We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on the experience your looking for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springlands Hotel

Springlands Hotel
3km outside of town, Moshi, Tanzania
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 32 Restaurants in Moshi
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Depends on the experience your looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a cultural experience hotel. At first I saw it as shabby and a bit dirty. However, after visiting the "better" hotels while on safari, I couldn't wait to get back to Springlands. Although in need of updating and refurbishing, the staff and clientele were friendly and as excited about people visiting Africa as the people themselves. The staff go out of their way to be helpful and provide you with a pleasant experience. Attempting to speak Swahili is seen as an enjoyable exchange between locals and visitors.
Since the hotel caters to those going on safari and climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro, there is constant motion and excitement. The pool facilities are quite comfortable but with limited hours. There is a gift and sundries shop. Tours and activities can be arranged from the hotel lobby. Multiple outdoor sitting areas and a bar are on the hotel grounds.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    15
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Interesting hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a busy place. A lot goes on here as it is the hotel used as a base by Zara Adventure Travel for both Kilimanjaro trips and for safaris. There is always a lot to look at; people coming and going, preparation meetings taking place, etc. Zara is the owner and her picture is everywhere.
The thing we found the strangest about this place is that almost all the employees were wearing signs saying that they were trainees. It seemed like the whole place was being run by trainees! These employees were very friendly and almost curious about the clients at the hotel, asking all sorts of questions. It was almost to the point of being obtrusive, actually.

The restaurant is always buffet style. Get there early, especially if you are coming in high season as we found they do run out of things. Every time you order anything extra, even a bottle of water, you have to sign a bill. Consequently, when you check out, you may find that there are many, many bills that all have to be entered in a slow and painstaking way at the office and then again at the accounting office. Very time-consuming! Plan ahead and make sure you have enough time for all of this to take place.

One important piece of advice-do NOT choose any of the rooms between about 30-35. They are at the back of the hotel and their windows open onto a yard where I suspect there is some sort of open sewage or sewer. Anyway, at night, it smelled very bad!! I couldn't sleep.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“mass group tours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very well organized and the perfect tour start or end type of place. No where to chill and relax. Inconvenient for those who like to get out on their own. Too far and dusty to walk to town.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Serviceable Hotel for staging your Kili climb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed a the Springlands Hotel two nights before my Kili climb and one night after. In general I was satisfied, but there are some things you need to be aware of.

- If you are climbing with Zara make sure you stay at the Springlands. It makes things so much more convenient.
- You will probably have some spare time before or after your climb. Get out of the hotel (basically a locked compound) and explore Moshi. I did a bike ride with a guide and a walk down town. Yes it is dirty and scary and wild, but that’s the fun.
- The Springlands hotel isn't fancy, but serves the purpose of a place to stay before and after the climb. It is great meeting other people from all over the world either just heading out or just getting back from their climb.
- The beds are short. I'm 6'1'' and could not lay straight. They are also pretty hard. More like bunks then beds.
-The dining area is large and there can be over 50 people eating there buffet style. the food was OK, abut gets pretty boring after awhile. i think they try to apeal to as many people as possible from different parts of the world so it is pretty bland
-Best of all 20oz Kilimanjaro beer is only $3! I really miss that beer!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was the only part of this trip we planned ourselves and although it was clean the service and food were poor.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springlands Hotel also viewed

Moshi, Kilimanjaro Region
Moshi, Kilimanjaro Region
 

Been to Springlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.