We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 2nd visit HighlyRecommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge
Save
You added Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“My 2nd visit HighlyRecommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

First off this is not a luxury lodge - there are several of those available but at a much higher cost. We had a long Tanzania family vacation which included various levels of lodging from luxury to basic with the Rhino Lodge being the most basic. However, this was our FAVORITE!

Several reasons: one is the staff, the owners, the food, the sense of being part of the environment. be prepared for unexpected cool/cold temperatures and often misty wet weather.

Altitude of the lodge and in the rain forest of the Ngorongoro Conservation Area!

Another special reason is that it was the only lodging in over two weeks safari that permitted, actually encouraged, your driver/guide to take meals with you. For us this was great and missed in all other lodges.

Another is the food was more local instead of the more western meals - great to eat wonderful food that was more local than other lodging.

Rooms were basic but just felt natural and cozy. Bathroom and hot water as well as power are limited but did not have a negative impact on us - each room has a wood stove that the Maisai staff will light each night while you dine in the Resturant. Rooms are comfy and cozy. Some rooms (on the right side) balcony are open to Water Bucks, Buffalo, and if lucky lions, that can be seen and heard from the room.

Lounge/Resturant area. Cozy with fireplace, old African books to read, small unobtrusive bar, and great place to meet and talk with other guests.

If we ever return to Ngorongoro Conservation Aera and Crater THIS is where we will book again.

Room Tip: Family rooms on right side from entrance are best for wild animals viewing from balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    123
    46
    7
    3
See reviews for
53
119
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Rhino Lodge for 2 nights while visiting Ngorogoro Crater. I loved the laid-back atmosphere, and the added bonus of watching water bucks, maribou storks and water buffalo pass through the hotel grounds while we watched the sun set on the back porch of the restaurant. This is a good value for the price. Staff were very accomodating: they moved us very quickly to a quiet room when the room next to ours became occupied by a family with very loud children in melt-down mode. Good value for the price. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

nice and clean lodge , nice food
room is clean and basic , all have balcony you can see animals. when you wake up for breakfast
elaphant come lodge garden for water. lodge have very nice restaurant and dinner it was superb

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to the Ngoronogoro Crater and, this year, we decided to take our group to Rhino Lodge instead of driving in from outside the conservancy area. Rhino lodge is a great launch-pad for the crater -- the accommodation is basic but nice and clean. The food was a pleasant surprise and the atmosphere -- helped to some degree by a grazing buffalo -- is wonderful.

Room Tip: I like room 15 -- nice view of the bush....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN, US
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night to be near the Ngorongoro crater (arranged by our awesome safari operators - Dorobo Safaris) and would recommend it to others for a convenient location just off the crater rim. The rooms are basic compared to a city hotel but that was fine for us. The room and the bath was clean. Hot water was plentiful. Several people in our group had fires built in their rooms and said it was very nice. We enjoyed the cool weather - a nice change from the heat on the Serengeti. Think ahead about charging your devices as they request that it is done only during specified hours. The dining room and veranda are great. The fire in the dining room was really cozy. Dinner and breakfast were both buffets and we especially enjoyed the local dishes available. Several animals (water buck or elands?) grazed outside our room and spent a lot of time grazing in front of the veranda. A group of Maasai had set up a nice selection of jewelry for purchase instead of a traditional gift shop. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We only stayed one night here as part of our safari trip into Ngorongoro Crater and the Serengeti but it was unforgettable. When we checked in, the staff opened our balcony door and there was an elephant grazing about 30 feet from our balcony! About 10 more waterbucks and then a cape buffalo joined as well. It was amazing. Our picture window was wonderful. The room was comfortable and spacious, and I'm guessing the price is reasonable but we didn't book it ourselves so I can't say for sure. The staff was super friendly and obviously care about conservation after our conversations with them, and the food was very good. We wish we stayed there longer!

Room Tip: Our room was I believe room 14, the one closest to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Good value based on the price differential our safari operator quoted for other hotels having a rim view. We stayed in a family room and the kids loved the bunk beds. Rooms are clean - nothing fancy and met our needs perfectly. We were here to see the wildlife.....not the rooms :-)
Dinner was great. Overall a very comfortable stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhino Lodge is ideally located on the edge of the Ngorongoro crater rim. The Lodge was originally the home of Ngorongoro’s first conservator, and its developers have maintained the house’s original rustic, low-impact style and natural setting.Rhino Lodge offers a perfect base from which to explore the Ngorongoro crater and its surroundings. Game drives into the crater, and, for the more adventurous, walking safaris in the forest reserve and visits to nearby Maasai villages, can all be arranged from the lodge.And, on return after a long day, 24 comfortable ensuite rooms with forest views, a cozy living space, friendly local staff and generous African-inspired meals offer guests a warm welcome home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Rhino Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.