We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best B&B experience in South Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Air del Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mossel Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Air del Mar
Save
You added Air del Mar to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   12 Awie Dodd Street | Bayview, Mossel Bay 6520, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our best B&B experience in South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were planning to stay one night on our way to Knysna, ended up prolonging just so we could continue experiencing the incredible generosity of Susan and Fred and their wonderful home. Can't wait to go back for a relaxing break, hopefully during whale season. Many, many thanks from Pierre, Nicole, Heather, Matt Alex and Camden!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
33
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I would highly recommend Air Del Mar ! The caring of the hosts was outstanding , made me feel at home . The accommodation was extremely comfortable, with everything i coudl need at hand.
The decor was really beautiful and the location was WOW - on the beach with the sound of the sea lulling one to sleep.
Breakfast the next morning especially the coddled eggs was delicous and very well presented.

I will certainly tell all my Guests about Air Del Mar in Mosselbay.
Elizabeth
Elizabeth's Guest House Bloubergstrand

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was absolutely the best place we stayed in South Africa. Our hosts were so wonderful and sweet. Susan made absolutely sure that we were comfortable, well-fed (by her delicious breakfasts), and had all the reservations we needed to stay occupied during the day and evening. The house is breath-taking and we were upgraded to the stunning oceanview room. Thank you so much for our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and it was wonderful. The room was lovely, the house too, the views from our room added to the tranquility and the breakfasts were very special. So much attention to detail also made us feel very welcome. Susan you were the best host in South Africa, ably supported by your staff and by Fred.
If we come back to SA again, you will certainly be on the top of our priority list. We will also strongly recommend others to stay at your lovely Guest House.
Thanks again for such a special memory of our trip to SA.
Carole and Michael

Room Tip: The room we had with a sea view was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

All we can say is WOW...WOW...WOW. We found a piece of paradise coupled with so much hospitality and friendliness...its to DIE for. W spend our honeymoon at Air Del Mar and we can in all honesty say weve been there, expereinced and lived our honeymoon. Apart from being breathtaking, serene and beuatiful it took our breath away. Susan you are a hostess of note and the most friendliest person we've ever came across. you made us feel home and made our honeymoon a great experience to always remember. Thank you and ...we'll be back sooooooooooon.

From: Jayson & Audrey Kleinschmidt

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siegburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We were on a road trip through Southafrica for a month when coming to Mossel Bay and drove past Air del Mar by chance! And we are so happy we stopped!
I cannot put into words how stunning this place is. You have to experience it. It's the most beautiful house I have ever seen! Susan did everything to make us feel at home and we did! So much that we decided to stay longer than we had planned! Her sweet spirit, her insanely stunning decoration, the a.m.a.z.i.n.g. breakfast, the view....everything was PERFECT! We loved every second of it and would go back anytime!
Nadia & Eddy

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Nice people, beautiful place, we were very satisfied. It was the best place, where we stood in SA.
If I will be back in MosselBay, I`ll visit this place again.
Great Thanks!

Viliam

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Air del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Air del Mar

Address: 12 Awie Dodd Street | Bayview, Mossel Bay 6520, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Air del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience why people say this is paradise in every sense of the word. Everyone who stays at Air del Mar falls in love with its spectacular, unspoiled natural beauty and harmonious, safe and tranquil lifestyle. Owned and managed by Fred & Susan Bezuidenhout for the past 10 years. The bay becomes South Africa's whale nursery between May and November, when the Southern Right whales arrive to mate and calve. Air del Mar offers its guests the opportunity to walk, swim or laze in safety on endless beaches just a few steps away. We are situated right next to the ocean with private stairs down onto the beach. Let the waves lull you to sleep at night. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Air del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.