We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exploreans Ngorongoro Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Exploreans Ngorongoro Lodge to your Saves list
Exploreans Ngorongoro Lodge
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Karatu district, Ngorongoro Conservation Area 6222, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Accommodation & setting right next to the gate of the Ngorangora Crater is perfect.

The lodges have a bedroom, lounge area & balcony where you can view the sunset.
To get the 5th * some more refining of the food service is required. I got cornflakes with no milk for breakfast & on our first night we were unable to get a drink before dinner as they were moving the bar.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    25
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
80
108
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The chalets are incredibly huge and comfortable. This is a relatively new property but compares very well with the famous and historic Gibbs Farm which is nearby. The service here is very good and the rooms are luxurious and are decorated with some very interesting and beautiful art that is available for purchase. Each chalet has a huge covered veranda with a view of the surrounding hills. The resort has a pool which was very welcome after a game drive in the crater. The resort is about five minutes from the Ngorogoro gate. You could not ask for service that is more attentive. This property is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The only real decision that I can see is the trade-off between walking further and the desire for mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Unbelievable! -
This Hotel/Lodge is in Tanzania! -
One of the best and well appointed Hotels I've ever been to!!
And yes - They actually can't tell you no...
They will figure out a way to make your request accomplished!

The spacious grounds are fastidiously maintained. With a huge organic garden.
Which of course helps make the food taste amazing!
It's all inclusive.. even the wine at dinner or throughout the day is included...
And its pretty darn good wine - (and I've been know to be rather selective about my wine parings).
There are others you could pay additional for.. but why..
The infinity pool is so inviting, along with a full spa set up with sauna.

The room is more like a luxury suite.
Everything is over sized.
Including the Bedroom, the Bathroom, the living room and deck or balcony with a spectacular view!
Both of the main rooms are heated by a separate fireplaces.
And the beds are very comfortable.
This hotel is part of "Plan Hotels" and has hotels throughout Africa and some in Italy and elsewhere..
I am certainly going to book into their properties before any others on future trips to areas where "Plan Hotels" are located!

The whole place is so gorgeous - its exciting just to walk around the property, enjoying the vistas along the way, amazing garden and at some point one of the staff will surely offer you something to sip on as you go!
Go stay here! -
Everyone deserves to be pampered like this...
I just didn't know it would be in Tanzania, the day before we go on safari in Ngorongoro.

I should note that this hotel is .5 km from the gate entrance of Ngorongoro Park...
Which means you are not staying inside the park.. This is not a problem,
unless you want to attempt to go into the park at 8 or 9 am.
The entrance is packed at this time and will waste a hour of your day just buying the tickets and being let in.
TO avoid this...
Leave at 6: AM.
No lines nor on the road.
And by 7:-7:30 you'' be on the floor of the crater and having breakfast with a heard of wildebeests or something...
Which is the way you should start your Ngorongoro safari anyway!

Room Tip: The rooms are all perfect! - Tip to get into Ngorongoro Park without an hour wait. depart for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We loved it here! Beautiful room, Beautiful grounds, great food! The rooms are all separate villas with large balconies. Ours had a great view! I think the row behind ours may have had a little less of a view. Just make sure you bring some warm clothes because it gets pretty cold at nights!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A group of 6 visited this Lodge in October for 2 nights during a safari through Kenya and Tanzania. I’ll state from the start that this was the best of all of the lodges that we visited on this trip. The accommodations consist of large living rooms and bedrooms, large bathrooms and huge balconies. The rooms are clean, very comfortable and in good repair. The grounds are also very well kept and the pool area was beautiful, although the water was quite cool. The resort is all inclusive and there are waiters in the pool area that will bring drinks to you as required. The food here was the excellent and the included wines were very nice.
The only negative is the location. I took approximately 1 ½ hours to reach the bottom of the caldera from the lodge, and I would rather have stayed at lodge on the rim.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is idyllic with wonderful rooms and small touches which make it perfect, especially considering the room rate. The local staff made our stay, and without that we would have relocated. We stayed 6 nights so really got a feel for the place, other guest are 1-3 nights. The main reason for staying was a safari, which we thought we could book on arrival. This mistake nearly ruined a holiday of a lifetime. As it was we had to spend a whole day on the Internet and phone to arrange something at short notice, which we achieved . The hotel wanted to charge double the price on average for any single safari Day (800 $ !!!). A taxi to the nearest local town in order to obtain cash at an ATM they wanted to charge us 150 US$. We actually paid 25$. They also quoted 25 pp for the coffee beans walking tour and charged 150$ on our bill. We were not impressed, having thought it would be reputable. Book your safaris with a reputable tour company PRIOR to staying. Do not use the hotel reception.
The food was good to average but okay as an all in price. Lodges and the local staff are the best point, not the style of management. I will not recommended this purely due to the management. We found most of the staff preparing to leave, which we did not experience in our other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karatu, General Manager at Exploreans Ngorongoro Lodge, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear evensj7,

Thanks for your commence in the Trip Advisor page. we did not over charge you. you did not allows us to explain what are the charges involved to the Crater game Drive. first we gave the price single sharing price, later you only wanted to go for the game drive. if single person travels alone in one vehicle definitely price will be changed. This price include the entree fee , Vehicle full day using charge , crater fee , once you have done your Game drive for that invoice will have pay 20% Tax to the government . and also we did not charge your coffee plantation tour more that 25/= USD . And also to go to ATM 15KM distance we never told 150/=USD . you inquired to us to visit to Local village day Trip ,we have explained the price is include with activity charges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had stayed in some standard lodge type hotels for the first 3 nights of our safari adventure, so when we arrived at Exploreans, I felt as though our honeymoon had really begun!
Immaculate gardens, with lavender borders and staff tending the vegetable gardens. The view from the main hotel was just stunning. The staff couldn't be more helpful, or friendly.
The pool area was idyllic and the pool attendant made sure we were comfortable and took our drinks orders from us.
The room, or should I say, apartment! Wow! We stayed in "Ostrich" lodge which was a stilted house, with a huge living room and an equally huge bedroom. The balcony was also enormous and overlooked the green valley beyond. The bathroom was also large and very lovely, which was good for me, as I spent some time there after catching some sort of holiday bug!
There was a lovely lounge area in the main hotel building, which felt quite colonial and cosy. The restaurant was nice, and the menu varied, but I feel that it wasn't five star standard.
The head chef made a point of speaking with us every night and also offered to make other things if we asked. The general manager also checked on us frequently, which was a lovely touch.

Room Tip: Any of the lodges would be wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exploreans Ngorongoro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exploreans Ngorongoro Lodge

Address: Karatu district, Ngorongoro Conservation Area 6222, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Exploreans Ngorongoro Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 50 acres of virgin Tanzanian bush in the Ngorongoro volcanic landscape, this all suites wood log cabin style retreat is located a few steps from the Game Reserve Gate and 20 minutes drive away from the Ngorongoro Crater that is said to have the most dense concentration of wildlife in Africa. This all inclusive property features 20 spacious private log cabins with fire place, a restaurant, a bar and conference facilities. Indulge in moments of relaxation at the swimming pool or at the Mvua African Rain Spa after a full-day game drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Exploreans Ngorongoro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exploreans Ngorongoro Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.