We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Experience Of Our Safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masek Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masek Tented Camp
Save
You added Masek Tented Camp to your Saves list
Masek Lake, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Best Experience Of Our Safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This tent camp is in a fabulous location to witness part of the migration in February. Animals were very numerous all over the camp. Lions 50 yards way, hippos rubbing on the tent pilings, wilderbeasts fording the lake and many other numerous animals. The location is also great to use for daily game drives. The staff was exceptionally friendly. However the internet was very, very slow and did not perform as advertised. It is badly in need of upgrading.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We highly recommend the Masek Tented Camp. We stayed there Feb 2013 and had a great time. The camp is right in the middle of all kinds of wildlife, making viewing easy and quick. Tabitha, the manager, was attentive to our every need. Veronica, the chef, served up delicious food, including omelets made to order. The rooms were spacious and clean, and only a couple of minutes walk to the main lodge. From the main lodge back deck, you could enjoy drinks and watch hippos in the lake below. At night, Masai warriors, armed with spears, would escort you to and from your tents/rooms. With phones in every room, getting an escort was never a problem. And, the showers in each tent were open air, but protected, and had hot water 24/7. How cool is that while you are "roughing it".

Room Tip: The outer rooms see more wildlife around their tents. So, choose inner or outer tents based on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I visited with two large high-end groups in January 2013, and everyone loved the place. First, the setting is special - the track is rough but you approach through beautiful classic umbrella acacia woodlands. The main building and many of the 20 tents have a view of the small seasonal lake, with hippos generally visible. There's plenty of resident game and great birding.

The 'tents' are comfortable spacious rooms with canvas walls on raised decks and we appreciated the 24-hr electricity and hot water. It is a little curious that the tents have bathtubs, yet the lodge doesn't offer a laundry service 'to conserve water'. At night the area is very quiet except for the sounds of nature. The construction of the lodge is low-impact in that it could all easily be removed without leaving much trace of its presence.

Staff were friendly and attentive, especially Tabitha the manager who is not only charming but tireless in her care for guests' needs. Food was tasty and varied; we had some picky eaters but everyone seemed to find something they could eat. The build-your-own lunch boxes are a great idea.

I will admit that I have a long-standing loyalty to another local establishment, so I was prepared to find fault with LMTC, and I couldn't! I was pleasantly surprised and I look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: The tents have names rather than numbers. Those with a mostly unobstructed view of the lake are Kong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013 whilst on safari in Tanzania. This was the last of our safari camps and a real highlight.

The camp is remote but excellently located in the Ngorongoro conservation area, next to Ndutu park and overlooking Lake Masek.

The camp consists of permanent tents with decking areas, four poster beds, double sinks, outdoor shower and rolltop bath. You can even use a hairdryer with prior permission to up weight the generator supply to your tent! Toiletries were generous and the room very clean. Tents overlooking the lake had even more stunning vistas than the rest.

In the night we heard hyena and were able to watch zebra and hippo grazing right outside our tent.

Wifi was free if slow and batteries could be charged in the manager's office. A Maasai shop was on site and as ever in these places the Maasai walked you to and from your tent, armed with a spear, once dusk fell.

The restaurant and bar overlooked the lake and were a perfect location for a sundowner observing the mammals and birdlife. Weaver birds nest outside, hippos laze in the lake and the East African migration of wildebeest and zebra was literally passing by!

The camp is all inclusive of soft drinks, beers and house wine and the staff were very generous in their measures and keeping you well supplied.

Food was buffet style and of very good quality. We were able to enjoy shahili as well as western food. Dinner and breakfast offered excellent choice and quality and service was always outstanding.

We did not take lunch preferring to stay out on safari all day so enjoyed the picnic option. Unlike other camps that provided your picnic with no input from you on likes and dislikes, here everything was laid out at breakfast and you could make your own choices to fill your picnic box.

A real delight here was that your guide/driver could join you in the bar and for dinner, rather than being expected to eat separately. This felt much more equal and inclusive and gave us the opportunity for 3 nights extremely enjoyable conversation with our guide Felix.

The camp has great wildlife in and around it and is accessible for Ngorongoro, Ndutu and Serengeti as well as the Lakes. It is also near the Serengeti airstrips for a bush plane departure.

The value for money at this camp was excellent and the service great. We would recommend it to anyone and would definitely stay again. Wonderful and beyond our expectations!

Room Tip: A lake front room is worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Lake Masek Tented Camp. The tents were very spacious and comfortable. The food was good and the staff could not do enough for us. This was a small and intimate camp and we were treated extremely well. Coffee and biscuits available all day long which was nice.
We had three nights here and it was fantastic with a beautiful view of the lake.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
926 reviews 926 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 278 cities Reviews in 278 cities
546 helpful votes 546 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mind, it costs a pretty penny in January during the migration so you should hope so! But you can see where the money goes here as the rooms are very high standard for tents.

We got off on the wrong foot as despite being on honeymoon and making a request for a double room we were given a twin - the beds are designed in such a way that pushing them together is not realistic.

I later learned that only 5 of their 22 tents have a double bed which sounds puzzlingly low.

Otherwise we had a good time. We found dik-dik under our tent, saw plenty of wildebeest and zebra migrating along the lake, saw plenty of hippos in the lake and some elephants and buffalo right by the camp.

The buffet food option is good quality and offers some interesting local dishes. Beer and wine included also which is a bonus!

All up its a good set up with a good vibe and it was marvellously placed in mid-January 2013 for the migration and also resident lions close by.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Lake Masek Tented Camp. The room was beautiful, we loved the moon shower. The beds were absolutely comfortable. We were escorted to the room at night by the Masai, in case animals were near by. When we needed a wake up call, it was soft and then a slightly louder "Jambo" from a Masai watchman outside, as there are no phones. The food was excellent and there were many options for our vegetarian diet. We had fruit and vegetables without worry, as the food is properly washed. The manager was very nice and made sure we were comfortable. The camp is well situated for wild life viewing and there is a beautiful view of the lake from the lodge. Since the guides travel with you it is important that they are well taken care of, this was definitely the case here.
We recommend this place highly and hope to come back again with more family.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Masek Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masek Tented Camp

Address: Masek Lake, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling between the prime wildlife areas of central and southern Serengeti. The area is witness of the Great Migration from December to March. This luxurious tented camp enables guests to be within reach of the Great Migration and to explore remote, beautiful corners of the Serengeti with excellent resident game. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Masek Tented Camp Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masek Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.