We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Gypsy Cafe

Sea Gypsy Cafe
Church Street, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
+27 44 690 5496
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 44 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Pub, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not really good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014 NEW

To keep it short. We had late lunch at sea gypsy... The waiter was really nice. But the food was not good at all. We travelled a lot trought SA but we never had so bad seafood than at this place.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    55
    19
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alberton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If it is about the view, eat on the beach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 NEW via mobile

It will certainly be cleaner and way cheaper. We were not impressed by the oily food or the hygiene. My wife and I both had runny stomachs after our meal there. Great place for having a party but not a great dining experience at all

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kineton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 NEW

We visited this cafe on the harbour for lunch. Setting is very informal, wooden tables under a marquee with gravel underfoot. There are also tables and a bar inside.

The menu consists of steakhouse dishes and a lot of seafood. Deep fried, greasy seafood. I certainly expected more from a restaurant situated by a harbour.
The place was busy as it is holiday season, but certainly not my cup of tea as i prefer fresh seafood that is not dripping in oil.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi sorry you did not enjoy. Very difficult to keep high standards in this busy period.
Thank you for your comments.
Kind regards Colin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great restaurant ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 NEW

Been here twice in one week. Setting is casual, typical of a seaside restaurant. Service is prompt and very vriendly. Food is of good standard. I will be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Great thank you.

Colin .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nearer the sea you cant get!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Old rustic "bungalo/shack"
" but food is out of this world! Always fresh, the servers knowledgeable and accomodating. Your mussels and oysters gets hauled out of the sea in front of you-lovely view across the bay with the sea lapping against the side of th restaurant-a must when you visit Mossel Bay.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanitaTrebla, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for great review.
Kind regards Colin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Gypsy Cafe also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Sea Gypsy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Gypsy Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.