We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old favourite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cattle Baron

The Cattle Baron
Shop 14b Langeberg Mall Louie Fourie Dve | Voorbaai, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
+27 44 695 0417
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 51 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cattle Baron is a Franchise Company and was established in 1987 in Bellville by Ronnie Dick. Ronnie is still the CEO of the Franchise. We have a number of Steak Ranches, Grill Houses and lately a couple of Bistro's in various town of our country. All the Steak Ranches and Grill Houses are privately owned and operated drawing from the expertise of the Cattle Baron Group. Setting us apart from many other establishments, is that Cattle Baron offers our famous hot vegetables accompanying all our main dishes. Our Policy also extends to our complimentary bread service and no corkage fee. Cattle Baron Mossel Bay is owned by David and Connie Nel since November 2010 and we claim to serve the best meat cuts grilled to perfecton. Our A la Carte Menu has a wide selection of dishes - from meat, to fish, to vegetarian as well as catering for the sweet tooth. We offer a Buffet menu during the week, from WEDNESDAY to FRIDAY lunch. Our senior citizens are treated to a very special price and it is complimented with a glass of wine at a huge discounted price. During Sunday lunch we offer, in parallel with our A la Carte Menu, a Sunday Buffet consisting of 4 meat dishes, a variety of vegetables and starches as well as a dessert or a tasty, healthy soup for the cold days. We can accommodate small business conferences, for up to 30 people with facilities such as WIFI, power point presentations, videos and flip chart facilities. We also do platters for business meetings and office parties as well as private home functions. We have a playroom to keep the youngsters occupied while the adults are enjoying a well prepared meal.
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“old favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arrived in Mossel Bay quite late and didn't want to search for a restaurant so we went where we've never been disappointed... and well done to Mossel Bay's Cattle Baron as they didn't disappoint either! Great staff, great service, friendly manager/owner. Overall VERY pleased!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“For The Meat Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Had a wonderful dining experience at Cattle Baron. Smoked Salmon Rosti starter was amazing and a definate must when you visit. Steak was done to perfection, and the service was good. In life you get what you pay for and this was definately worth the money spend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Busy but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Visited for lunch on Sunday before an afternoon flight from George. Cattle Baron was busy as the buffet lunch was being served. We ordered the chateaubriand - it was absolutely lovely, cooked to perfection. As with so many other restaurants in South Africa the chips were not great!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very poor service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We waited over an hour for the wine, then the food! Prawns tasteless.Salad was acceptable, Pork was OK We had to ask for Ice!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never had problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We've been there more than once, and we had good service and food every time! They really try to enhance the atmosphere with something like special music, flowers, little gifts, etc.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cattle Baron also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to The Cattle Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cattle Baron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.