We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afro Whale Shark Safari

Afro Whale Shark Safari
Kilindoni | Pwani, Mafia Island, Tanzania
+ 255 (0) 6 53 96 25 24
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Afro is the best for finding whale sharks. In 10 minutes after leaving the beach, we were already in the water swimming with them. Afro puts a big effort in to finding the whale sharks. If I go back to mafia island, I will do it again with him.
Thanks Afro!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A living myth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I contacted Afro from home months before actually going to Mafia Island and his patience just amazed me! Here is his facebook contact:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Afro-Whale-Shark-Safari/288429074528304
Once in Mafia the weather was not on our side and we were just on the verge of giving up! But Afro dropped me a messase just when the sea subsided and we went to the safari... in 2 hours we saw 10 whale sharks and we had the most astonishing experince ever!
Thank you Afro, for you kindness, professionality an infinite patience! Thank you so very much!
Everyone in Mafia should contact him: he's the best!!! Thank you!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“afrowhalesharksafari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our safari with Afro and his crew was a real New Year treat and at 30 dollars each considerably less than some other providers. He is a pleasant ,fun guy with good english . We had excellent views and close swimming with 10- 20 sharks over a period of more than an hour. Afro kept his boat quiet and not disturbing the fish and told us not to touch them,whereas some other punters and operators show less concern for the wildlife.
A great experience and it feels better to give your money direct to a local boatman rather than a larger or western run business

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberösterreich, Austria
1 review
“Perfect whale shark safari!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

It was amazing! We went with Afro for whale shark safari! He´s an amazing "tour" guide and informed us very good! We saw lots of them on our first boat trip with him. The price is small compared to experience. AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We visited Mafia Island in October, and went with Afro both for snorkeling with Whale Sharks and for an Island tour.
Afro and his guys were amazing! They did everything they could to make it unforgettable!
We got to go by ourselves, instead of with alot of other tourists. It was also much cheaper than booking with a resort. And it was up to us how long we wanted to stay...they just wanted us to be happy. And we definitely were!!
(And we saw too many whale sharks to count ;) )

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afro Whale Shark Safari also viewed

 
Mafia Island, Pwani Region

Been to Afro Whale Shark Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afro Whale Shark Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.