We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Gannet

Cafe Gannet
Old Post Tree Square | 1 Market Street, Mossel Bay, South Africa
044 691 3738
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 43 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The menu is diverse and you can have everything from a gourmet pizza to an amazing piece of meat or fish. Easily amongst the better places I had the privilege of eating in.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineShippen, Owner at Cafe Gannet, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Craig
Many thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Cafe Gannet.
The privileged is all ours, thank you for dining with us!
We sincerely hope that you will be back to try some more of the menu variety soon.
The Gannet TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    110
    26
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A popular and cozy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had an excellent dinner at Cafe Gannet. Do make a reservation. The place fills up in no time after 7pm.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineShippen, Owner at Cafe Gannet, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Many thanks for choosing to dine at our restaurant.
I am delighted to hear that you had a good dinner.
Thank you also for sharing your travel tip, I do hope that you had a nice table.
Enjoy your travels and please stop in if you are ever in SA again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Make Them #1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This place rocks. I love frequenting this restaurant. The staff are always helpful and Management are always involved and ready to help. The atmosphere is great and only beaten by the food.

Keep it up guys!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George
1 review
“The best fish dishes on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

My wife and I had supper at Café Gannet. I ordered a modest fish dish and I have to say it was simply the besty fish I have ever enjoyed in a restaurant. The texture, flavor and preparation were flawless.
The restaurant has a pleasant ambiance and the staff are super-friendly and efficient. I enjoyed the decor and the views of the Mossel Bay harbor. There si a huge lawn outside the main dining area where you can smoke or kids can run around.
Super value for money, and if you like fish - just go there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosselbaai, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A special place to eat and relax!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The best restaurant in Mosselbay! Food is delicious en well presented - the Black mushroom starter and Kingklip in phyllo are the best! Some had pizza and loved the crust. Even the Sushi!
Excellent service with relaxed atmosphere in front of fireplace. Looking forward to opening of Oyster bar for cocktails and have with best seaviews!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gannet also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Gannet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Gannet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.