We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Gourmet and Upscale Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Gannet

Cafe Gannet
Old Post Tree Square | 1 Market Street, Mossel Bay, South Africa
044 691 3738
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 43 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Affordable Gourmet and Upscale Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I had a delicious meal at Cafe Gannet this evening after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We had originally planned to go to Fynbos because it is rated # 1 on Trip Advisor, but they are closed on Sundays. Oh well, you snooze you lose. In any event, no great loss because the food and service at Cafe Gannet is superb. I can't imagine Fynbos being much better. My wife and I can both recommend the Sole.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    111
    27
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice central restaurang with pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Good restaurang with both pizzas and regular menues, both inside and outside dining. Many guests when we were ther.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botswana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great restaurant and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Fantastic food and a wonderful waiter who could not do enough for us. Would definitely recommend it and we will be back on our next visit. Wonderful views of the beach and harbour and a great hotel. I had seafood and it was superbly cooked and my husband had kingklip which was mouth watering.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Challans, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The food was excellent with good service. It is a quite large restaurant but we arrived early before it got too busy. Great views over the harbour.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good service but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

It doesn't look much from outside but inside there is an impressive restaurant. We had to sit near the front so missed out on the atmosphere but our waiter Carl was great, really friendly and attentive to our needs. It was the best food we have had in SA so far my husband had the Tuna Steak and said it was excellent. I had grilled sole which was very good. At the end we were a little rushed but all in all an enjoyable experience however it was double the price of anywhere else we have eaten

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gannet also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Gannet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Gannet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.