We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience and wonderful hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge to your Saves list
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uru Shimbwe | (16 km north of Moshi, TZ on the slope of Kilimanjaro), PO Box 886, Moshi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Moshi
Campbell, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience and wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We also booked a Kilimanjaro Trek through the lodge which turned out great. We did a great acclimatization hike through the local villages to a wonderful remote waterfall.
The road to the lodge is rough and a bit long, so try to arrange your trip so you can go and stay to unwind, don't expect to go back and forth to town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
16
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My children and I and my friend with her daughter stayed at the MountKilimanjaro View lodge before and after climbing Kilimanjaro. This was the best deal after shopping around and a great choice as no service was compromised. Philip, the ownder, was very helpful with anything we needed. He aranged pick ups, drop offs, airline tickets adn even let us cock our comfort food-macaroni and cheese. His company, Shining peak in Moshi, had personable and knowledgable English speaking guides that my kids still remember and talk about. I would deffinitely recomend this place and the Shining peak company to anyone who would like to stay in Moshi or if they are intersted in climbing Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights at Mount Kilimanjaro Lodge with my daughter. It was a wonderful experience. Philip and his staff were incredibly welcoming, creating much enjoyment with the singing, dancing and drumming after dinner. The rooms were comfortable , water hot , and the surrounding views memorable. Mount Kilimanjaro, with its snow capped peak was right on our doorstep! We enjoyed our day walking to the waterfall, and surrounding villages. Our guide was very informative. I brought organic coffee beans from Philip's family, where we had lunch, and my work colleagues and I are enjoying a cup every day !! Thanks to the staff who made our stay so enjoyable,
Wendy
Perth , Australia

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed at this lodge for 4 days. It is just south of the peak, about one hour by 4WD from Moshi. It is right next to the rainforest reserve and at 2000m it's the perfect preparation for a climb. It is not possible to start the climb from there as yet, the owner told me he has submitted an application for a permit. If granted it would be the closest base to start a climb (3 days' walk).

The lodge is simple but comfortable, service is great, the staff are very helpful and fun. They do a little show for the guests with dance and drums. Nothing is too much for the owner, a very nice and knowledgable Tanzanian man. Atmosphere laid-back and perfect for exchanging info with other travellers. Food is good and plentiful. Activities can be rainforest walks (there is a waterfall), a steep walk to the nearest village, or: just sit and admire 'Kili' close up. There is a spa but I did not use it.

Totally peaceful. Power only at certain times.

Overall a great experience of true Tanzania.

The owner will send a 4WD to pick visitors up from Moshi or Arusha or KIA.

Room Tip: Most rooms (bungalows) have direct views of Kili without leaving the chair in front. Just 'wow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here before we began our Kilimanjaro climb after finding this on tripadvisor... and it really is quite a find! It is up in the hills and offers STUNNING views of Kilimanjaro (best to see at night when it's clear or in the morning). The rooms are huts and are very quaint and comfortable. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. I will say, though, that it is not easy to get here - you have to pay around $30 for the ride to the lodge and it is extremely bumpy and muddy!

Overall, definitely stay here if you have the chance! You will not regret it :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you want to have the best view of Mount Kilimanjaro, please stay at MKVL. Owner, Philip is retired and invest in the lodge as his pension - so place is well maintained and is also his home. I was the only guest that day and he and his employees even did a drum performance just for me! The place is reachable from Moshi on unpaved road so a jeep is needed - MKVL has a jeep to take you there and back. Definitely recommends it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Kili View lodge is not to be confused with a 5 star resort, but provides a 5 star experience. The people and service are hands-on, with emphasis on a cultural experience. Now, at about 9,000 foot in elevation, in the foothills of Kili, spending a night or two before the hike at Kili View Lodge makes a lot of sense. While the town of Moshi can be rather hot, and most Tanzanian locales are subject to brown-outs, sleeping can be noisy and hot if you're forced to open windows at night with no A/C or operating fan. Kili View Lodge has the benefit of much cooler nights and away from the hustle and bustle of the near-by towns. In our case, while I climbed, my wife stayed at the lodge and fell in love with the staff and local villages. To get there requires a 45 minute drive in a 4-wheel drive vehicle, but that's also part of the experience.

Room Tip: The rooms all come with one thing--a great view not to be found anywhere in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge

Address: Uru Shimbwe | (16 km north of Moshi, TZ on the slope of Kilimanjaro), PO Box 886, Moshi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge is a small, traditional lodge nestled against a tropical rain forest at 9,600' on the rolling slopes of world-famous Mount Kilimanjaro. Since its completion in 2005, guests from over 60 countries throughout the World have stayed at MKVL. The fairly remote authentic African lodge is located 16 km(9miles) from Moshi, the Gateway to Mt Kilimanjaro. Guests enjoy a breathtaking view of Mount Kilimanjaro and an opportunity to live the culture in a peaceful, natural setting. The lodge is ideal as a "Base Camp" for hikes, safaris, and overall excursions in the region. Many visitors include a short stay, before or after a planned climb/safari/beach itinerary, to experience first hand the life of the prominent Chagga tribe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.