We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved the experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Food and accomodation were great. A little disapointed with the game park feel of the crater but none the less a beautiful part of the word

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    272
    95
    23
    7
See reviews for
153
324
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights. The accommodation was reasonably comfortable, there were very nice views to the crater floor, and the buffet food was above average. Unfortunately the shower had weak water pressure and the hotel had a very touristy type feel - slanted towards catering for large groups with little impression of personalised service, and even the masai performance in the evenings felt somewhat empty - the masai people looked disinterested, really like they would rather be somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

The final Serena lodge on our safari, and it did not disappoint. We had a fantastic room overlooking the amazing crater, with no need to use the curtains as the room was not overlooked. We would even spot elephants on the crater floor from our balcony!
Again we were treated well with fruit on our arrival, and lots of entertainment with a nature walk, acrobatics and a slide show of the area.
The service on our first night at dinner was slow, but the food was incredible when it arrived. The second night we had a different waitress and there were less customers, so service and food were both perfect!
This was my favourite of the 4 Serena Lodges that we stayed at, but I would add that the pictures on the Serena Lodge website may not do this hotel justice as it looks dated in them and I do not feel that this is the case - I will try to put some others up!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Huge lodge that caters to groups. Upon our arrival about 25 people were trying to register at the front desk - the staff looked frazzled trying to keep up. Dinner service was very slow - the huge restaurant was full, noisy. The soup and main dish are a la carte while the buffet is for salads and dessert. After about a 30 minute wait, we got our soup but it was lukewarm. The steak seemed microwaved, with a strange gravy on top. We passed on both. The buffet was ok with plenty of fresh fruits and an assortment of cookies and cakes, so we stuck to that. The house red wine was acidic and awful and we returned it. Our lower level room was adequately heated & clean, though small. The beds were hard & we didn't get much of a view. I guess you're supposed to ask for an upper level room upon registering so that you'll have a good look of the crater, but we forgot all about that in the chaos at check-in. The best thing going for this lodge is the Maasai show in the evening, which half of the people totally ignored. Very rude. I'm glad we only stayed here one night.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

What could be better than waking up overrlooking the Ngorongoro crater and watching the sun rise over the crater from your bed!! We were mesmerized. We chose the trip we were on with OAT simply because they did stay at this hotel where we had always wanted to stay. We were not disappointed! It is not a luxurious lodge but the view is what counts here and they did go out of their way to make arrangements for my dietary restarictions.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

This hotel offers the most panromic view of the crater at all time of the day. The view is breath taking. Its location is perfect for early start for the safari in the crater. The rooms were clean and spacious - a touch of colonial era. There was ample choice at meal times for both the vegetarians and non veg. The service was spactacular - staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Stayed two nights 10 & 11 July 2009 during a weeks safari.
Fantastic place to stay, on the rim of the crater overlooking it with unbelievable views.
the rooms were clean and spacious with central heating. (you need it, it's cold that high up, although this means no mosquito's).Service was excellent, including hot water bottles placed in your bed's at night. Food was good, a buffet breakfast (and a chef who cooked full english breakfast's for you, and a choice of main meals in the evening. A good packed lunch was provided to take on safari with you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the jagged rim of the crater, wreathed in morning mist, camouflaged in river-stone and cloaked in indigenous creepers, the Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge is a triumph of ecological and architectural fusion. Sensitively constructed so as to take nothing from its environment whilst affording endless vistas over the heat-shimmering reaches of the crater below, the clustered boulder-built buildings of the Lodge hug the crater rim, linked by rope-lashed timber walkways that skirt the buttressed roots of ancient, liana-hung trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.