We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butiama Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mafia Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butiama Beach
Save
You added Butiama Beach to your Saves list
Msufini, Kilindoni | PO Box 47, Mafia Island 0202020, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Mafia Island B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Marvellous stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Unique unspoiled place with no tourists around. Great hospitality, good service (respect to the cook, barman and snorkeling guide!). Quite reasonable prices for all activities. Absolutely recommend for those who look for a calm, private atmosphere, good beach and wonderful snorkelling experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    11
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
86
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We came to Butiama Beach on Mafia Island after a busy Safari. What a great idea that turned out to be! This place was heaven on earth. The meals were fantastic. The bed was the most comfortable one on our entire trip. We snorkeled , sailed, kayaked, ran on the beach and mostly just relaxed. Our hosts were charming and gracious. We found the excursions to be reasonably priced. All our special dietary needs were met with kindness.The gift shop room was refreshingly filled with local-not made in china- gifts to bring home. The only improvement would be if they had a more extensive lending library. We left some of our books to improve that situation. As an amusing side, I must say we also played pool-on the beach. That was a new experience for us! We sadly missed both the Whale sharks-go in Dec for them- and the baby turtles -late July and early August are best, yet we felt the whole visit was a success due to Butiama Beach. We would go to Tanzania just to come back to Mafia Island. We endorse this restful retreat 100%!

Room Tip: Elelct for the Family Bungalo ! It was huge and had two bedrooms and two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This place is absolutely amazing - we couldnt have been made to feel more special and the extra touches for our honeymoon were great - flowers on our bed - a candelit table on the beach for our dinner one night under the stars.

The bungalows are great - clean and your own sofa and hammock on the veranda. There was always someone on hand to grab a cocktail from the bar and bring it back to the beach or veranda.

Maura the owner was a fabulous hostess and her husband had all the local knowledge we needed and organised some fantastic tours for us including scuba diving at really reasonable rates and a trip to nearby Chorley Island.

Ali the super friendly barman mixes an amazing cocktail and the food in the evenings is totally beyond delicious and thats speaking as a chef by trade!

My only criticism would be of the lunch menu it being too limited (as it didnt change daily unlike the evening meals) to keep our interest for our five day stay - I would suggest to them adding a few extra dishes (eg a pasta dish or even a "dish of the day" as there isnt really any other option but to choose from the lunch menu as there isnt really anywhere else to eat anywhere nearby unless on an excursion.

Overall it was one of the best weeks of our three week honeymoon and we LOVED LOVED LOVED the place, the people, the food and the cocktails!!!

Wish i was back there right now ! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

If you're the kind of relaxing/romantic/quiet type of people, this is YOUR place.
Traveling to Africa is a pain, although we came from Egypt ourselves but African countries have a very very long way to afford a "decent" travel experience. DAR airport is a total unhappy experience, neither is Mafia's. But once you finish traveling and arrive at Butiama, you begin to smile at once...:))
Everything just as we arrived was extremely friendly, fun, welcoming, relaxing...etc. Warm welcomes from Maura & Moez the owners, and the friendly staff was enough to make us relax.
Butiama is a very peaceful and beautiful place to be. We stayed for 7 days, doing NOTHING in the first couple of days but relaxing, reading and viewing the fantastic beach enjoying the nice weather.
A long walk along the beach makes you feel that you're alone in the island. Everyday afterward we had an activity made, sailing to a sand bank, snorkeling, whale shark swimming (which is a fascinating experience). All were really excellent and the staff were very professional and know what and when to do. They don't do that in order to have some tips or so as we have unfortunately in Egypt, they really serve you and they are happy doing it.
The food was excellent, maybe the best see food we had ever. Everyday a different dish and all was cooked with perfection. Maybe the breakfast was a bit limited but enjoyable, tropical fruits are a joy itself.
The staff are all very well trained, very polite, respect your privacy, always to your help when asked, and above all, present if you just thought of looking for one.
We recommend Butiama for sure for anyone looking for a an enjoyable peaceful holiday, you will not regret it at all.
Thank you Maura, Moez, Ali, Ali (barman), Abdullah, and all the people there who made us really happy dealing with you...Asanti Sana...:))

Room Tip: Just tell Maura & Moez..simple..:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I can't recall staying anywhere that catered to our needs better. The service was unobtrusive but you always felt there was someone there if or when you needed it. Maura and Morris are exemplary hosts and Ali is a superb tour organiser. Our stay was both relaxing and exhilerating,with great food. And even a massage for my wife! The perfect break.
Watching and swimming with whale sharks was an experience never to be forgotten, helped greatly by the expertise of Ali and crew who seem to know just where they will be and managed to get in close without spooking them. Incredible.
Another must is the picnic and snorkel off the sandbank. Amazing to picnic on a white sand beach as far as you can see each way and not a soul in sight .. and then see more Whale Sharks on the way back!
A big thanks to Maura for going the extra mile and picking up my sons suitcase from Dar on her way back and bringing it with her so he did not have to wait an extra day.
Our biggest disappointment? Leaving .... seems so long ago.
Only one minor suggestion, a quick clean of the beach every day would be a good idea. But what a perfect holiday, and what an amazing place. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I have NEVER stayed at a place in which staff took more pride in where they worked and what they did, where you felt a more heartfelt and sincere welcome, where things were so smoothly organised, and where everything came so nicely together as at the Butiama Beach hotel. From the pickup at the airstrip, to the welcome by the owners Maura and Morris, to the lovely rooms so thoughfully put together to provide you with everything you need, to the staff making sure you were comfortable all the time (but without you feeling "waited" on), from lovely breakfasts to beautiful dinners and the most spectacular experience of swimming with whalesharks (your staff are so professional!), the BBQ lunch on a secluded beach, superb snorkling, lovely lazy afternoons on the beach by the hotel or in a hammock - you have provided us with nothing short of an amazing weekend get away that I'll recommend to everyone, especially my colleagues and friends here in Dar. If you really have to find any faults with this place then the only minor thing is that it would be great with a bigger fan in the rooms - other than that I seriously doubt you'll find any "I wish" from guests except that I'm sure everyone who stays with you will wish they could stay forever...!!
Thank you so much for creating such a wonderful, intimate and personal hotel where you truely make your guests feel welcome and well taken care off from the moment they book untill they are back home. We hope to come visit you soon again...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Our stay at Butiama Beach was one of the best holidays we've ever had. Beautiful, brand new resort, with tasteful aesthetics that blend perfectly with the natural environment. Amazing beach just one step out of our bungalow (*and I say that coming from Greece, where we do have beautiful beaches). Great food every single day. And of course the service - the owner, Maura, has done a really great job with that. The personnel where always helpful and smiling. I would say Butiama Beach has all the standards of a five-star resort, adjusted to fit a natural environment in an eco-friendly way.
Although Mafia is considered to be a "scuba diving paradise" we had an excellent and unforgettable time without scuba diving. Every day we had boat trips, picnics on different beaches, snorkeling and visits to the local villages. 6 days passed in an instant, wishing that we had 6 more at Butiama... We would definitely go back one day. It was a holiday to remember.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butiama Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butiama Beach

Address: Msufini, Kilindoni | PO Box 47, Mafia Island 0202020, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Mafia Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mafia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience true relaxation with us at Butiama Beach. Our unspoiled location in a tropical palm grove on the beach has everything you need to unwind, let go, and be yourself. Watch the whale sharks come to feed as the morning sun glints on the turquoise surface of the Indian Ocean. Sail to a pristine sandbank in a traditional dhow, snorkel and dive at some of the richest reefs in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butiama Beach Hotel Mafia Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butiama Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.