We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location we have stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Point Hotel to your Saves list
The Point Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best location we have stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Right on the shore. You can hear the waves and feel the water spray. Splendid. Must choose a room on the higher floor overlooking the ocean.

Rooms are a little run down and cleanliness could be improved.

Very good breakfast and friendly staff. Over all a good experience

Room Tip: must choose higher floor over looking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and comments received. We welcome all feedback whether it be positive or negative as this is our opportunity to improve our service levels. We are glad to hear that your experience was a good one!
Warm regards,
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    50
    32
    11
    9
See reviews for
23
53
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The location is great and right on the beach. Most of the rooms that have million dollar views of the Indian Ocean, but the and rooms are very average...even a bit shabby. The glasses in our room were dirty and the ventilator in the bathroom didn't ventilate anything. Even the breakfast was less than appetizing.

Room Tip: I would recommend looking for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at The Point Hotel.
We appreciate all comments, whether negative or positive, to ensure that we improve all our standard levels.
Warm regards,
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had booked and paid for two nights, we stayed for one and wouldn't have stayed at all but I was tired from driving. Mould growing on curtains, paint peeling off the walls, mirror was rusty and dirty looking and rude reception staff. It is beyond me how this hotel got 4 stars and how anyone could give this terrible hotel a good review. The only positive about this place is Wilbur the bar man who made a lovely cocktail.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at The Point Hotel.
Our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we do however confirm that we appreciate the comments, negative or positive to enable us to improve on all levels required.
Warm regards,
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The rooms in this Hotel provide for the most romantic and scenic view of the ocean one can possibly ask for. However, what makes the experience a little less exciting is the quality of the rooms. The rooms are quite old and fittings a bit dingy. Though from a location perspective, the hotel is located quite close to the restaurants and that puts one in a good place.You can go for this property if you are staying in Mossel Bay for a short time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate all negative and positive comments to ensure improvement on service levels and product quality at The Point Hotel.
Warm regards,
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Punt Hotel Dec 2013. The location of the hotel is stunning, but the hotel is very old and not at all a 4 star hotel. The glass sliding door in our room was broken (couldn't lock) and when I reported it I received a 'lecture' from a staff member on how to operate a sliding, which was very funny. Needless to say, that sliding door is probably still broken. A 3 star hotel at best.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback with regards to The Point Hotel.
We appreciate all comments whether negative or positive to ensure that improvements are made with regards to service levels or maintenance of the hotel.
Warm regards,
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here 1 night during the Garden route trip. My room had an awesome view of the ocean from the balcony. The room was spacious and clean. The staff are very friendly and very welcoming! Breakfast with the view of the ocean was one of the highlights!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback. Our unique location coupled with friendly, warm service remains our criteria for ensuring your perfect stay.
Warm regards,
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent a night at The Point Hotel and I have to say how surprised I am by the previous reviews. Yes, the views are wonderful but I would never stay here again or in Mossel Bay for that matter. I travelled with a friend from Australia to drive the Garden Route. We chose Mossel Bay and we booked separate rooms. His had no views of the ocean but rather looked over a car park. Mine had the spectacular ocean views but the balcony was filthy and the furniture broken. The room was in need of an upgrade, the shower was either cold or hideously hot. The restaurant staff did everything they could to ensure our meal was fine but the food was ordinary and the whole place seemed disorganised. They were putting quite a deal of pressure on us to have ordered and eaten by 9.30pm and this was in peak holiday season.

Next to the hotel is a car park and around 1.30am young guys started scretching their tyres and doing wheelies. They parked their cars by the hotel, opened all four doors of their cars and played rap music at top volume. This went on for over an hour. It was Friday night.

The front desk staff were less than helpful. The internet logged out after every use and was slow. This hotel needs professional advice from a hotel management team. It is not adequate. Mossel Bay is fairly missable as well. We visited some absolutely wonderful places between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth but Mossel Bay was overcrowded with caravan park holiday makers. We could only find four restaurants open despite this being peak season. The traffic was horrendous. We were out of the place early the next morning.

If contemplating driving the Garden route you might like to call in to Mossel Bay but I would chose somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: If you must stay here ensure you get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We appreciate all comments whether they be negative or positive to ensure that we improve on our quality, standard and service levels. Thank you again for the response.
Warm regards,
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel

Address: Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mossel Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Garden Route and superbly positioned on the rocks below Mossel Bay’s famous St Blaize Lighthouse, The Point Hotel offers 52 sea-facing, en-suite rooms each with a private balcony which guarantees stunning sea views over the Indian Ocean. The Lighthouse Restaurant serves sumptuous breakfasts and offers a diverse a la carte menu which specializes in Mossel Bay’s famous seafood. A huge tidal pool in front of the hotel offers safe bathing, whilst surfers can enjoy one of the best surfing venues on the coast line including internationally renowned Inner and Outer Pool. The Point area boasts with six diverse restaurants – all with spectacular sea views of the Indian Ocean - and is a great place for families to stroll around and enjoy the summer sunshine and fresh ocean breeze.The unique location of The Point Hotel in an eco friendly environment, combines with professional hospitality to make this a superb choice of venue for the discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Mossel Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.