We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 1 Was Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquamarine Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aquamarine Guest House to your Saves list
Aquamarine Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   113 Marsh Street | Mossel Bay, Garden Route, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #9 of 45 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fintry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Room 1 Was Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here 1 night .Absolutely spotlessly clean Good welcome when we arrived and our breakfast was absolutely excellent.Staff very helpful in every way.Would stay here again when back in the area. Unfortunately we could only spend on night this time as we were on a tight schedule

Room Tip: Room 1 was spectacular with a huge balcony with an extensive sea view,even had a high powered telesc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lientjie S, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs B

Many thanks for the great review, we appreciate your kind support !

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Honeymoon Suite and that we could share the beautiful view from the balcony, with you.

Hope to see you again in future !

Kind regards
Lientjie & team
Aquamarine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed just for 1 night during our road trip on the garden route. Beautiful place in a great location, with a beautiful breakfast the next day. I would only say that it was about a 10-15 min walk to the main strip, which didn't bother me as much. Very private, like staying in your own house. Has a great view too - highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lientjie S, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guests

Many thanks for the great review !

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind support.

We look forward to seeing you again in future.

Kind regards
Lientjie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took the honeymoon suite, which was big and comfortable. The room has a beautiful view, and the TV had some good channels. Bathroom was huge and very clean.
The breakfast is too simple, with supermarket toasts and muffins. When you order the eggs and everything else, they offer 2 bread toasts. You get a little portion of fruits mixed in a pot, and artificial juice. There was no wi-fi internet, and the staff woudn't know the price of it, saying it was 50ZAR per hour "or something like that".

Room Tip: Take the honeymoon suite or deal with the noise of the breakfast and the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lientjie S, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your feedback.

Please take note that at this stage Wifi is indeed available on request, at an extra charge of ZAR 50.

Guests are more than welcome to order a second portion of fruit salad, extra eggs or toast, with their bacon and saugages. Also guests are welcome to visit both the buffets, for a second portion of cereals, yoghurt, muesli, muffins, cheese, biscuits, coffee, tea and juice.

We look forward to seeing you again in future !

Kind regards
Lientjie
Aquamarine Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We only stayed for one night as we were participating in a race the next day at Santos beach. We booked one of the entry level rooms. Very nice, beautiful decor and bathroom finishes but hidden more to the back of the property - we wouldn't spend much time at the guest house so it suited us just fine. They very kindly however upgraded us to the honeymoon suite which is VERY spacious. Also stunning decor, large room and patio/deck, massive bathroom. I would have to say this is one of the few places I've been where the actual rooms & property are actually better than the photos on the web. Beautiful breakfast set up, fresh fruit salad, warm breakfast may be ordered and friendly and efficient staff.
This was not the reason for the trip so we don't feel this is really a negative, it's not really within walking distance from the beach - about 5 minutes by car so very accessible to Santos Beach which is a very nice beach by SA standards. Mossel Bay in general surprised us and we will definitely come back here for a visit.
I would say if you were spending more than 1 night, the cost to upgrade to the honeymoon suite is well worth it. It's upstairs, private, spacious - the best! The owner has great taste and a good eye for decorating. Everything from the rooms to the outside garden / pool area is neat and crisp. Views of the entire bay too from upstairs - sea views from the downstairs area but perhaps not from the 'back' room.

Room Tip: Extra R100 odd is worth it to upgrade to the Honeymoon Suite. The 2 front downstairs rooms are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lientjie S, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for the great review ! We appreciate it very much.

Please take note that Santos Blue Flag beach is indeed within easy walking distance (10 minutes). Ask our friendly staff for directions, from the small Western gate, straight to the beach.

We look forward to seeing you again in future !

Kind regards
Lientjie and team
Aquamarine GH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

first class service, excellent breakfast, spotlessly clean, great value, convenient location, extremely helpful and friendly staff. 5 minute walk to beach. swimming pool and terrace. lovely views. parking facility. great bathrooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lientjie S, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear M and family

Many thanks for the great review ! It was a wonderful experience to meet the 5 of you in person.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind support.

Hope to see you again in future !

Best regards
Lientjie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed more than a week in the Aquamarine guesthouse.
We enjoyed the comortable rooms -especially the great beds and the Dstv- and we were lovely nurtured by the whole staff (thanks to Freda once again).I would recommend the room #1 where you've got from your own terrace a stunning view over the whole bay and if you're lucky you can watch the whales in the bay with the guesthouses telescope.
We also met Pieter the hearty owner of Aquamarine. He helped us out of a tricky situation and gave us tons of ideas what to do in the MB area. I think he should become a Mosselbay Tourguide ;-)
Anyway I'm sure the Aquamarine has the best value in whole mosselbay. Great,comfortable rooms and beds. Lovely and helpful staff.And a breathtaking view-what do you need more?

Room Tip: Take Room #1 ;-))
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lientjie S, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear P & C

Many thanks for the great review and compliments !
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, in the Honeymoon Suite and we feel privileged to have met you guys. We appreciate your support and hope to seeing you again in future.

Warm regards
Pieter & Lientjie Swanepoel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A truly great experience for us. Mossel bay was a fantastic place to visit and the accomodation at aqua marine was the icing on the cake...brilliant.
We would recommend this guest house to anyone, with gorgeous views across the bay taking breakfast on the terrace, the room was spacious and modern not to forget very comfortable indeed,all staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lientjie S, Owner at Aquamarine Guest House, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Many thanks, we appreciate your support !
Your kind words are inspiring - we want to serve our guests, with our best.
We look forward to seeing you again in future.
Kind regards
Lientjie
Aquamarine Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquamarine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarine Guest House

Address: 113 Marsh Street | Mossel Bay, Garden Route, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamarine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star accommodation. Centrally located in the main street of Mossel Bay, with secure off street parking behind a remote controlled gate. Within easy walking distance (10 minutes) from Santos Blue Flag beach, supermarkets, restaurants and Bay View Private Hospital. Aquamarine Guest House is an exclusive five bedroom gem, with a fresh modern touch. Free WiFi is available in all rooms, the lounge and dining room. All elegantly furnished rooms have flat screen satellite TV's, luxurious en-suite bathrooms, with double basins, baths & rain showers, as well as patios, with beautiful ocean view, except for 2 side rooms, with limited garden view from their patios only. The spacious Honeymoon Suite has a private balcony, complimented by a magnificent view of the Bay. A delicious full English Breakfast is served on the main patio, at the poolside, or in the dining room, overlooking the picturesque Bay and majestic Outeniqua mountains on the horizon. Whether it's for business or leisure, Aquamarine is ideal for day trips along the Garden Route. Mossel Bay is a convenient half way stop between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth (approx 400 km). We look forward to welcoming you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aquamarine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquamarine Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.