We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Maris Executive Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stella Maris Executive Lodge to your Saves list
Stella Maris Executive Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Moshi-Arusha Road | P.O. Box 3041, Moshi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I definitely recommend a stay at the Stella Maris if you are traveling to Tanzania for Safari or a climb up Kilimanjaro. It is a great place to stay. The staff is very friendly and attentive, the rooms are beautiful and very nicely kept. There is a restaurant at the lodge that serves great food, and taxis are available to transport you around Moshi. Also, the hotel itself supports a wonderful cause. All proceeds of the hotel go toward supporting a school for orphaned and disadvantaged children in the area. The school itself sits directly in front of the hotel. Without the hotel, the school wouldn't exist. Please help keep this initiative going with a stay at the Stella Maris!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
14
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed at Stella Maris for a couple of weeks for a volunteer trip and it was an amazing experience. The staff treated my group and me like family. I left all my belongings in my room, and never had to worry that anything would go missing. The staff was so welcoming and friendly. They were willing to practice Swahili with us and were open to help with anything we needed. The food was great. The view of Mount Kilimanjaro is spectacular. The Lodge has free Wifi and 2 computers with access to the internet. What makes this an even better deal is that the profits from the Lodge go to support a great school that serves under-resourced children. You can't go wrong staying here. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of Mt. Kilimanjaro
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Upon arriving at Stella Maris we were greeted by children playing soccer in a big open field, whom a group of small boys come up to my friend and I who wanted to help us with our heavy luggage and brought it to the hotel for us:) When you stay at Stella Maris, it feels like home away from home in Africa!! The staff really make you feel welcome and very accommodating! Teddy helped me put together an exciting itinerary for the week, while my friend was climbing Kilimanjaro. She is very helpful and works with a wonderful Shayo Trekking and Safari guy Paul and his crew! We also went on a 4 day camping safari with our guide Tuma, and I just have to say what a great experience that was! I also recommend visiting the Kikuletwa Hot Springs:) If you get a chance volunteer your time at the school, It was amazing having the kids sing a welcome song!:)) There was plenty of things to do, like visiting or shopping at the local markets for things, music and dancing at local pubs, local Union Cafe shop for a snack or lunch (which i recommend), safaris, day hikes, hot springs, etc.. Anything is possible and the staff at Stella Maris is there to help guide you in the right direction depending on your interests!! The hotel is very clean along with the rooms, ask for the rooms facing towards Mount Kili. Its great when you get clear skies and wake up to the mountain! At night you can open the curtains and it feels like your sleeping outside under the stars! There is a trail in the back where you can spot monkeys! They offer WiFi or they have computers for your convenience! There is so many great things i could say about this place and the people! I left Africa with new friendships, unique experiences, and i will definitely be returning back soon!:))

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here before and after my trek. The guys at E-Trip Africa recommended it because it has a nice social cause. It was really great to see the school and spend a little time with the kids after my trek. It was like a way to give back.

The hotel is new. It seems to have a Tanzania taste to it. The food was good and the staff was pleasant. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Great water pressure and very hot showers, which is exactly what I needed after several days on the mountain.

Room Tip: A room facing Kili is great when the sun rises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Booked a single room with private bathroom. Tv, hot water, balcony facing the Kilimanjaro, cupboards, small table, desk, comfortable bed with mosquito nets included. The lodge is located just near the road from the airport to Moshi, only about 10 minutes to town, so the atmosphere is relaxed and surroundings are nice. People at the lodge are very welcoming and exceptionally friendly, willing to help you at any time, so it was just fantastic to find that hospitality after a three flight journey. The room are spacious and very clean so sleeping was perfect. Breakfast next morning included toasts, eggs, fruits and all kind of good stuff. In addition people are so nice and friendly at the lodge that they will help you to order something else if needed. There is also a lot of space in the lodge for meetings, and the restaurant would be big enough to hold a complete wedding banquet. Accommodation standards are high so overall price-quality is very good indeed with the plus of meeting very nice people. Another important issue is that the lodge supports the primary school next door, a school that helps orphan kids and poor children so apart from the excellent accommodation I had I am happy that my money went to support the school and the project with the children. By the time I went there school was on holidays but if you are interested in the project you are able to visit the school during classes and talk to the volunteers and people involved, so it would be an excellent opportunity to learn about the reality of these kids and about Tanzania. I also donated some books and sport equipment before I left for my Kilimanjaro climb. I was really happy to stay at this lodge with excellent quality price regarding accommodation and I was happier to learn about the school they support and their project. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel. We stayed at Stella Maris for one night before and two nights after our Kilimanjaro trek and felt right at home upon arrival. The staff is super friendly + helpful. Best place to stay in Moshi, if you're looking to meet great people and to get a perfect view of Mt. Kilimanjaro. Food is excellent and the rooms are super clean. Wish we could have stayed longer! An additional plus: You can safely leave your luggage at stella maris while climbing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

As one who travels to Moshi every year, I am delighted to have found Stella Maris Lodge. We bring our staff here to interview scholarship students in the beautiful conference room on site.

Very nice rooms, very good food and very attentive and kind staff. Perhaps most importantly, the Lodge supports the primary school next door. Best and most reasonable lodging in Moshi. Highly recommended. Karibu sana Stella Maris Lodge!

Room Tip: Great view of Kilimanjaro from the Moshi-Arusha road side and very little traffic noise since the Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stella Maris Executive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Executive Lodge

Address: Moshi-Arusha Road | P.O. Box 3041, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Executive Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, conference center, restaurant and bar at the foot of Mount Kilimanjaro. Just 25 minutes from Kilimanjaro International Airport. All proceeds from the hotel go to fund the adjacent Stella Maris Primary School for orphaned or at-risk children of Mailisita village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Stella Maris Executive Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Maris Executive Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.