We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oceans Hotel to your Saves list
Oceans Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Louis Fourie Rd | Voorbaai, Mossel Bay 6550, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Hermanus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is a rather strange set up - a hotel and campus on one property. There was a lot of noise from students, but that was only until about 10.00pm, so not too terrible. The room was average,well equipped, and had a very comfortable bed and good bed linen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
11
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The rooms are very basic and average, the breakfast is expensive and of poor quality. The bar couches were in a filthy broken state, cockroaches in the bar area. We ordered a meal with our host/barmen (Cooper) who was more interested in playing pool than looking after his guests or bar area. Quality of the food BAD!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have to be honest, I feel a little better about this hotel now after we have left, because of the great follow up service, but honestly our stay here was plagued by disappointment the second we stepped in the door. From inconsiderate hotel guests to very unhelpful check in staff I would honestly stay somewhere else next time. Not in the best of areas either, but that was definitely rectified by the dinner we had at the Sea Gypsy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I don't write reviews only when I complain. I wirite reviews if its bad or good. The beds in this hotel were horrible. There were cockroaches everywhere. There wad no free WiFi. Choose another place if you have an choice. Note: this the same hotel as Boland park, or work together.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I don't write reviews only when I complain. I wirite reviews if its bad or good. The beds in this hotel were horrible. There were cockroaches everywhere. There wad no free WiFi. Choose another place if you have an choice.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Hotel

Address: Louis Fourie Rd | Voorbaai, Mossel Bay 6550, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Oceans Hotel we offer warm hospitality holiday accommodation; well-priced hotel rooms, family orientated self-catering cottages, chalets & villas. Business networking, events and conferencing options are available at low cost. This is an ideal stopover between Cape Town (392 km) and Port Elizabeth (396 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Oceans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.