We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masek Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masek Tented Camp
Save
You added Masek Tented Camp to your Saves list
Masek Lake, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived late at this lodge after driving 7 hours from Kilimanjaro Airport, so we were really tired. People were very friendly and welcome us with some refreshing towels and drinks. We had a bath tub and a shower on the room that is really spacious. This was our first night on the Serengeti and we were astohnish with the bungalow tents. The diner was very good and we had to wake up at 4.30am to go on a balloon safari (unforgettable experience, highly recommended). We love so much the place that we come back for lunch, and still had time for a massage before lunch (also highly recommended after all the bumping on the jeep). If you come to Serengeti take this place in consideration.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here as part of a three-week trip to Africa. Without a doubt, this was by far my favourite place to stay (although the view from the Second Cave Camp on Kilimanjaro was a bit better).

I won't repeat the comments made in the other reviews but will say that I agree with all of the them. Everything about this place was of very high quality, with the exception of the internet service (didn't work when I was there). The "tents" were amazing as was the main lodge.

I unfortunately only had one night here but hope to return for a longer stay in the future. I would advise everyone who is coming here to try to spend at least two nights to enjoy everything the lodge and nearby areas has to offer.

Room Tip: They all seemed good. Perhaps stay closer to the lodge if you are nervous about big animals moving o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This certainly was not what I was expecting when I heard the word "tent". This tent was like something out of Harry Potter. The fully enclosed screen porch opens into a furished bedroom with a full bathroom with double sinks and a soaking tub. The outdoor shower was the icing on the cake. The area is frequently visited by the wildlife so at night you are escorted to and from the dining area by one of the Masai. The gabulous meals, soft drinks, wine and beer were included in the room price so you more than get your money's worth. Make sure to try the Stoney Tangawizi. It is a wonderful ginger beer. The staff were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to help celebrate the birthday of one member of our group. A score of 5 isn't high enough to rate this place, I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The last time I went to Tanzania, I stayed in the Serengeti where no one could go off road. The wildebeestes were grouped so very far away that I could not see them well. This time by being on the border of the Ngorongoro Conservation Area and the Serengeti, there were plenty of treed and plane areas to roam the rover and see millions of wildebeestes, and zebras. That didn't cut out other animals like a leopard, giraffes etc. The hippos in the Lake were quite visible. A ride to lake Nudutu gave us a closer view of flamingos individually than we could see elsewhere.
I never could remember the name of my tent but could dredge up the name of the neighboring tent "ten dollar" spelled tandala.
Best of all were the engaging staff: Tabitha managed the operation seamlessly, and Veronica made sure we loved the food. Both enjoyed talking with our guide, Sarumbo Nixon, which opened us to greater knowledge about Tanzania and its people.
Fun for all was finding Buffalo or giraffes or other animals outside our tent or even finding our co-travelers making the noise of animals to scare us.

Room Tip: Although I was limping some, there were no rooms available close to the main lodge because a large g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

great place, a little out of the way but isn't it the reason we travel here anyway? great tents nice furniture and great bed, loved the outdoor shower (lots of hot water) the food and drinks were great even had ostrich omelette (farmed) great service even masaii escort back to your tent after diner. We only stayed one night it would of been nice to stay at least an extra night. we almost did not make it there we drove right after a rain storm and the road was flooded and greasy and on the way out the next day we got stuck in the mud for about 30 min. all part of the adventure. I would recommend this place fore sure nice sunset too

Room Tip: all good tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This tent camp is in a fabulous location to witness part of the migration in February. Animals were very numerous all over the camp. Lions 50 yards way, hippos rubbing on the tent pilings, wilderbeasts fording the lake and many other numerous animals. The location is also great to use for daily game drives. The staff was exceptionally friendly. However the internet was very, very slow and did not perform as advertised. It is badly in need of upgrading.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We highly recommend the Masek Tented Camp. We stayed there Feb 2013 and had a great time. The camp is right in the middle of all kinds of wildlife, making viewing easy and quick. Tabitha, the manager, was attentive to our every need. Veronica, the chef, served up delicious food, including omelets made to order. The rooms were spacious and clean, and only a couple of minutes walk to the main lodge. From the main lodge back deck, you could enjoy drinks and watch hippos in the lake below. At night, Masai warriors, armed with spears, would escort you to and from your tents/rooms. With phones in every room, getting an escort was never a problem. And, the showers in each tent were open air, but protected, and had hot water 24/7. How cool is that while you are "roughing it".

Room Tip: The outer rooms see more wildlife around their tents. So, choose inner or outer tents based on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Masek Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masek Tented Camp

Address: Masek Lake, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling between the prime wildlife areas of central and southern Serengeti. The area is witness of the Great Migration from December to March. This luxurious tented camp enables guests to be within reach of the Great Migration and to explore remote, beautiful corners of the Serengeti with excellent resident game. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Masek Tented Camp Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masek Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.