We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean no-frills hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilimanjaro Crane Hotels & Safaris

Save Saved
You added Kilimanjaro Crane Hotels & Safaris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilimanjaro Crane Hotels & Safaris
Kaunda St, Station Rd, Moshi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Moshi B&B and Inns
Hyderabad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Clean no-frills hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Rooms: Clean rooms and bathrooms with comfortable furniture. Air conditioner not present in all rooms.
Breakfast: Decent selection
Other meals: Tasty but slightly expensive
Location: Conveniently located near supermarket and coffee shop
Cost: Not sure since it was part of a package

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
4
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I dont know where to begin...

I took my group there(students) they arrived only to be given 1 bed to share 4 students and I had paid for a quad room(maybe they don't understand English) then the food was not enough and when i asked i was told that they cannot provide more because they are out of money...when my kids woke up for breakfast there was no one in the restaurant and they did not even provide for packed lunch we had requested for..i spent the whole evening trying to get to the manager to no help at all...then the "owner" traveled to my office and promised to give us a refund....after he left he never picked my calls and always gave excuses...

I would not recommend this hotel to any one in the world...maybe if you enjoy bad service

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here for a night but got to say i was surprised ....internet in the reception area...tv..a/c (please close the windows or ask the housekeeping to do so or else you would never be able to relax your aching muscles after kilimanjaro)....good food plus basis amenities like toothbrush and toothpaste and complimentary drinking water....something i didnt notice in zanzibar. choose this hotel as it is near the precision air shuttle bus (if you are commuting via precision air).

Room Tip: Choose only A/c rooms...you cant use non a/c rooms as its a noisy area plus the weather stays dry ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, Maine USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I just don't know where to begin. In no particular order. No elevator and on the 3rd floor. 3 very unruly dogs were barking steadily below our window, I mean constantly. Balcony door lock was in pieces on the floor. Could not lock door. Could easily cross from one balcony to another with ease. No occupants in either room to ours. We booked 3 nights. That meant we would be gone all day with two empty room either side of ours, Hmmmmm. The Day manager stressed a few times, "we are not responsible for thefts." I plugged the mini refrig in the outlet that was just hanging from it's socket and it arced a spark or two but it got the refrig working so we could cool our beverages. It also was the only receptical in the room. Had to unplug TV to plug my battery charger with more arcing sparks. The TV programs were completely useless. The only english program was BBC News and they repeat stories every hour.The toilet seat was held on with only one bolt so it swayed a little if you sat down. No a/c, it was hastily removed and the ceiling fan rattled. No mosquito net and woke up wit a couple of red bites on me. Not sure if it were mosquitoes or bed bugs. Wife found a used condom on top of closet with it's empty box and rapper which is just outright disgusting. After getting somewhat settled in we decided to walk on to the balcony to have a bottle of wine and a smoke. After catching a buzz on the balcony we got up to move back into our room and the rack I was setting on "that held the hastily removed air conditioner compressor" erupted into a shower of sparks from the unprotected live wires. Needless-to-say all the power was knocked out from the 3rd floor. After about 30 minutes the power came back on. Hardly any english was understood by the night crew. She would not move us to another room. I had to hunt down the manager. After finding the night manager in the "bar" he only agreed to move us if our complaints are justified to him. He followed us back to our room and agreed to move to the front of the hotel. Our new room came with only one obnoxious barking dog. We could still hear the trio of dogs out back but not so loud. The room door would not close unless you used your door card to unlock it and close it quickly. The bathroom door would not close and opened on to you if you were sitting. It was not a clean hotel. At about midnight came this extremely loud, over amplified recording of some kind of Muslim chant that ran constantly throughout the night into the morning. The chant was located just across the street in what looked like a vacant lot with a few abandoned vehicles. All in all it was the worst Hotel we stayed in throughout Tanzania and Kenya. We booked 3 days but we checked out in the morning. Can not understand how people could recommend this place. Avoid it at all cost. It's worth about $8 per night but cost $70. Not good, not good.

Room Tip: My only tip is to avoid. Many other hotels in the area would be much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed here several times during my trip to East Africa, and enjoyed it each time. The staff was incredibly friendly, and remembered me from my previous stays. The food in the restaurant was good as well. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the beds came with mosquito nets, as well as a tv. The hotel is quiet, but close to everything in Moshi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

So after reading some of the reviews we thought it would be a terrible hotel but it is actually not bad at all. My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights before we climbed Mt Kilimanjaro and then one night after we were done with the climb, and another night after we came back from our safari (so a total of 4 nights).
Rooms are decent and spacious. We actually got an A/C room (for $60) but the A/C was not working so they only charged us $50 (regular price). The room did not have a mosquito net but it was not necessary either. They spray lemon-scented repellent so there are no mosquitoes inside the hotel.
There is a rooftop bar (that is currently closed). We bought beers for $1 at the supermarket (half a block away from the hotel) and took them to the rooftop. Pretty nice view from up there.
There is a pool but we didn't use it.
Food is good, but it takes forever to be ready (normal in Africa).
Breakfast was OK: coffee, eggs, jam, bread and fruit.
Staff was nice. There is no wireless. They have one computer in the lobby with internet access.
Walking distance to downtown Moshi.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs. There is a mosque nearby and they start praying around 3am (loud)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel is in a convenient location near the center of Moshi Town, but it's on a side street and is very nice and quiet at night. (The 5 am call to prayer from the nearby mosque will wake you every morning, but only lasts for a few minutes.) For $50 a night (single), I got a big room with air conditioning and a clean bathroom with trouble-free toilet and shower. A complimentary breakfast (fruit, eggs, sausage, Nescafe) is included, and there is a bar on the roof. Dinner in the restaurant downstairs was good and pretty cheap ($2.50 for a big plate of pizza, $3 for fish and chips). The staff were very nice and helpful. Although $50 for this room is not a good deal by the general standards of East Africa, Moshi tends to be pretty expensive. You can certainly stay in Moshi for a lot less money, but I don't know of anyplace else that is this nice for this amount of money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilimanjaro Crane Hotels & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilimanjaro Crane Hotels & Safaris

Address: Kaunda St, Station Rd, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilimanjaro Crane Hotel is located at the city center of Moshi town having all necessary services starting from accommodation, mountain trekking to safari, come and taste our services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Kilimanjaro Crane Hotels & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilimanjaro Crane Hotels & Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.