We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect place on the earth-very beautiful. Thank you for all.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Air del Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mossel Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Air del Mar
Save
You added Air del Mar to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   12 Awie Dodd Street | Bayview, Mossel Bay 6520, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Bremen, Germany
1 review
“a perfect place on the earth-very beautiful. Thank you for all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

the house with familiar flair. Very welcoming and kind. Good service. On request there is also Restauranttips nearby. The third time have been in this house. Again and again, very nice. A highlight of our trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
33
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I couldn't have been happier arriving at Air Del Mar!!! A perfect spot for honeymooners and anyone looking for relaxing and breathtaking views of the sea and sunsets, impeccable taste in food and decor, friendly hostess and excellent service... We absolutely enjoyed our stay and would be back in a heartbeat - save for work!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This owner managed guest house right on the beach in Mosselbay offers the the optimum mix of comfort, care, good cuisine and relaxation. The breakfasts are made personally by Susan, with heaps of TLC and are just soooo good! Susan and her hubby are around if you need them and are available to give you info. on the local eateries and attractions, but not' in your face' like some proprietors are. The location is just incredible, you stroll off the lawn on to the beach and into the Indian Ocean! The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need....it is just a stunning place to stay!

Room Tip: Any of the Sea facing rooms are just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

It was the absolute high-end accomodation with the most lovely owners i have ever met. Felt like beeing at home. The view is fabulous and the house is arranged in the best of taste! The breakfast is prepared by the owner herself with tender and loving care. All wishes are respected. There's no better holiday than relaxing on this incredible terrace or being lulled to sleep by the sounds of the sea. I can't wait to get back...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A wonderful location,The most friendly hosts I ever experienced.
Susan, you're a wonderful, remarcable woman.Your hospitality cannot be described.
Your breakfasts were breathtaking.I thank you so much for everything and I sincerely hope I can come back ,one day,
André,Monique and Filip from Belgium

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have just returned from a 2 week trip to South Africa and can honestly say that this was my favourite place that we stayed in. The accommodation is just wonderful - beautifully and stylishly decorated with a fantastic view of the sea. Susan is absolutely lovely, so welcoming, accommodating and helpful. She made us feel so special and relaxed and could not do enough for us. The breakfasts that she served us were magnificent - so beautifully presented!
The location is perfect - a short (5 min) drive from Mossel Bay, right on the beach. We went to sleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the shore and went running on the beach each morning (4 miles or so). I couldn't recommend this place more highly. Thank you Susan for such a wonderful stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
1,193 helpful votes 1,193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Truly hard to believe how nice this B&B really is until you stay here. The website photos simply dont do it justice. Every aspect of this facility is 5 stars and so perfectly well appointed. My wife and I simply can't believe how lucky we were to find this and glad we reviewed TripAdvisor so we could have the chance to stay here. Otherwise we would have never known about this gem of a B&B located right on a magical beach in Bayview, the high end area of Mossel Bay. Actually most of Mossel Bay has no real beaches as the majority of the areas are rocky. But this entire approximately 5 kilometer stretch of beach is completely sand, and clean clean clean. The best of the best. We loved it and if we are ever back in Mossel Bay and this B&B has no vacancies, we would rather sleep in the car than anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Air del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Air del Mar

Address: 12 Awie Dodd Street | Bayview, Mossel Bay 6520, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Air del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience why people say this is paradise in every sense of the word. Everyone who stays at Air del Mar falls in love with its spectacular, unspoiled natural beauty and harmonious, safe and tranquil lifestyle. Owned and managed by Fred & Susan Bezuidenhout for the past 10 years. The bay becomes South Africa's whale nursery between May and November, when the Southern Right whales arrive to mate and calve. Air del Mar offers its guests the opportunity to walk, swim or laze in safety on endless beaches just a few steps away. We are situated right next to the ocean with private stairs down onto the beach. Let the waves lull you to sleep at night. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Air del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.