We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Establishment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moshi YMCA

Moshi YMCA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moshi YMCA
Save
You added Moshi YMCA to your Saves list
Kibo Road, Moshi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
1 review
“Charming Establishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very charming with the school children running the show. The pool is large and clean, and the food is to die for. Bedrooms are clean and secure, and bugs don't really make an appearance. Close to the center of the town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
1
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I only spent one night here and it was clean and friendly with awesome views and animals running around outside also great views of Kili. I used their climb crew and they were awesome...I cannot choose the real dates of my visit but it's been awhile so not sure if the same porters are there...I have great memory of Tanzania and her people and the YMCA is a definate part of those memories...you wont spend much time in your room anyway, to much to see and do outside, save yourself some money and stay here!

Room Tip: Use their porter services for the climb, the groups are small and keep your money local.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed with a group of 20 students and while the place itself is very basic, the service is good and the staff very friendly. Prices are good, large bottled waters and sodas cost only 1 USD and the gift shop prices are very reasonable. The majority of the waitstaff are proficient enough in English and quite helpful. It is, as YMCAs and cheap Tanzanian hostels go, fairly clean and has a nice pool with a view of Kilimanjaro. Rooms are pretty small and cramped and the showers we took were mostly all cold. Sandals and towels are provided but soap is not. The hostel is mostly all open-air and windows in rooms have only screens so traffic outside is loud at night. At least two stray cats showed up every night to beg for food and wander around, and while I enjoyed their company, it could be bad for those who are allergic or dislike cats. I personally enjoyed my stay despite some setbacks and made several very good friends with staff members that I continue to communicate with!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazan, Russia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very simple hostel in Moshi. Rooms are little, everything is old. Breakfast included, juice, coffe, tosts, eags, jam.It's nice for you, that you can to swim in the pool, but it's nice for insects too. Use antimoscitos spray. Prices in cafe are very light (0,33 glass of Kilimanjaro beer costs 1 dollar). If you want to have a dinner-stay in hotel, don't go to town-very hot, dusty and a lot of unpleasant guys on the street.
We spend 1 night before Kilimanjaro climbing.
It's supermarket in 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Twin is more big, than double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights before and after going on safari, and were very satisfied.

Rooms are very basic with hard beds,no ceiling fans and somewhat worn out mosquito net, but for Tsh 28000 per double room it is still good value for money.

The YMCA trains young local women to work in the hotel business, so there can be a bit of a wait to get food and drinks, but they are very friendly and it is not too bad.

The pool is a nice feature, and during the weekends you can meet many of Moshi's local youths relaxing and hanging out here.

I forgot my Kindle during our stay, but when we returned from the safari it was safely kept by the honest staff.

A budget option, but a really good one!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel management aspect of this Y ensured that food was excellent, with an a la carte menu of African, Western and Chinese food to choose from. Accommodation was basic but clean, the swimming pool showed signs of wear and tear but was also kept clean. Staff professional and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

YMCA was not as good as we hoped for. The rooms and toilet/shower are dirty, mosquito nets are basically useless since they are old and full of holes that mouse could fit in. There is a big pool and nice view on Kilimanjaro and the custom service is okey. YMCA is also a bit far from the city. The prize was high 28 000Tsh per nigth (for residents it is cheaper) and this was durinf low-season. Ok, place but I am sure there are better/cheaper places to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moshi YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moshi YMCA

Address: Kibo Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Moshi Ymca Hotel Moshi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moshi YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.