We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Lolla !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of C the View Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added C the View Guesthouse to your Saves list
C the View Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   277 Kusweg Road | Tergniet, Mossel Bay 6525, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 45 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Muenster, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thanks Lolla !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed one night (only...) in the Guesthouse. The service and the hospitability of Lolla and Abraham is excellent. Yes, there are no restaurants nearby, but we got a perfect recommendation for dinner just 10 mins by car away (Transkaroo). And: We are still talking about the breakfast with view on the beach and the dolphins passing by !

Thanks Lolla and Abraham for everything you did to make our stay remarkable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda R, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hi Juergen

Thanks for staying at Ctheview Guesthouse.

It was a please to spoil you!! We hope to see you again.

Ctheview Greetings
Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
85
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very friendly welcome, great lounge areas. Room was neat & tidy, a bit cramped though. Balcony & view perfect, loved the personal touch at breakfast. Service was very friendly & helpful, breakfast was fine, more options would be great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda R, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Marius

Thanks for staying at Ctheview Guesthouse for the wedding and for your
response.

Unfortunately the bride locate the rooms for the guests as you were in a group booking
for the special price of R300 pppn (normal price for the room you locate R500 pppn).

This is one of the Standard rooms and is not as spacious as our luxury rooms.

Although we didn't serve breakfast from a menu but a full 3 course breakfast of fresh fruits, cereals and bread, warm food and select filter coffee and juice, we hope to spoil you again in the future.

Regards
Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Me and my family had a wonderful experience at “C The View”. We found the rooms to be of high standard and the view of each room overlooks the ocean. The breakfast we received the next morning was excellent and would satisfy anyone’s appetite. It is as they say, you arrive there as strangers and leave as friends… I would definitely recommend “C The View” to anyone looking for accommodation this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda R, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Alwyn

Thanks for you and your parents staying with us.

It is always a great pleasure to be surround with such friendly and
positive guests.

We hope to see you soon again.

Regards
Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

it was my wife's birthday and I wanted to ensure that she wakes up in a great setting. C the View offered a beautiful room and Melinda has gone out of her way to accommodate our needs. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the combination of fresh fruit and yogurt was memorable. I can recommend this guesthouse without any reservations.

Room Tip: Check the visuals on the website to pick your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda R, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Francois

Thanks for choosing Ctheview to celebrate your wife's birhtday.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and believe you will spoil her again
on such special way.

Regards
Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We booked this guest house because of the great location and we thought we would need some inspiration after a long day of work. Because of that long day of work, we arrived only after 6 but were met by a very helpful young man who showed us around and took us up to our room. Were not disappointed with the amazing sea view – and the sounds of waves crashing on the beach!
The guesthouse however did not live up to the great reviews we saw on Tripadvisor – perhaps we just caught them on an “off” day. A few small things, but quite challenging after a long day of workin:
There was only towels for one (we were two in the room), so I have to find the young man to get more towels.
Only half a toilet roll – so I had to raid the guest toilet downstairs as there was no one to assist us.
There was a dirty tray of ash on the stoep, spilling over on the sides.
And then there was the disappointment of breakfast. We had an option for breakfast times – so we booked the earliest : 07:00 – 08:00. When we got downstairs at 7 – everything was still dark. There was no breakfast and no one to be seen. We started carrying down our luggage and waited a while. By 7:15 the young man arrived and he offered to make us a fruit salad. We were part of a cycle tour and had to get on the road to assist our cyclists. So, we could not wait any longer and left without breakfast (for which we paid and not sure if we were refunded as we used a booking site for our booking!).
Also – was a bit annoyed to have to pay for everything – the Jacuzzi, the internet etc. Many rules and regulations! Perhaps charge a bit more and include at least the WIFI!
A great pity – as this guest house is in a stunning location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda R, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Monique

Our sincere apologies on what happened!!

We had a staff crisis that day although it's no excuse for the inconvenience that it caused and for sure not the standard that C the View strive to maintain. Our guests are very important to us and we always strive to walk an extra mile for them as you can see on our reviews. There was a misunderstanding about the breakfast time. We are sorry about this and would gladly fully refund you on this (will contact you for banking details).

We decided that we will include the WI-FI in our room price with immediate effect but unfortunately we can not do the same with the Jacuzzi. The running cost of the Jacuzzi is extremely high due to maintenance and electricity use. Therefore guests will have a option to book it at an additional cost.

We will definitely pay attention to all of your complaints.

Regards
Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasolburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Melinda, we recently did our road trip and stayed there 19 & 20th February 2014, thank you for friendly and helpful staff! Delicious Breakfast and a Stunning view, we can definitely recommend the accommodation

Room Tip: Read the reviews and recommendations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda R, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Amelia

Thanks for staying at Ctheview Guesthouse.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Come again!!!

Regards
Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

great view. clean and well maintained room and premise. friendly and helpful hostess & staff. generally pleasant stay.

the jacuzzi could have been set up in a more private place. the room space is a bit tight and bathroom could have been better ventilated.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda R, Manager at C the View Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Zhao

We are so glad that you enjoy your stay with us !!
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We always welcome any comments to upper our service to our guests.

Unfortunately the jazuzzi is a fixed feature that was planned and installed as part of the original plans of the house before it became a guesthouse. We will look into the option of a room dividing screen, that guests can use as anoption to be more private.

Regarding room space,you have booked a standard room (our smaller rooms), we do have more spacious rooms available at a higher room rate. We already report the extractor fan to our maintenance team (for the ventilation problem in bathroom)

Regards
Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to C the View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C the View Guesthouse

Address: 277 Kusweg Road | Tergniet, Mossel Bay 6525, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — C the View Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
C the View Guesthouse is right on the beach of Tergniet, near Mosselbay in the Beautiful Garden Route, South-Africa! You can literally enjoy the breathtaking view from EVERY room of the house. The view will astonish you from your private balcony! Our warmth, hospitality and genuineness to serve sets us apart from other guesthouses. As one guest said, "I came as a guest and left as a friend" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your C the View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C the View Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.