We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife everywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngorongoro Crater

Ngorongoro Crater
Ngorongoro, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Group tours/safari, Backpacking
Attraction details
Rotterdam, Nederland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wildlife everywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

One of the best places in the world to see wildlife. You can easily find eliphants, buffalos, lions, wildebeests, zebras, ostriches, flamingos and lots of other birds, hyenas, hippos, and if you're lucky some rhinos.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    128
    34
    11
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just About Everything In One Stunning Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Once you enter the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Gate, the scenery and climb while you drive is quite spectacular.
Be sure to have your driver stop at the Crater viewpoint so that you can take a look at the crater floor and get a feel for the enormous size of it. It is an amazing scene to look out on and is well worth doing.

We stayed at the Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge for one night and did one crater drive in the early morning. If we were to travel again, we would stay here for two nights, do two drives in the Crater and also relax a little and enjoy the lodge while taking in the fabulous views both during the day and at sunset.

Our recommendation is to get onto the Crater floor early in the morning. The entrance gate to the Crater opens at 6am. Once on the Crater floor, you are allowed 6 hours within the Crater, which commences from the time you enter.

The Crater itself is amazing and provides a wonderful experience. You are in a very famous awe-inspiring location, that is breathtakingly beautiful and you have the opportunity to see a wide range of animals, birds and habitats all at once. For example, we saw Gazelle, Lions and Lionesses, Spotted Hyena, Ostrich, Kori Bustard, Lappet Faced Vultures, Black Rhino, Wildebeest, Zebra and Black Backed Jackal to name just a few.

A stop at the large Hippo pool at Ngoi Tok Tok Springs is a must. It is a beautiful scene with many hippos and birdlife. The Lerai Forest provides a very different environment with Elephants and Fever trees. Lake Magadi is another must see, with wildlife in abundance including Grey Crowned Cranes, Flamingos and many other smaller water birds.

The park does get crowded with many vehicles rushing this way and that along the roads, which must not be strayed from. Some sightings do get quite crowded with 20-30+ vehicles. So you need a good driver/guide, who can find wildlife before others, get you there to view it and take your photographs, perhaps spend some quiet time observing, before moving on to the next area, just as all of the other vehicles arrive to take in the spectacle.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This place is great! We saw rhinos, lion cubs, a hyena killing a wildebeest calf, flamingos and an astonishing landscape. This is the place to go - at least once. It is quite costly, so you go for half a day - either in the morning, or in the afternoon (the place is closed from 5 pm if I remember correctly).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Targoviste, Romania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have never seen so many animals in one place. Hynes, lions (that come to rest near your safari car, looking for shade), wildebeest, zebras, buffalos, jackals, gazelles, impalas, all that your heart desires. Incredible weather, it changes so swiftly. The picnic area is very beautiful, near a small lake with hippos.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“TIPS ON SAFARIS FOR THOSE ON A BUDGET”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

A safari seems to be on most peoples must do lists in Tanzania even for those on a budget. So here are some tips on finding good prices. Most guide books and tour companies will tell you that the cheapest you can find for budget camping Safaris is $200 per day. This is not true. The secret is to wait till you arrive in Arusha and spend the day looking around for reputable companies that have any big groups heading out and join them. If they already have a big group they will be more flexible on their prices. I was the last person to join a group of 7 and they only charged me $140! Which included everything. I had used Meru Mountain Treks and Safaris Ltd. and the whole group including myself was very happy with the trip. We had a good driver, the vehicle was in good condition with no breakdowns and good food. The only complaint is that their tents were not in very good condition and some were missing pegs which is super important to keep the rain out so if you go with them ask to inspect their tents beforehand.

Be aware that many of the companies will contract your group to another company to make a bigger group and save money so confirm this before paying them or if you don't believe them, refuse to pay until the day they pick you up (which is what I did). It makes financial sense but on the other hand if you get contracted out to a company with a bad reputation and your trip goes sour that isn't fair either.

The disadvantage to joining a group is that you have to go along with their itiniery. It was fine for me though, I did 4 days, Lake Manyara, Serengeti and Ngorongo Crater. 4 days is plenty to see all the animals including the big 5 fyi.

Hope this helps!
Safe Travels,
H

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngorongoro Crater also viewed

Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
 
Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Arusha Region
 

Been to Ngorongoro Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngorongoro Crater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.