We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Karatu between Ngorogoro Crater and Lake Manyara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps
Save
You added Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps to your Saves list
| Karatu, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Karatu between Ngorogoro Crater and Lake Manyara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed in particular the food and the ambiente eating dinner in front of the open fire place. It did not only warm our bodies but also our soles. The rooms are very generous in space however average style. Outside there is a small balcony. Just hope that your neighbour are not using it during late evening because it would definitely keep you away from sleeping. Staff was average with the exception of the chef cooker who prepared freshly during our two mornings the omelettes. He was very friendly and a win for this lodge. Small things can make a big different.

Negativ to mention is that they do not offer wifi but sell it for 5$/1h.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    37
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
46
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A lovely lodge sitting between Lake Manyara and Ngorongoro, we stayed here for two nights and very much enjoyed it.

The rooms are almost chalet/cottage style with 2 rooms to a building, and are extremely light and spacious, with a fireplace, vanity table, safe, mozzie spray, and a big bathroom with huge rain showers. The rooms were spotless. We were also able to have a fire in the room for $5 for the wood, which was a lovely romantic option with a glass of wine after dinner, especially because it did get a bit chilly at night.

The bar and restaurant area was nicely situated for the sunset, and the food was of a decent standard. Breakfast was eggs and/or pancakes to order and a range of breads. For dinner, the salad and soup options were very good, however the mains were slightly more variable. The thing i valued most was being able to make up my own lunchbox. Anyone who has ever travelled in africa has had to deal with the daily lunchbox investigation, which involves a lot of peering, sniffing, tentative tasting and conjecture with fellow safari-goers about the providence and identity of the random items in ones lunchbox. This way, i knew exactly what i had, i could look forward to eating it, and would not do what i normally do which is end up wasting a whole lot of food because im either full up or dont like it. Piece of advice though - get there early to have the best selection.

You have to pay for the wifi, which even at $5 for half an hour was terrible and didnt work very well. Laundry was cheap and quick though!

We really liked it here, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, reasonably priced lodge in this area, however next time, i think we will splurge and stay at the serena or crater lodges for the view over the crater rim.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at Tloma Mountain Lodge during the Ngorongoro leg of our safari. The lodge is very quiet, peaceful and serene, tucked away in the midst of a coffee plantation. The lodge's grounds are well-manicured, clean and neat.

Each of the cottages have Swahili names for various animals - a great way to brush up on your Swahili while on your trip! The rooms are airy, spacious, clean and functional. No frills and fancy fittings. Each cottage has a little veranda facing the central lawn. The bedroom has a fairly comfortable double bed with a mosquito net, a dressing table and a coffee table with chairs. There is a separate dressing area with a full-length mirror, an electronic safe for valuables and clothes hangers. The bathroom was clean and bright, with a shower and also a hair dryer.

The towels provided were not too clean. With all the cottages facing the central lawn, there isn't too much privacy. A large family with a whole lot of boisterous kids was frolicking on the lawn, which spoiled what could otherwise have been a quiet and peaceful evening.

The staff were polite and courteous. Although the dinner buffet had a substantial variety, the food left much to be desired. Breakfast was a better deal - one can't go wrong with eggs, pancakes, fruit and coffee! The cottage also had a can of insect repellent spray. As it turned out, we definitely needed it to keep the mozzies at bay at night.

Tloma is known for sightings of the shy and nocturnal bush baby. Although we weren't lucky enough to spot any, the nocturnal creatures woke us up in the night by scampering across our cottage roof and yowling through the night in the thick bushes next to our window.

Tloma is ideal if you're looking for a clean, functional place with average food in a nice location.

Room Tip: Choose a cottage as far away as possible from the main reception/lobby area and central lawn in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Once again, we were wondering what kind of accommodations would be at the end of the very bumpy and long road but were very pleased with the lodge. The grounds are beautiful and there is a sense of relaxation. It is always nice to be met with the cleaning cloths and juice. We had good check in service and had explanations as to what to expect. Our room was roomy even when the bed nets were in place. The food was good however, this was the only place in the 8 days on safari with problems of bees getting into the juice and other food. Perhaps some kind of netting should be placed over them as it made you very reluctant to try to serve yourself. The setting for eating was very peaceful and beautiful. I appreciated the option of being able to select what I wanted to include in my box lunch for safari. Many of the other lodges would have pre-boxed lunches which included good food but choices I might not have made or as often the case--too much food and thus wasted. I wish I could have stayed another night for as I stated, the feeling of relaxation was good there. We did have problems with smokers around us (I develop migraines from cigarette smoke) and wish there were designated areas where there is no smoking allowed. This problem was more in the common fire pit area and place where the pre-dinner appetizer/snacks were served. We had to leave which did not seem fair to us. The no smoking policies are not as strict in many countries as I have become used to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Overlooking coffee plantations and the eastern rim of Ngorogoro Crater, Tloma Lodge is a lovely place to stay. The gardens are delightful, full of flowering plants, bushes and trees and the home to a wide range of birds. The rooms are spacious and weill-decorated, often with interesting wall-hangings and artefacts. The dining room and bar area are comfortable with great views over the gardens and swimming pool. Food is buffet-style, very good and service is tremendous.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Located in Karatu, a town of some 20.000 people ca. 75 kms south of Ngorongoro Crater, Tloma Lodge is an interesting alternative to the more expensive lodges right on the crater. The lodge is sorrounded by a beautiful gardens and a coffee plantation. Plenty of birds
In the morning you can pick your own favorites for your lunch-package instead of just "see what you get".
Friendly staff, clean spacy rooms, average but ok food

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent accomodations in a great setting. Courteous and helpful staff. Very good dining. Extensive gardens. Great pool. WiFi available. Good beer and wine. Very interesting sights nearby. Enclosed compound with a variety of walking trails. Organic produce grown on site. Great bird watching. Rooms are clean, large, and have great views. Excellent showers! Wall safe provided. Purified water provided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps

Address: | Karatu, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngorongoro -KaratuLodge. An exclusive lodge consisting of 24 cottages and 12 garden view rooms, situated on the outskirts of Karatu village within the Ngorongoro Highlands Area. Tloma Lodge´s unique location, on raised shoulder of a valley, offers breathtaking views with en suite facilities. The lodge has eco-friendly electric power supplied by solar panels, with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Lake Manyara airstrip, 30 minutes away.Activities: Guided nature walks in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, cultural guided tours of Karatu village, swim in the solar heated pool, full or half body massage by a trained an experience masseuse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tloma Mountain Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tloma Mountain Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.