We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and last experinced center for divers and fishers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Blu Mafia Island Diving Center

Big Blu Mafia Island Diving Center
Utende, Chole Bay, Mafia Island 00000, Tanzania
+255 787 474 108
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Diving center in Mafia Island at Utende beach inside marine park. Padi courses, sea excursions, land excursions. Equipmment rent, italian and british speaking instructors and guides.Bungalows rent on the beach with private bathroom.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“First and last experinced center for divers and fishers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

i liked they do have more equipmetnt for diving and fishing and ally i sthe best fisher man in the mafia island

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    31
    1
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good dive shop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

They were knowledgable and took great care of us. The dive locations were gorgeous. Mafia is a MUST go if your a diver.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very professional diving center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed 5 days in Mafia, in a lodge very close the Big Blue. I did a dive with Big Blue, a snorkeling excursion. But what is indeed an incredible experience is the visit to the whale sharks. Swimming with these giants of the sea is something everyone should experience once in life! The staff of the Big Blue is indeed highly professional, very kind and always supportive. The equipment is very good, and prices are lower than in other dive center we used in Mafia. I definitely suggest to plan your diving with Big Blue.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just perfect, very professional and welcoming people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Me and my son dove for 3 days with this dive centre. I can say that dive centre are very unequal as a matter of empathy, welcoming and most important thing professionalism.
They whet just perfect. We dove with Daniel and Moise. Daniel did the refreshing with us, very slowly and conscientiously (even though I dive since more then 40 years, my son was with me and it permits ourselves to see how people behave all together.
Moise is amazing finding the smallest things to see. Nudibranch, leaf fish and even some microscopic cleaning fish with a magnifying glass! Under water!
They install everything for us for the 2 dives and also carry everything. Pure holidays.
When there is wind after the dives the pull up the sail. Pure happiness ...
When we where there most of the divers where Italians. Because some instructors are Italians themselves. But they speak very good English. Anyhow I like Italian company!
Don't forget to leave tips. They completely deserve it!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great diving and a great dive centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Thanks to Daniel and Allessandro for a great day of diving around Chole Bay. Superb equipment, an excellent dive shop, 2 cool dives and a really nice relaxed atmosphere all day. Especially heading back to the beach on our beautiful Dhow under sail which was so tranquil and idyllic after a full day’s activity.

Guys, we hope the puppies are doing fine!

Dave & Bruna.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Blu Mafia Island Diving Center also viewed

Mafia Island, Pwani Region
Mafia Island, Pwani Region
 
Mafia Island, Pwani Region

Been to Big Blu Mafia Island Diving Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Blu Mafia Island Diving Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.