We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding and enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Point Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Point Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Mossel Bay
Naples, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding and enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our second visit to this hotel and still very good. Absolutely stunning service and the room service menu really of the best. Fantastic views!The personnel and service can be recommended.Always eager to assist and friendly. This hotel is a must if visiting MosselBay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Point Hotel for another stay.

With kind regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
42
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, SA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The location of the hotel is fantastic, so nice to fall asleep with the sound of waves breaking on the rocks. I can see where some of the bad reviews are coming from, but hotels this close to the sea will always have problems. I found the establishment well maintained and clean. Food in the restaurant was good and staff friendly, although they do not have the clinical sharpness I experienced in other top-rated establishments. They will see me again, well done.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea-facing, so no major differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments received. We pride ourselves on our
friendly and warm hospitality. We hope to see you at The Point Hotel again shortly.

with Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
admin@pointhotel.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We live in Mossel Bay, therefor we do not know what the accommodation is like. What we do know is that the Restaurant is one of the (only 3) restaurants in Mossel Bay worth visiting. Tasy, quality food and very good service. Friendly, well trained staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you kindly for your positive feedback on our restaurant. You will be pleased to know we are planning an extension on our menu shortly which I am sure you will enjoy.
With Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

perfect views, sleeping to the sound of the ocean, that´s what makes this place special. the hotel itself is a bit 80´s style, a little makeover would do no harm to this place, but as mentioned above, all possible complaints are nullified due to the view´s and sounds you get in your room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we agree that the sounds of the ocean and views from our rooms are unsurpassed.
With Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very nice view and good breakfast but the price is too much for the quality. Also it is time that the management understands that free wifi Internet connection is expected. It is disappointing to see you have to pay for this service

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
with kind regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena Bay, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

No Aircon. Bathroom falling apart. No servietes at breakfast. No salt in containers at breakfast. Were given salt in packets. Staff in dinning room rude. Confirmed that we wanted ala carte but on arrival were told only buffet available. Previous time we stayed here we had to ask for clean linnen. At least this time the linnen were clean but on its last legs.
Never again at this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments received. We welcome all feedback whether it be positive or negative as this is our opportunity to improve our service levels.

Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great views from room thats all!!!

Revamp is 20 years over due!!! Bathroom falling apart full of mould not very functional!
Bed is more then well used!!! Room needs paint on both walls and ceilings. Fixtures and fittings falling apart.

Poor Value for money!

Staff are very rude at check in and needs to be address ASAP.

1 Star at best!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We thank you for your comments and have noted your subjective opinion.

With thanks
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel

Address: Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Point Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Garden Route and superbly positioned on the rocks below Mossel Bay’s famous St Blaize Lighthouse, The Point Hotel offers 52 sea-facing, en-suite rooms each with a private balcony which guarantees stunning sea views over the Indian Ocean. The Lighthouse Restaurant serves sumptuous breakfasts and offers a diverse a la carte menu which specializes in Mossel Bay’s famous seafood. A huge tidal pool in front of the hotel offers safe bathing, whilst surfers can enjoy one of the best surfing venues on the coast line including internationally renowned Inner and Outer Pool. The Point area boasts with six diverse restaurants – all with spectacular sea views of the Indian Ocean - and is a great place for families to stroll around and enjoy the summer sunshine and fresh ocean breeze.The unique location of The Point Hotel in an eco friendly environment, combines with professional hospitality to make this a superb choice of venue for the discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Mossel Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.