We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Aishi Machame

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Aishi Machame to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Aishi Machame
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Machame Village, Moshi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Moshi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Pool was out of service while we were there. Rooms are comfortable and clean and I found the staff friendly and accommodating. The water problems mentioned in previous reviews persist. Food is basic and fresh, but not exciting. The grounds of the hotel are a redeeming part of the hotel. I found it a satisfactory base if one is in town to climb Kilimanjaro and requires a room either side of the climb.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
5
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed here in July for one day prior to clibing Kili and it's location is only 20 minutes from Machame gate.

The hotel is set in nice grounds which are peaceful and quite.

The staff were pleasant and helpful, but the hotel is in need of a little TLC.

The food was ok, but definitely catering to Western tastes. We asked them to arrange for a traditional Tanzanian meal when we retunred from our climb and they were only too happy to oblige.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Spend three nights all together at Aishi and the best thing in this hotel is the garden and pool area: well maintained, peacefull and lush surroundings. Room was clean and nicely decorated, I suppose the decoration was quite new. There were all basic equipments except air-conditioning (only table fan), but personally didn't really miss it, because nights were cooler there. Bathroom ceiling and part of the walls were ragged, paint was crumbling out of the shower walls. Hot water was not guaranteed, one day I didn't got hot water at all. Service at the restaurant and bar was very friendly, breakfast and dinner were ok: not a big culinary feast, but filling basic meals. Service at reception desk was half excellent and half morose, depending which one of the two ladies were behind the desk. There's internet available for guest (no Wi-Fi), bit slow connection and 5$ per hour. Adapters are available at reception.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Have stayed a couple of times here when climbing Kilimanjaro. A great spot for starting at the Machame gate which is just a 20 minute drive away but a way out of Moshi town.

Lovely peaceful grounds and a nice pool. Food was good and the staff friendly and helpful.

Room was clean but basic, some of our group had no hot water.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

3 of us stayed here for 2 nights before our Kilimanjaro climb and one night afterwards. First impressions were nice with nice gardens and a decent size pool albeit a bit cloudy. That was the good part. We had two rooms, one of which was changed after 6 attempts to find a key that would open it. The showers in neither room worked properly - either scalding or freezing or off with water heading in all directions. One loo did not flush at all. One room had a noisy compressor outside, the other one was quiet and not a bad size. The restaurant was awful. The lunch and dinner menu was the same 4 items, except for 'lunch' or 'dinner' at the top. The food to an age to arrive and was overcooked without exception, except the beef which was only inedible. The bar ran out of cold beer after just 3 or 4. Breakfast was uninspiring watermelon and pineapple (they had mangos literally falling off the trees but none to eat in the restaurant), or bread/toast and one cereal, and you could ask for eggs if you were not in any hurry. We had better food up the mountain than we did in the restaurant. There was a problem with electricity in the region and although the hotel does have a compressor, it was off for most of the day. When we returned after our trek and really needed a shower, they did switch it on for a while and the showers this time did at least function. And, one item on the menu had changed, but it still took ages to get anything and was still overcooked. Overall feeling was that the hotel was well past its best and on the way out. It needs a serious refurbishment and new management to motivate the staff. For what we got, it was expensive. This really could be a very nice hotel - but it isn't.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

You're in the middle of rural villages and you're about to climb Mount Kilimanjaro, where you'll spend a week in the wilderness with relatively few minimalist comforts.

So, you would really want a good's night sleep before you leave civilization, and Protea Hotel Aishi, part of a Tanzanian chain of hotels and resorts, fits the bill. On beautifully landscaped grounds in Machame, just a 20-minute drive from Kilimanjaro National Park's Machame Gate, the hotel has a nice traditional architecture of woods and whitewashed walls that still manage to look pleasingly rustic. The rooms are spacious, with enough room for a desk, a little coffee table and two cushioned armed chairs, and a very clean bathroom. The beds are comfortable and because it gets nippy at night, you don't quite need air-conditioning - in fact, it's really nice to be wrapped up under the linens in natural chill. It's still rural Tanzania, so you don't get the gamut of modern technology and in-room entertainment, but that's not why you're there - it's far more pleasant to sit on the patio outside the restaurant and sip a nice African red.

Speaking of the restaurant, that's where this story takes a turn for the worse. The front office staff is very friendly, welcoming and helpful, and it's great when a couple of them trot over to the restaurant to help out. But the rest of the food and beverage staff are unforgivingly unhelpful. At the breakfast buffet, eyes were raised and certainly I felt uncomfortable about ordering three eggs (I was just looking for some protein pre-climb since the sausages were rather undesirable!). Also, an expedition mate who was looking to fill her thermos with hot coffee was chided, and didn't get her java. It's not quite certain what the definition of "buffet" means, in this case! That aside, the food was just terrible - you'd be lucky to order something that would simply be passable in normal circumstances. Still, we didn't hold the restaurant to such exacting standards, considering where we were, but just a heads-up. Unfortunately, it's not like you can walk out to find a restaurant in the village, so what you see on the menu is what you eat.

Otherwise, we found the Protea to be a great pre-trek stop point, and the night we stayed there after our climb was also much appreciated and enjoyed. The hotel was very comfortable to begin with and when every little basic luxury is accentuated after a week on the mountain, it all seems like a really, really nice set-up. It's a good thing we were too tired to care about the restaurant service for dinner, although I wish I'd gotten the fish instead of the steak.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed there 2 nights:

The girl at the reception: very cool, no smile and very unfriendly.

The rooms (we had 3 in 2 days): no hot shower, no mosquito nets, no windows which you could really close. We felt very unsecured at the first floor.

TV: yes but no signal.

Water in the basin: dirty.

The meals : excellent.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Aishi Machame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Aishi Machame

Address: Machame Village, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Aishi Machame 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Aishi Machame - Country elegance on the Slopes of Mount Kilimanjaro. Situated at the foot of Mt. Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest mountain, Protea Hotel Aishi is located a few kilometres from the Machame Gate where climbers commence their ascent of this most majestic mountain by way of the picturesque Machame Trail. View the permanently snow-capped peaks from the comfort of your room. Specialising in organised climbs, Protea Hotels Aishi provides all necessary tenting and equipment, as well as the most experienced guides and porters to make this unique experience a holiday always to remember. Nature walks and cultural tours around the area can also be organised by the hotel. All en-suite bedrooms are well appointed and modern, as well as all being equipped with electronic safes, mini-bar and tea/coffee making facilities. Our restaurant offers a selection of superb cuisine, where both local and international dishes can be enjoyed in the restaurant or on the terrace, for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The patio provides an ideal venue for Al Fresco dining or simply enjoying the views over afternoon tea or sundowners. As the melted snow and ice from the mountain cascades down in the form of a majestic river that thunders past the grounds of the hotel, why not enjoy a picnic lunch on the banks of the river whilst nature reveals her secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel Aishi Machame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Aishi Machame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.