We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mossel Bay Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mossel Bay Backpackers to your Saves list
Mossel Bay Backpackers
1 Marsh Street, Mossel Bay 6505, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Loved staying here for two nights
Clean and looks very cosy
The outdoor looks lovely along with a clean swimming pool.
A very chilled and relaxing place to stay
Breakfast is R40
Bar open till 10pm
8 people to a dorm
Kitchen available to all guests
Would highly recommend

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
25
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Given the prices, this is one of the best backpackers I have stayed at while touring S. Africa. They are located, conveniently, at the end of the main street in sleepy Mossel Bay. There is enough street parking for cars, but no secure parking by the business - so Im taking away a star for that. Safety didnt seem to be an issue though. Decor-wise, it was extremely beachy/ nautical - very nicely done and the place had great sunlight and breezes throughout. The staff (especially the manager guy) were extremely friendly and fun to deal with. They charge a R100 key deposit - which is refunded in full at check out. We stayed in the dorm style rooms - and had one communal bathroom. Ive stayed in places that had 2-3 common bathrooms. However, there wasnt an instance when the bathroom was occupied when I needed it. Very cute pool area - and also a mini bar to purchase drinks from. One of the cutest backpakers Ive stayed at - and would very highly recommend!

Room Tip: Dorm style rooms, although lacking in privacy, are a great way to save money - especially if you wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed in a twin room at Mossel Bay Backpackers after Santos Express (where I'd actually booked) had overbooked and re-booked me in here. It was a very quiet night when I was there. The guy on reception (sorry I didn't catch his name!) was really friendly and very helpful - he really set a good tone about the place. When we were there, the pool was being cleaned, but that was ok because it was late when we arrived and were leaving early next morning. The room was comfortable - the beds were more what you expect in a hotel rather than a hostel. The communal bathroom was never too busy (but the hostel seemed half empty) but it did have a lot of water all over the floor when I went in there. Overall, a pretty decent hostel in a nice town. But not the place to go if you want vibe and atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Only stayed for one night but the facilities were kept very clean, the staff was very friendly and informative, and the hostel itself was in a great location. They have a pool table and brochures for just about everything you can do on the Garden Route. There is not a lot to do in the town but at night we walked to a pretty cool Cuban bar down the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Got upgraded to a private room when we arrived which was a bonus; lovely room very comfy beds. The dorms looked pretty good as well. Bathrooms were really clean and the kitchen was well equipped. Staff were nice and the location was good for heading to The Point. Mossel Bay itself however is quiet and one night was definitely enough. Beautiful place though :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The hostel is located pretty close to everything you'd want in Mossel Bay - close to the point (ocean views, food, spectacular lighthouse) and town (there are a few good cafes within a few blocks). This was the best part of the place.
The actual hostel though is a bit loud (the walls seem quite thin). And our room smelled like urine - it was clean, but there must be some sewage pipe or something close by making the stay somewhat unpleasent. We were also disappointed that the off street parking was only for guesthouse customers and not for the backpackers.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We went to Mossel Bay in the winter so it was a little bit of a sleepy town. However, Mossel Bay Backpackers has a extensive list of activities you can do while staying in the area. The great thing is, the staff has done all of the activities. It isn't a guess on what you are going to experience, they know first hand!

Location -

Mossel Bay is pretty small. But the backpackers is really close to the point (five minute walk). A grocery store is about a 7 minute walk away and their are several pubs in the immediate area as well.

Staff -

Staff is very chill! Really helpful with anything you need to know and always there to great you with a smile.

Cleanliness -

The hostel is really clean by hostel standards. The blankets aren't old and worn out, the common areas are kept clean, and the showers/bathroom are clean as well.

The only down side was the hot water was hit and miss. The hostel was pretty much completely full so I think this may have contributed. If you showered outside the morning hours of 8 - 930, you would catch some hot water.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mossel Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mossel Bay Backpackers

Address: 1 Marsh Street, Mossel Bay 6505, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aaah, The Bay of Diamonds. So called for the sea that shines night and day, this bay is so scenic you won't be able to close your eyes at night. But if you do, come try our vibrantly upgraded backpackers! Run by two brothers raised in this very backpackers, we know what it’s about, whether sea salt, tequila or an adrenaline shot, you'll get your fix here.Mossel Bay Backpackers proudly offers the best of a 3rd World country:Situated next to one of SA’s most consistent surf spots, so GET WET!Cooking with a view! We have stylin’ Sea view self service kitchen,In-house restaurant serving home cooking or traditional meals and braais from our fancy Chef, come hungry and settle in around the fire with local live musicians.So your mother is gravely worried about her Precious Flower in wild Africa, well keep in touch via FREE wifi and PC facilities. Loads of advice on everything from surf tides to girl hides.Pool table, foosball and fully functional sleepers bar, like uh.. Fully bru.Ensuite doubles overlooking the swimming pool.Please book in advance, so we can organise you nice weather! Much love.. Management x ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Mossel Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mossel Bay Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.