We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Moshi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Springlands Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springlands Hotel
Save
You added Springlands Hotel to your Saves list
Pembo Road | Pasua Area, Moshi, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Moshi
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
“Best Place in Moshi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Thanks Springland! You made our trip to Kili enjoyable, organized and relaxing, especially when we came back. The staff is friendly and helpful, and we had no problems. We slept well, ate well and left happy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    112
    70
    26
    16
See reviews for
36
71
60
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel was very stingy and terrible value. The rooms were worse quality than the cheapest backpackers in town and all 4 single beds in the room that my partner and i shared had large holes in the mosquito netting and plenty of mosquitos managed to get through the fly screen and into the room. We stayed in Moshi for a whole week before arriving here to climb Kilimanjaro and this is the first time we were getting bitten by mozzies.

The location was very far out of town and despite online advertising stating there were free shuttles into town (booked through Ultimate Kilimanjaro) we had to pay for this service. Everything from a power adapter to the water that was meant to be included in our climb package was charged and for prices between 3X and 5X more than it would have cost us in town.

Although the staff were friendly so are the locals in town (Tanzania has a beautiful culture) and they were helpful until the morning when we were meant to get a taxi to the airport - where the phrase "hakuna matata" (no worries) became all too common and the taxi arrived 45 minutes late.

For those doing the Kilimanjaro tour: Porters get paid 9 USD per day of climbing but for the locals this is still sought after money and your tip is what makes up the rest of their wages.

Anyway I guess my review comes from having stayed in several beautiful backpackers, B&B's and hotels in Moshi town before arriving at Springlands hotel. Having done this I have seen that for exactly 1/4 of the price you can get much better.. EVERYTHING - nicer breakfasts, staff that are capable of helping you, free niceties and amasing locations in town.

Room Tip: Avoid staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

2 friends and I stayed at Springlands before and after our climb of Kilimanjaro and enjoyed the experience. Since it is located outside of the town of Moshi we had all of our meals on site including a free breakfast. We found the meals to be very good with lots of fresh local fruits and vegetables. Although the road leading to there was in very poor shape the hotel was well kept and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We also found it very useful in meeting other travelers to Kilimanjaro who provided us with their personal experience in climbing the mountain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Ahsante Sana Zara! We were a group of 3 Tanzanians who were joined by two Canadians (brother & sister) for our Kilimanjaro attempt. We found the accommodation good and adequate for the purpose, as we did not expect western standard 5* accommodation. Once you are within the walled premises, you get a feeling of peace and tranquillity. The tropical gardens have been well landscaped, and the swimming pool is an added bonus. The quality and quantity of food was excellent, and the menu was varied on the two nights we stayed - before and after the climb. The staff were very courteous and engaging, and provided excellent service throughout our stay. We also had the added bonus of meeting Zainab Ansell, the Director of Zara doing her rounds, who ensured that everything was okay. To Zainab, I'd like to say 'Ahsante Sana dada' for everything.

The guides and all the associated crew that accompanied us on the six days were marvellous. Our special thanks to the Chief guide Gilbert, who showed excellent leadership skills, and to the assistant guides Maganga and Baraka, who altogether helped us achieve our goals of summiting to Uhuru Peak. To these guys, I would like to say 'Ahsante sana ndugu zangu'. Without them I would not have been able to celebrate my 60th birthday on the roof of Africa when we summited.

I will recommend Zara to anybody who seeks my opinion. There will be those who expect 5* luxury in the middle of Africa, but if you come to Tanzania with a sense of adventure, and an open mind, you will thoroughly enjoy your climb with Zara Tours.

Shabbir Mohamedali

Room Tip: You will be spending only a night or so either side of your travels for the Kilimanjaro Climb - so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I am back in Canada after 5 weeks in Tanzania during which I did a 5 day safari and 6 day kili climb with Zara tours. Although not disastrous, I would not recommend Zara when there are so many great and honest options out there. First, I learned while living in Moshi that contrary to their advertisements, that Zara does not treat their porters well. In addition, once you have paid, they send you a contract saying that they are not responsible for itinerary changes. So, on my 5 day/4 night safari, they twice bumped us from the lodges listed on our itinerary. On the 4th night, rather than putting us in the lovely tented lodge in the Ngorogoro National park, they moved us to a run down dump of a hotel. The hotel, called the flamingo, is located in a muddy town on the side of the highway (see my review on trip advisor for pictures). We noted that there were many Zara vehicles there so it appears that this a normal bump for them to do (confirmed by other Zara travellers). It is frustrating that you pay for a luxury lodge and are instead put in this sorry excuse for a hotel which no explanation or recourse. Also note that the Zara vehicles are >20 years old, have no AC or amenities like the other companies and make for a loud uncomfortable ride. Our driver, although a wonderful person, spoke almost no english. Also, the lunches are awful, consisting of a dry roll, a dried out piece of chicken and a juice box. Overall, not terribly impressive for what we pay....

Room Tip: Refuse to allow them to bump you to the Safari (my brother did this after my experience and it worke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zainab A, Owner at Springlands Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Meredith,
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We have noted your complain about the Flamingo lodge. Please note that during the High season when our Highview hotel is fully booked we use the Flamingo hotel as an alternative, that's why on the clients voucher we indicate Highview hotel or Similar. Please note that we don't use Flamingo hotel as a dump site, it actually has similar facilities to Highview hotel.
As for the cars, kindly note that we have a fleet of new safari jeeps ready to be launched anytime from now, we are disposing the old ones.
We have noted your comment about the packed lunch and we have changed the menu.
We apologize if we didn't meet your standards and expectations and we are working to make our services and facilities even better.

Regards,

Zainab Ansell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Lots of fun meeting other trekkers leaving for and/or returning from Kili. Wonderful interactions with Zara management, Roger and Remmy in particular, and all of the staff. Enjoyed half-day rice paddy and forest tour with an exceptional guide who was very knowledgeable about local flora, fauna, animals. Quick and convenient laundry service. Wifi frustratingly slow at times. During your trek, hotel will store luggage and for a fee provide a lock box for valuables. Both of our rooms (before/after Kili) were old and tired yet entirely functional so don't expect too much. Before your trek you may be kept awake at night by folks celebrating their successful summit, but please be gracious as you probably will be guilty of the same when you return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We spent our first night in Moshi at the Springlands and then one night after we climbed Kili and then a last night after our safari and we absolutely loved the place. The staff was about as friendly and helpful as you could ever expect. The rooms were clean and we enjoyed the food.

Be careful about the reviews that you read on here that are posted by people who have no or few previous comments and who claim to be from the US or Canada but can't seem to write a proper sentence since I believe that a lot of the Tanzanian reviews are posted by the management of the various establishments who are promoting their own and badmouthing the competition.

If you are expecting a 5 star hotel you will likely be disappointed but we came to think of the place as home and we loved the pool which most people seemed to ignore.

Room Tip: There is a little souvenir shop about 3 minutes down the road towards Moshi which is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springlands Hotel

Address: Pembo Road | Pasua Area, Moshi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springlands Hotel, located on the Southern slopes of Kilimanjaro near Moshi in Tanzania, is the ideal base for mountain walking trips and safaris to Kilimanjaro and all Northern Tanzanian National Parks. Our hotel offers excellent value and high quality at competitive rates. It has a large swimming pool, an airy dining area set in pleasant gardens, and indoor and outdoor bars. The rooms have spacious en-suite facilities with showers, mosquito netting, and fans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Springlands Hotel Moshi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.