We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value and Experience for Kilimanjaro!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marangu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marangu Hotel
Save
You added Marangu Hotel to your Saves list
PO Box 40 | Marangu, Moshi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Moshi
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Value and Experience for Kilimanjaro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you are looking for an opportunity to climb Kilimanjaro, and you are overwhelmed by all of the options to choose from, then please consider the Marangu Hotel. A friend of mine who lives in Poland climbed with the Marangu Hotel and had an amazing experience, so when I mentioned that my son and I would be climbing, this is who he directed us to. You can choose to go through an outfitter to make arrangements for you. Or you could deal with this wonderful family-run outfit that has a fantastic reputation on the mountain and go out of their way to make your experience unforgettable. The property is beautiful, and the food fantastic. The guides and porters were friendly and professional, and every need was taken care of!! Please consider using the Marangu Hotel when you make your trek to Kilimanjaro-especially if you are looking for a guide service to make a trek on Kili! George and Joseph were our guides and they led us to a successful summit to Uhuru Peak!

Room Tip: Rooms 22 and 23 have the best view of Kilimanjaro when the mountain decides to peak out! Fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    47
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
34
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
qwanta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We did not stay at the Marangu hotel, but we booked a Kili climb with them and transfered several thousand dollars. Unfortunately, we had to cancel the trip. We did not really ask for a cancellation policy upfront, so Marangu could have chosen not to refund the entire money and there is nothing we could have done about it. However, Desmond (I think he is the owner or manager) offered to refund the entire money (minus transfer costs) and followed through on his promise. Throughout the booking process as well as the cancellation process, Desmond and Fionnuala responded to all of our emails promptly.

If I were ever fortunate enough to do a Kili climb in the future, I would go to Marangu. I always appreciate a business that not just treats its guests well, but also others well.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have just returned from climbing Kili and stayed at the Marangu Hotel. I totally recommend using here as your base. It was perfect. The whole team are so welcoming and professional. From the moment we enquired we were provided with information, advice and guidance in order to make our climb succesful. They provide a superb pre-climb briefing and will supply you with any kit you may have forgotten or not have. Everyone is so friendly and you totally get the impression that they care and are engaged with development of the local community.

It is vey near the park entrance for the Marangu route climb so makes transfers short which is a bonus (especially when longing for a hot bath on your return!) Hot water is endless at the hotel and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

The hotel sorted out our team of porters and guides for the climb and I felt safe and well looked after from start to finish.

All in all - I think this hotel and its organisation are brilliant and would highly advise to book through them for a holiday and experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I made it to Uhuru Peak on 11 June 2012, thanks to Marangu Hotel!
All we can say about Marangu Hotel is 'wow'! From the minute we phoned from overseas to make reservations, we knew that we had made the right hotel choice. The hotel staff were professional, very nice and went beyond the call of duty to ensure that our reservation went smoothly and once we arrived, they checked to see if we had the full climbing gear and equipment; they fitted us with every single thing that we didn't have. The food at the hotel is outstanding, organic, tasty and nutritious, made with produce from the hotel farm. My husband kept raving about the liver pate and fresh samosas at the bar! As an example, on the way down from the Kili, we were met with a lunch of delicious potato salad and grilled chicken at the Mandara Hut - just what our bodies needed after the climb, it really hit the spot!
The hotel rooms are cosy, warm and very clean. Tastefully decorated, simple, and equipped with hot strong showers, the rooms are so comfortable that we slept like like babies! The workers are meticulous about cleaning and tidying up - something that we appreciated.
We found the hotel management so knowledgeable about Kili and their general environment. We also found them to be very concerned and engaged with community development issues, an added charm to this hotel. The briefing session, mandatory before the climb, was invaluable, well thought through, and well presented by the management,
It was such a pleasure staying at Marangu and we recommend it wholeheartedly. We plan to return with our children!
Prud & Ted

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool area/river are excellent - peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We just did a 6 day Kili trek, Marangu route through this hotel, and were very satisfied. The hotel is a very nice, peacefull and clean place to rest a couple of days before or after the trek. We had an extremely thorough briefing before setting off and got lots of advice which made us feel safe on this quite rough climb. Furthermore the hotel helped us book domestic tickets at a very good price (about half the price we would pay if we had to book them on the internet).
We made it to Uhuru peak through the help of these people :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I'll start by mentioning that this is truly the ONLY place to stay if you're climbing Kili and don't want to stay in distant Moshi. Sadly, all other sleeping and eating establishments in Marangu are either closed down or in severe decline. That could have a lot to do with the problems at Marangu Hotel; it's easy to suck and still survive when you're the only game in town. The worst part: the FOOD. It's easily some of the most tasteless, bizarre, horrid food I've ever had. I was living in Dar es Salaam when I visited Marangu and I traveled much of Tanzania. I never ate worse food in my two years there. Truly disgusting. The other problem was the shower drain. This is a minor problem by comparison, especially when the water itself was fantastic, but it's pretty disgusting after a day hiking around Marangu or up Kili to have to stand in your own (and former bathers') filth.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Certainly the best place to stay at Mt. Kilmanjaro. Perfect for preparation or after the climb. A peaceful, quite place amidst lush vegetation, like a remnant from a distant past, you can enjoy the feeling in this former farm. Best view on the Kibo and Mawenzi from the hotel garden. Nice bungalows, nice bar, and a nice pool. Good meals! Friendly, relaxed, welcoming staff, that will help you with almost everything. Lots of expertise regarding the mountain climb, very good briefing!, and best success rates for reaching the summit. If you lack sth, for the climb, they will assist you with their own equipment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marangu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marangu Hotel

Address: PO Box 40 | Marangu, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Moshi
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marangu Hotel is set on 12 acres of beautiful garden and has been open since 1932. We have been organising climbs of Kilimanjaro, on all routes, for over 80 years. The original farm buildings (now offices and reception) were built in 1907 as part of a coffee farm before being converted in 1932. Guest accommodation is provided in cottages around the gardens, and meals are prepared with vegetables from our own gardens and home baked bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marangu Hotel Moshi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marangu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.