We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marangu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marangu Hotel
PO Box 40 | Marangu, Moshi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Moshi
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful and relaxing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is an old style hotel with all you need to relax. During the days I was there I met interesting people from Australia and Canada with whom I enjoyed sharing stories. I walked up to the Marangu gate and saw the caves and Falls which gave me a real feeling for the area and also great views of Kili. It was also worth getting up early to see the dawn rising over Mawenzie and lighting up Kibo. I also found it was nice and quiet at night compared to the nights I spent in Moshi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    41
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
31
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gambrills, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Marangu hotel provided a very nice, peaceful place to rest prior to climbing Kilimanjaro. Within the hotel property there is a nice restaurant, cafe/bar, gardens, a pool (if you dare) and even 2 gift shops. An office computer is available for checking internet (small fee), though the connection is painfully slow. Mosquito nets are provided for the beds. I did not encounter any mosquitos, but used the nets in any case for the ambiance. I would recommend this hotel also as there is a nice local feel - not only in the decor, but the people. There are also great views of Kilimanjaro, when clear.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We camped here as we were on safari with a 4x4 Land rover with roof top tent. We were shown a small camp area at the back of the compound near the bathrooms. Very clean with hot running water and showers and outdoor sink for washing clothes or dishes. They showed us the pool but did not look to inviting for a swim when we were there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There were lots of places to kick back and relax in padded chairs with tables. There is a restaurant be we opted to eat at our campsite.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel before and after our Killi climb. Rooms are simple, clean and have great hot showers. Exceptional beautiful is the setting of this hotel and the lovely maintained garden, from where you can also view the Killimanjaro. Staff are friendly and helpful and I strongly recommend this hotel, but also if you climb the Killimanjaro they are one of the oldest and most professional establishment (experience for the last 30 years) to organize Killi climbs. We successfully climbed the summit and had a great time staying at Marangu Hotel who took care of everything, even missing mountain gear was topped up at no extra charge. So special thanks to Seamus for briefing us on Machame route and very special thanks to our guides Josep and Satourin and all other crew members for encouraging us. Without Josep and Satourin we wouldn't have made it .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We used the Marangu hotel to organize our Kili climb and they really did do an excellent job. We climbed just the 2of us, and we had a crew of 10 people. A guide (Josep), assistant guide (Satorini), a cook (Frank) & an assistant cook (Happy) and 6 porters.

From the preparations, all the way to the summit and back down in the valley, I felt I was in good hands. The hotel sends you a list of all the tuff you need.....and you do need all of it what's on the list! Upon arrival they'll check your gear and anything that is missing you can borrow from them. The guides are real experts, very responsible and very pleasant. Without Josep & Satorini it would have been much harder to arrive at the summit!

The whole trip was extremely well thought through, from the distance, the daily elevation and the food supplied. The info they give along the way is very informative and helpful. The night of the final climb was tough, but he guides they help you through....I would highly recommend to use he Marangu hotel for organizing your Kili climb!

We did do he Machame route, the only disadvantage is by staying at the Marangu hotel is that it takes two hours from Marangu to the Machame gate, as well as to the airport is a good 1.5hours drive!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Ct.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Five years ago we used the Marangu Hotel as our base to climb Kilimanjaro with a Scout Troop from Simsbury, Ct. We had 24 Scouts and Adults and were very impressed with the Hotel and in particular the guiding service. They exceeded our expectation at every turn. We put most of our crew on the Summit with the great help of Charles our Lead guide and all the support staff.
This last summer we brought another group and had just as good an experience and we had Charles again as a lead Guide. While the Hotel is excellent with excellent food and service, the guiding service is just outstanding. I have used guiding services all over the world and found none better. The Guides are very safety oriented and as we had some folks he needed to come down quickly it was good to know we had real professionals to help us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We booked with this place because of personal recommendations. They have been taking people up Kili for over 40 years and their experience really shows.
The price range is moderate and we found the quality of tents/food/sleeping bags etc on the climb to be well above our expectations.

Our guides were absolutely brilliant and got us to the top slowly while others rushed past but had to be assisted back down after half the climb. Marangu Hotel takes the climb seriously and we felt like we were in very good hands.
The rooms are fine-great bathrooms with tubs which is what you want after a week on the mountain! I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marangu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marangu Hotel

Address: PO Box 40 | Marangu, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Moshi
Also Known As:
Marangu Hotel Moshi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marangu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marangu Hotel to your Saves list