounge and dining room also have log fires burning in the evening, you really feel you have been transported back to an earlier elegant age. The food is exquisite and all of the staff are so friendly and knowledgable. The one problem at the moment is that the road back out of the crater is closed so there is a long drive back to the lodge at the end of the day but the road should be open again before too long

Room Tip: Try to get lodge 3 or 4 as they are right next to the main building and have unrestricted views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place really has to be seen to be believed. Their literature describes it as "Maasai meets Versailles" but it struck me more as Tolkien meets Versace! If a Hobbit ever won the lottery this is where he'd live. It is utterly luxurious. From the main building with it's chandeliers, over-stuffed furniture, mirrored walls and bar, open fires and attentive staff to the rooms which echo all of that and add oversized fantasy showers and rose petal strewn baths.

The view across the crater is awe inspiring and being so close meant that, with an early start, we were in the crater well before the crowds. We descended through the clouds and the morning fog and witnessed a Wagnerian sunrise from the floor of the crater. Hippo, Rhino, Elephant, and lions were all there to greet us.

Now the bad points. Given how much it costs to stay here the food is truly terrible. We even saw one guest at dinner spit out his first mouthful declaring the food inedible. The problem (and it is one we encountered at a few of the "high end" lodges we stayed at) is that the kitchen was clearly reaching for a European style haute cuisine but had no idea about how to actually achieve it. The flavours were at best bizarre and at worst truly unpleasant. They need to take a lesson from some of the other lodges we stayed at (Lake Manyara Tree Lodge and Nomad Lamai) and let the chefs cook what they know.

I also have to say that whilst the luxury and opulence were enjoyable in themselves I had a very real sense that it didn't feel like Africa. Once inside our room with the thick velvet drapes drawn we could have been anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The location of the NGORONGORO CRATER LODGE is unbelievable. Watch the zebra play on the front lawn with the Crater as a back-drop. Our individual lodge was filled with old world charm and no luxury was spared. How wonderful it was to return each day from an excursion to find the soaking tub filled with warm scented water and champagne chilling, on the side. Dining each night was an event and the atmosphere was conducive to making new friends. I highly recommend the lodge as a MUST visit location in Africa

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Six of us traveling through Africa together chose to stay at this amazing lodge for 2 nights as part of our "and beyond" experience. We will be forever grateful that we made this choice. Staying here is a not to be missed African dream.
The staff, the ambience, the food and, most important, the game viewing are all over the top.
On arrival, we were presented with a smiling welcome from the staff which included warm towels to clean our hands and faces from the dusty drive out from the airport.
Our rooms, created to resemble African bomas, were a delight from the moment our butler opened the door. We were greeted by wood burning fireplaces, bouquets of roses, a selection of port and sherry, a bed with heated sheets for the cool nights on the crater's rim & a bathroom to delight the most discriminating travel. Topping it all off was a balcony overlooking the crater itself.
The main lodge provides a beautifully appointed dining room and a library/gathering room where cocktails and pre-dinner nibbles are served each night. Our guides gathered there with us to relive our day's discoveries & to plan the next day's activitie. This lends a special intimacy to each evening.
The surprise of a rose strewn bathroom with hot bath drawn and a split of champagne waiting on ice beside the tub after our day of incredible game viewing in the crater was the piece de resistance of this amazing lodge. We thought our up- close encounter with a pride of eight lions was the prize of the day but the warm tub was an even bigger reward.
The all-inclusive price is worth every penny! You leave this paradise already wanting to return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in romance, each stilted, handcrafted banana thatch suite at andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is adorned with graceful antiques and unforgettable opulence. Ensuite bathrooms, with a centrepiece of fresh roses, feature huge showers and chandelier-lit bathtubs, while floor-to-ceiling windows ensure breathtaking views from all around. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Crater Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Ngorongoro Crater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.