We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better and more honest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast
St Margaret's Church Road, Moshi 7403, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
We have moved location
Ranked #2 of 27 Moshi B&B and Inns
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Could be better and more honest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place have beautiful environment, nice staffs, very good quality bed ...
and we appreciate they still give us a room when we went on wrong date as we booked,
but we were disappointed .

1)They served a bottle of water in room in we first stay, but when we went again after 1 week,the staff took away our water ,she told us "when you back from safari or second time stay, you can't have water,you have to buy " because the owner said this to her.
Even the owner Rebecca explain it's their hotel's rule , we still feel uncomfortable , unfair, and totally can't not understand.

2)Their price was in US dolor, but when we pay in $US , they have no $US to change, even just $20。 because the owner Rebecca did't work or stay there, just go everyday to take money away, doesn't leave any money in hotel. she said she worry to be stolen.
So the staff change me in TZS finally, and the changing rate is the worst I have ever met in Tanzania. I feel it's a selfish an dishonest behavior.

When I went to other hostels in Tanzania, they always change the same currency as I paid. and always change dolors if their piece was in dolor.(I thought it is a common sense in the world)

3)They tell me that we have our own locked toilet, but it seems they didn't tell other guests that is not a share bathroom, so other quest made our bathroom dirty and stole all our toilet papers twice.

4) The location is dangerous to walk after sunset.

5)They sell wifi coupon, but the staff can not answer you any question when wifi have problem. (and it usually has problem)

I complain to Rebecca , she said sorry and tell me they will do some change. I hope when you come, they already become better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry you felt you could'nt express your dismay at the time of your stay and would like to address some of your complaints-

The Hibiscus is a budget BnB and we do our best to provide the best service for the price which is charged this includes only providing free water on the first night of guests stay.
We did not charge you for water on the second night which was taken.

The location of The Hibiscus is very safe and we only advise caution for our guests walking in the evening around Moshi to take a taxi.

Each room allocated with bathrooms in the hall all have keys to lock their own toilets/shower room.

Our records show that your bill was paid with TSH and USD combined, we happily take TSH eqv and the rate on the day was 1.6 in town the exact same in which you were charged.



At The Hibiscus we shall try to communicate our policies better in the future so futher confusion is avoided.


Regards

The Hibiscus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
13
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

After my road trip to Dar es salaam, I headed back to Moshi and stayed in The hibiscus lodge.The hibisus is a excellent place to stay.Very neat and beautiful rooms.Staffs are very friendly and helpful.High speed internet is available there.The rooms are very spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here a few nights while recovering from a safari. For $40 US a night you can't go wrong here. It's close enough to downtown Moshi (a 10 minute walk) while being in a quiet residential area. Rooms are clean, grounds are beautiful, and the staff make a really tasty breakfast. Dinner and lunch can be requested if you give them a few hours notice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wonderful small guesthouse with clean, spacious, nicely decorated rooms. Very good service by the lovely staff throughout our 4 nights stay. Not too far from town, so walking is perfectly fine during the day. Internet is available, but at a little cost, and breakfeast is for free. Pancakes are delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at Hibiscus couple of nights before and after my Kilimanjaro Hiking and safary trip in middle of September. This hotel is clean and well decorated with spacious rooms. The place is very quiet but not too far from Moshi center so it is in walking distance to every places in town. The staff is wonderful, especially Ms. Savaria who was really kind and helpful in any thing that I needed.
I stayed 1 night in a room with the shower does not work properly (very little water come out while shower) but I was changed to another room in the next day. After all this hotel is a lovely and friendly hotel and I would recommend it to anyone who choosing to stay in Moshi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masaki, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at The Hibiscus for one night last weekend and would thoroughly recommend it. It is clean, tastefully decorated with pleasant, helpful staff. Rooms were very comfortable with lovely bedlinen and towels and great pillows. Bathrooms were spotless and plenty of hot water to wash off the dust of Moshi! A walk into town took us about 20 mins but being uphill on the way back we took a taxi. Breakfast included fresh pancakes, toast, fruit or eggs if you wished and there was a good choice of teas and coffee and fresh juice. Dinner could be pre-ordered or there was a Chinese takeaway menu but we didn't try these options this trip. The garden was a calm, relaxing place to rest and there was a good selection of books to borrow. There was an askari at night and the plot was well secured. We didn't try the internet so cannot comment on that. We did not have any power cuts. We would recommend this as one of the better places to stay in Moshi and we look forward to revisiting again sometime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was a great base for all our Tanzanian adventures.
The place is very clean and safe and in a good location close to Moshi centre. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Coffee and tea are available all day as well as a large collection of books to borrow for your adventures on Kili, safari or elsewhere in the area. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast

Address: St Margaret's Church Road, Moshi 7403, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hibiscus A friendly run boutique Bed and Breakfast within walking distance from the town center we are situated in a peaceful residential area. The beautiful tropical garden is just the ideal background to the glaciers and snow of the Kilimanjaro.All twelve bedrooms all with en suite showers, offer western comfort with an African feel. Our helpful staff will endeavor to make your stay a memorable one.You will enjoy your breakfast in the shaded garden or on your balcony entertained by the songs of the morning birds or have a cool drink under the stars beside the fire pit.The weather will be always on your side, mainly sunny with occasional showers, all year round.With its central location, The Hibiscus offers you a quick easy access to the local shops, restaurants and swimming pools.We are happy to share our experiences, provide guides to local attractions, connect with reputable safari companies and give help to volunteers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.