We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nyaru Private Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nyaru Private Game Lodge to your Saves list
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R 328, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place with outstanding staff and an oasis of calm away from the stresses of urban living. The food was excellent. The owners went out of their way to make us welcome and provide brilliant service. The highlight must have been coming face to face with the Rhino in a secure setting. The Quad bike safari was also well worth it.

Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Everything that needs to be said has been said in previous reviews but we would like to say a massive thank you for the help and hospitality we received from Elmarie & Ruan after a very close encounter with Fabian!!! We loved it here but had only booked one night due to time restraints. If we return to Cape Town in the future we will definitely stay again but for more than one night. Thanks again and all best wishes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was THE BEST place we've visited during our honeymoon in the Garden Route! The staff at Nyaru Game Lodge was so friendly, helpful and welcoming, we almost felt like part of the family! Everything that Nyaru Game Lodge has to offer is just wonderful, the game drive, the beautifully decorated room, the yummy snack platter we got when we arrived, not to mention all the effort put into the food! Value for money! :) I really wish we could have stayed longer! But you will definitely see us again!*

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was a really nice experience.We have been on a weeks safari to Kenya in the past but it was no better than the couple of nights we enjoyed here.Lovely people,nice atmosphere,good food.
If you stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My family and I just spent the long weekend 21 Sept - 24 Sept 2013 at Nyaru Game Lodge. We were welcomed by Elmarie and Chris who made us feel right at home and were always available to assist with anything we required. The accommodation and food was excellent and we were very impressed with the knowledge the guides had of the animals on the reserve. We had a very relaxing weekend and will definitely be going back asap. The venue and accommodation were neat and tidy and the staff friendly and helpful. This is definitely value for money and the perfect environment to relax and have an enjoyable rest/holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were choosing between staying at Nyaru or Bottlierskop Reserve, which is 30 min away. We are so happy that we chose Nyaru! No comparison! We visited Bottlierskop for a horse and elephant rides, so we can compare. Ruan who welcomed us at Nyaru was very helpful. Although the dinner hasn't started yet, he asked his cooks to prepare a snack for our hungry kid, which was much appreciated.
The place is gorgeous - completely isolated, beautifully decorated, extraordinary comfortable (even with electric blankets and heaters, much appreciated during August winter nights). We stayed in a two-story chalet with warthog tusks doorknobs, antelope skin on the wall, coffee in the room, and a private backyard with a fireplace that we enjoyed under the stars. The food - a 3 course meal - was extraordinary, even for our multiethnic tastes. The service was impeccable. A home-made fudge was waiting for us on our beds at night.
At breakfast, a rhino named Fabian strolled right in front of our table on the terrace, and we watched him while enjoying our coffee. When we were leaving, Ruan gave us beautifully packaged cookies for the road.
This place is the closest to the real wilderness you will find in the Garden Route, and the hospitality we experienced was incomparable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

From the moment you reach the gates the service is SUPERB. The owners and managers were amazing. It was my Birthday and they made it so special, it felt like home.The Quad bike safari was absolutely fantastic! We were so sad to leave! Thank you Chris, Elmarie, Ruan , Gi-Gi and Fabio for making our stay memorable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nyaru Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyaru Private Game Lodge

Address: R 328, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nyaru Private Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from George Airport, travellers will delight in a safari experience set right in the heart of the Garden Route. The perfect accommodation for guests travelling through Mossel Bay, Nyaru Game Lodge offers warm hospitality and a sumptuous sleep in a selection of picturesque thatch-roof chalets set around the main lodge. Relax and regenerate in a single bedroom chalet or family chalet. The ideal romantic hideaway for couples, the one-bedroom chalet is equipped with a queen-size double bed, a single bed and an en-suite bathroom. Catering to families of four, the double-story Family Chalet boasts a main bedroom equipped with a queen size bed, single bed and en-suite bathroom while the upper level houses a second bedroom with two single beds. While guests are treated to a delicious breakfast in the morning, Nyaru's stunning African restaurant will delight tummies looking for delicious, traditional South African dinners. Serving mouth-watering fare as well as a great selection of wines, toast your toes in front of the roaring fire and fill your belly with Nyaru's delicious dishes.Guests seeking adventure will get their kicks with Nyaru Game Lodge's array of fun, family-friendly activities. Offering exciting 4x4 safaris as well as horseback tours and quad bike safaris, guests will be escorted by a Nyaru ranger and taken around the bushveld where 17 different species of game and wildlife roam free. Boasting giraffe, zebra, impala and more, safari-seeking guests will delight in Nyaru Game Lodge's special wildlife tours. Last but not least, those looking for a tres romantic evening can enquire with Nyaru about sun- downer picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Nyaru Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nyaru Private Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.