We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comforts and beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Inn
Taifa Road | Kiborloni, Mnazi, Moshi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Moshi
San Diego, California
1 review
“Good comforts and beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent Indian food, friendly staff, quiet clean and beautiful hotel with great amenities and excellent rooms. Also it offers good views of Kilimanjaro if and when skies are clear. But the place is in the middle of nowhere and very hard to find anything around besides some beer at a very small local bar around the corner of the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    46
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
24
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff is extremely amateur. The hotel is a considerable distance from Moshi. I understand that the city has rolling brown outs, but the hotel would turn off their generator in the middle of the day. It took me hours to finally get someone to turn it back on. On my last day, I was harassed by a prostitute. It was cheap, the rooms were clean, and there was food with a bar there. Other than that, I would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel was clean, the rooms were large and modern for Tanzania. It had a nice pool area and it was excellent value for money with all meals included (the food was fantastic)!

I stayed here after climbing Kilimanjaro and it was ideal to chill out as it was quiet and comfortable. I liked that it was slightly away from moshi town centre so it wasn't noisy but to get there you would need to get a cab. The lovely receptionist was happy to handle the cab booking for me.

Room Tip: Around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

super stay at mountain inn while doing our kili climb. ideal place for base for the kili climb. both shah tours and mountain inn experience was memorable. food was fantastic and had great party after successfully summit the kilimanjaro. they even had birthday cake ready for one of our group member.


Remee's guidance through out was so help in our success. Thanx !!!

udayan patel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay and ideal for Kilimanjaro Trekkers! Staff took great care of us both before and after our climb. There was hot water for all 17 of us when we got back from climbing Kilimanjaro which was excellent! I would definitely recommend Mountain Inn

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Amazing trip. Fantastic friendly hotel.
Would recommend to everyone.
Climbed Kilimanjaro for Charity and was recommended this hotel.
Clean. Good food. Great staff.
Great customer service.
Amazing is all that can be said. Amazing place. Amazing people.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Pros: People are very nice here. Place was very accommodating. My friend left her bag and they went out of their way to give it back to her. Great customer service!

Cons: Food was a little bland. Some of the rooms did not have hot water but that was an easy fix. We just changed rooms and voila!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Theresa,

Thank you very much for writing this review. We are happy to hear that your stay was pleasant, accommodating and you enjoyed the services! We are surprised to hear that the food was bland as we are very well known for our exotic, delicious meals. It's a shame you did not get to taste the food at its finest and we do apologise for this, however thank you for the feedback! We would like to welcome you back to taste the best of Mountain Inn. We offer an extensive a la carte menu including Indian & Continental cuisine along with our set menus, and we are pleased that our new Indian chef has recently joined us, having more than 22 years of experience in preparing Indian and Chinese cuisine, therefore next time we will definitely not fail to please. We look forward to having you back!

Kind regards from all at Mountain Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn

Address: Taifa Road | Kiborloni, Mnazi, Moshi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Inn is the perfect base hotel conveniently located: - 5kms from Moshi town on the road to Marangu / main gate to Kilimanjaro National Park- Approximately one hour to Marangu gate - Half an hours drive to Mweka gate- Approximately one hour to Kilimanjaro International Aiport. Mountain Inn has 24 spacious en-suite rooms (singles, doubles and triples) allowing preparations before and after a Kili trek to be easily handled. Our restaurant is one of the very few in Moshi that serves freshly prepared meals including breakfast, lunch and dinner with a set menu, a la carte menu and an Indian menu by our experienced chefs. The small fully stocked bar and gardens are a popular place for meeting fellow trekkers. Services & Activities: Free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, massage & more! Itineraries planned by Shah Tours and Travels include accommodation at Mountain Inn unless otherwise specified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shah Tours - Mountain Inn Kilimanjaro Hotel Moshi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.