We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful open space to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps
Save
You added Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps to your Saves list
| Karatu, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Cold Spring Harbor, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A beautiful open space to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We just stayed on this property as part of a 2 week tour of Tanzania. It is a wonderful, clean and spacious property where the kids had a chance to safely run around and play on a beautiful main lawn. The rooms were clean and the shower had wonderful pressure. Plenty of outlets for charging devices as well. Loved it! Don't forget to book a massage either.... A great way to relax after a long safari drive

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    37
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
46
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I recently visited Tanzania with Overseas Adventure Travel. We stayed at Tloma Lodge in Karatu for one night before and after our tented Safari in the Serengeti. The grounds are gorgeous, the food incredible, the pool welcoming, and just an overall slice of paradise in the middle of nowhere. The rooms are spacious with private baths and the grounds are flower filled and immaculate. They have an on site farm where they grow the organic veggies and coffee that they serve. They even sell bags of coffee so you can take it home with you. The gift shop is a git pricey for some carved items; we went outside the gates and paid about half the price on some masks.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the farm - the view is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This lodge is set amongst tropical flower gardens and a coffee plantation. Rooms were large, clean and extremely comfortable. The property also has an extensive vegetable and fruit garden, the produce of which was enjoyed at each meal. Staff were very friendly and helpful and lunch boxes were appreciated when on safari for the day and on our onward journey.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the restaurant. Some that were further away were more engulfed in vegetation a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnstable
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Beautiful grounds, helpful and courteous staff. The rooms are large and inviting with turned down service every night. The only compliant was that at night it could be very loud being close to the neighbors. The pool area is large and picturesque . It did not seem as though there were large groups there, it seemed very intimate and attention to detail was there.

Room Tip: You're in a very rural area so you will have creatures on the roof At no time did I see any in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Tloma Lodge is not a tented camp but it is a delightful place for respite while touring the area. The staff was generously friendly and accommodating. It was a luxury to have a swimming pool to sit around. The deck overlooking the property was a superb place for after safari cocktails and a game of Scrabble.

Dinner was buffet style and very good. Breakfast included lovely made to order omelets. Our cabins were well equipped, large and very clean.

The gift store on premises was lovely as was the internet access. Some people in our group took advantage of the laundry service and that worked out great.

We all bought some of the lovely hand-sewn bags sold at the manager's desk which help women of the area become self-sufficient. It is an interesting drive up to the lodge as you pass through the hill-top town and are greeting by waving and smiling children going to and from school.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the hotels we stayed at on our OAT safari. The grounds were spectacular. The accommodations were spotless and very spacious. Their breakfast and dinners were abundant and the lunch box buffet offered great variety. There are lots of wonderful flowers and plants as far as the eye can see. They have an Internet cafe and a craft shop on site. The hotel grounds are gated. There is a small carvery just outside the hotel gates. They offer a good selection of handcrafted goods and certainly at better prices than some of the other places we visited along the way. Most of the carved items are pretty much the same at all the these carving coops so don't buy the first things you see. This hotel is a great place to relax after a few days on the dusty road. Staff are very helpful and overall it was a very memorable experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

The road into the lodge makes you wonder, but once inside the gate, the gardens are beautiful and the buildings nice. We stayed in the Mambo room which we thought was nice since it was detached. The room is large and the bed comfortable. The shower was nice and hot and ample size. Our problem was that there was a small animal chewing on wood on the roof or rafters all night long. We got no sleep as it was loud and never ending.

The deck area is nice for having drinks before dinner. They provide popcorn, chips and peanuts with drinks.

We had a problem when it came to dinner. This lodge is used by OAT so there are very large groups, which means it is noisy. There were many tables set up outside near the fireplaces, but unfortunately for us they didn't have a table for us there, but set us up inside at a table next to 20 people, and facing the corner. We felt like the red headed step child. We voiced our dissatisfaction and insisted they put us out on the deck where we previously had drinks. Wasn't perfect, but a better alternative. There was also a misunderstanding as our driver didn't get to sit with us, but instead sat by himself and ate.

They insist the water is boiled and safe to use, but we still drank bottled water and didn't eat the salad. Dinner was just OK. Beef was tough and there weren't a lot of side choices.

I really wanted to like this place as it is so pretty, but they need some help with speaking English and understanding how to take care of small groups.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps

Address: | Karatu, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngorongoro -KaratuLodge. An exclusive lodge consisting of 24 cottages and 12 garden view rooms, situated on the outskirts of Karatu village within the Ngorongoro Highlands Area. Tloma Lodge´s unique location, on raised shoulder of a valley, offers breathtaking views with en suite facilities. The lodge has eco-friendly electric power supplied by solar panels, with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Lake Manyara airstrip, 30 minutes away.Activities: Guided nature walks in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, cultural guided tours of Karatu village, swim in the solar heated pool, full or half body massage by a trained an experience masseuse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tloma Mountain Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.