We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santos Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Santos Express to your Saves list
Santos Express
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Munro Road | Santos Beach, Mossel Bay, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

You definitely have to stay in a train for the night, once in your life. I am not sure if you should do this in Mossel Bay. The town is extremely boring and not much to do. The bar is funny and a place to meet nice locals, have some food and a drink. Staff is very Friendly. The weather was freezing and no heating in the train.. Pretty horrible.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    45
    23
    16
    15
See reviews for
13
46
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calitzdorp
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I am a Senior International Travel Specialist and work for Harvey World Travel. It was my annual holiday and I was looking forward to a break from my hectic corporate environment. I decided to try out the Santos Express, before I left for my main holiday in Europe with friends. I did not know what to expect for R175.00 per night. Well I was pleasantly surprised in a good way. The staff were absolutely friendly and amazing. Debbie and Dolf were most professional and one can see why they are employed in the profession that they are in. Justin the waiter was very professional and helpful he always has a smile and good word to say. My accommodation was booked in a single coupe, and seeing that it was a very quiet time of the year Tania upgraded me to a double compartment. The bedding was clean and the compartment spotlessly clean. I had the most amazing view of the ocean and the harbour. Regards to the restaurant, the food was great, but the breakfast a bit disappointing and bland. Would I return for another 5 days, yes I would. It is great value for money. Keep up the good work Allan, Debbie and Dolf and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We ( Family of 3 ) stayed in one of the newly added "vintage coaches".
These coaches consists of a King Size bed with space for a coffee table and 2 chairs.The on-suite bathroom consists of a toilet,bath,shower and basin.
There are more than enough packing space for luggage.

Each of the 4 units have a outside area( stoep) overlooking the beach that is about 20m away.
A pathway leads to your own beach access.

Buffet breakfast is included in the price but it basically consists of a selection of cereals,a fruit,toast,coffee/tea and juice only.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The other sleeping coaches is very small and more suitable for backpackers.

Room Tip: Only 2 of the 4 vintage coaches have a sea view. Be sure to choose one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed in the Royal suits which were simply fantastic! We felt like we were in a train and in absolute luxury! I loved that we had our own patio and that we had such easy access to the beach and for such a great price!!!! The shower was awesome (I loved it!) and the view is spectacular. It has a very modest breakfast but as a honeymoon couple traveling the Garden Route this made for a very special experience....inspired me to do a proper train journey someday

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A beautiful location, right next door to the beach. You are sleeping on a train so there's not lots of space but it's clean and it is a unique hostel! The staff were amazing and the lady on reception answered every one of my questions with a smile and helped me book a variety of excursions. Truly a memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were very excited when we arrived and slept two nights in this train. Our compartment had two single bunks with clean and comfortable linen. The WC and showers were also clean with plenty of hot water. The situation so close to this beautiful beach, is perfect. We had a wonderful time here and will certainly come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a compartment with two separate bunks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The "rooms" being in train carriages are obviously very small but clean and all have a sea view. The terrace is great with free wifi. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is included so I would say that this place is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santos Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santos Express

Address: Munro Road | Santos Beach, Mossel Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santos Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodations are in a train parked on a beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Santos Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santos Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.