We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Botlierskop Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
GET 30% OFF DINNER B&B
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montagu, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

It's been some years since my last visit, and it was great to visit this beautiful property. Relaxing game drive with very informed guide, sumptuous dinner, great sleep. Best for me this round was the attentive staff - from arrival to departure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear PJ

Thanks so much for your comment. So glad to have hosted you again.
We are looking forward spoiling you some more during your next visit

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    68
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
101
253
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Botlierskop for one night as part of our Garden route road trip for our Honeymoon. From the moment we got there we felt at home. The staff was friendly and very helpfull.The tented camps are amazing and very secluded. The food was very good. We did a horse back safari which was a great experience. We will definitely visit again, next time with family and friends and for at least 3 days!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Nell-Marie

Thanks so much for your wonderful comment and so glad you could make your honeymoon an unforgettable one.
We are looking forward hosting you and your family and friends in the near future - please keep in touch to get our special offers.

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

During our honeymoon we spent 2,5 days at Bolierskop. It was the highlight of our entire journey (we were lucky to stay one week in Southafrica and one week in Mauritius).
We stayed in one of the luxury tents. This really is something different. The tents are located close to the river, ours was set amongst the trees, we nearly had the feeling of being alone with nature. The tents are very elegant. There is a big, very comfortable bed with mosquito net, you have a sitting area, mini bar, coffee & tea facilities, etc. The bathroom is equipped with a deep oval bathtub and there even is an outdoor shower. The tent is built on a wooden deck, there also is space to sit outside. When you are having dinner at the main lodge the staff is coming to the tent and turns on the outside lights, closes the tent windows and as it was cold at night, they even turned on the electric blanket. It was such a good feeling when we returned.
Our tent was within walking distance to the main lodge but especially at night we enjoyed being braught to the tent by golf cars.
Breakfast is very good and fresh, the choice is very delicate. Don't miss the salmon.
Dinner is outstanding, we had a five course menue with soup of the day, a starter we could choose, sherbet, a main course and dessert we could choose. Everything is very tasty and fresh.
The interior of the main lodge is very elegant and appealing. We like the colonial style very much. As it was cold outside in the evenings, we appreciated the big fireplaces, you can also just sit there and have a drink.
The spa offers many arrangements at adequate pricing.
All staff members are very attentive, cordial and helpful.
Game drives are overwhelming, we were lucky to see nearly all of the animals they have.
The property is 30 sqkm large. Of course, there are some fences to protect the animals but you hardly see them and they don't disturb in any way. We have made a lot of pictures and there are no fences on them and you definitely do not have the feeling that you are in a zoo. The reserve is doing a great job in species protection, especially for the Black Impalas, Bontebok and Cape Mountain Zebra.
Our guide was very attentive, friendly and his knowledge about all the animals was very impressive. We learned so much.
Besides the game drive other acitivties such as horseback safaris, cat walks, elephant back rides and feeding, bush trails or fishing are offered. We wished we had more time to enjoy more of these acitivities but at least we are able to do the elephant back ride which was gorgeous.
We highly recommend the game reserve, it's worth a journey, we will definitely come back one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thanks so much for taking the time to right this detail comment. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could contribute in making your honeymoon so special. We are looking forward hosting you again on your one year anniversary!

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Botlierskop is seriously one of the best experiences we have had as a very well travelled couple!! Every touch point is beyond compare, from how you are welcomed by your own guide with your itinery and welcome drinks and snacks, to being transported to the most beautiful luxury tent, where every detail is perfect, from fizz balls for your bath to a electric blankets and night cap of sherry when you get to bed. The game drive was brilliant, seeing all animals at such close rang even though they are free roaming. A truely amazing experience that i recommend to everyone!!!

Room Tip: The luxury tents are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Stacey

Thank you for the wonderful comment. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the finer touches contributed to the experience. We would love to see you back in the near future to spoil you even more!

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

WOW! What a great time we had at this resort. It was our second visit to this game farm and it only got better :) You know how sometimes you visit a game reserve and you feel cheated afterwards? Not here! The game is free to roam the farm (not the lions thought :)).
We went back to our tent (not a fair description - it is luxurious!) and almost bumped into two rhino's that went for a swim in the dam.
On our arrival we saw the African Wild Cat - a rare site and we felt extremely privileged.
The game ranger was excellent!

Room Tip: Any of the luxury or deluxe tent are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Maria

Thanks you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your second visit with us and are looking forward to your 3rd visit to surprise you even more!

Take care
Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I, both elderly pensioners spent 2 days at Botlierskop in mid-winter. The wild animals were free roaming and yet readily seen on game drives with the friendly knowledgeable guide/driver - with numerous photo opportunities. Service was prompt and extremely friendly, even to providing hot water bottles and blankets during the early morning game drives. The tented accommodation was private, heated/air-conditioned, along the river, with electric blankets and all amenities, and readily accessible with the on demand golf cart service. The meals provided a good choice and were of a high quality. We even rode the elephants!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Jan

Thanks so much for your wonderful comment. We are so glad you enjoyed you stay with us and are looking forward welcoming you back next year

Kind Regards
Botlierksop Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Me and my wife visited Botlierskop Private Game Reserve for a short breakaway of three nights. We didn't really know what to expect, but all expectations were totally exceeded! We had a great time, were able to relax and we truly enjoyed our stay. Good food, friendly service and fun activities add to a wonderful experience. We would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Tents in winter is no problem, thanks to air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Martin

Thank so much for the comment left. We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward hosting you in the near future

Kind Regards
Francina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Botlierskop Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Address: Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Botlierskop Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Mossel Bay and George, Botlierskop Private Game reserve offers a great diversity of wildlife with more that 26 different animal species and over 200 bird species. Botlierskop reserve is stretching over 3500 ha of mountains and grasslands. Overnight in luxury tented suites situated close to the river. Each of the 17 air-conditioned luxury-tented suites at Botlierskop is elegantly decorated in a romantic colonial theme with 4-poster beds draped with mosquito nets. The en-suite bathrooms are lavishly equipped with deep baths and an outdoor bush shower with stunning views. The Manor house on the reserve has 7 rooms with views over the plains and good game viewing opportunities. Some rooms has baths and showers some only showers. Activities offered includes, guided game drives, elephant back rides/Walks, horse back safaris, bush walks, walking with lions and spa treatments. Game includes lions, elephants, buffalo's, rhino'giraffes, black impala, zebra and many more. The 2 pools at the lodges are heated and has stunning views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Botlierskop Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.