We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious game reserve experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Save Saved
You added Botlierskop Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIALS ON OFFICIAL SITE
cape town
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Luxurious game reserve experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent two nights at Botlierskop in July- luckily choosing good weather for our winter visit and we had a wonderful stay in one of the luxury tents. The weather would not have mattered to our comfort much, as the tents are air-conditioned and the electric blankets, down duvets and thick faux fur blankets make for cosy sleeping. The tents are located along the river down a steep hill from the main lodge and while we walked to our tent most of the time, there are golf carts available if one feels less energetic. Sitting on the tent verandha watching the waterbuck & nyala and the cheeky vervets was most relaxing.

The warm welcome and hospitality and attention provided by all the staff was superb. The restuarant served up amazing food. Breakfast for R120 gave every option imaginable, with the breakfast cocktails and the venison sausage a highlight. The supper menu is a set menu with homemade breads & pates, soup, three choices for starter/ mains and desserts, rounded off with coffee. The food was delicious and at R230 was reasonable, but I would have liked to have had the choice of a 'lighter" option with fewer courses. We did a lovely morning game drive with a knowledgable ranger, seeing the various buck species, buffalo, rhino, zebra and giraffe, as well as the elephants and lion which are kept separately. The highlight for us however was the 'catwalk' with two 3year old lions. It was managed very well and although we walked and interacted for an hour with the lions, the staff were most responsible and at no stage did we feel any danger or threat from this magnificent predators.

The road to Botlierskop is good ( a short dirt road off the tar) and there is cellphone reception. Rooms are supplied with kettles, hairdryers and a fridge. The receptionist even located me a cellphone charger to recharge my phone!

Botlierskop is also an easy drive to the beautiful beaches between Knysna and Mossel Bay. A day trip to nearby Hartenbos with its funpark and flea market would be recommended in the holiday season for families looking for a busy interlude from the tranquility of Botlierskop. I would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for the tent on the riverbank for better river game viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thanks so much for your wonderful and in detail comment. Much appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay. We really hope to treat you in the near future

Kind Regards
Francina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    46
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
62
157
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
paarl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed over in one of their safari tents looking over the gorge. Their attention to detail was amazing from the welcoming snacks to the vip guest gift for my husband's 30th birthday in our tent!! The stunning bath and outside shower is breathtaking ..... felt so near nature!!!We rode an elephant , got insightful information from the elephant handlers- it is highly recommendable!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thanks so much for your wonderful comment. Glad you we could have spoiled you with the VIP gift. Hope to see you for your 30th birthday as well and many more to come.

Kind Regards
Francina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were looking for a break and have decided to stay at Botlierskop for two days. We had our doubts about the tented accommodation as a cold front moved in from the west, but were we surprised as the comfort of the tents were no diffirent from any other accommodation. We can only describe the tents as the most comfortable and luxurious accommodation we experience in a long time, never mind the most beautiful environment with Knysna Loeries on the deck in full view. The food, service and hospitality were special with a personal touch. We had the most awesome experience by doing the "cat walk", something never to forget. Really a special 2 days to recharge our batteries. Definately recommended and we are looking forward to our next visit. Francois & Mariana Janse van Rensburg

Room Tip: Tent 7 is very quiet and away from the rest with a nice view of the river and antelope grazing in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Francois & Mariana Janse van Rensburg

Thank you so much for your comment. We are so glad you enjoyed our comfortable and luxurious tents as well as the food and all the special touches. We are looking forward hosting you again to recharge.

Kind Regards
Francina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The whole outing we had was very good which included an excellent Safari 3hr. trip.
Unfortunately during our trip I lost my car keys and every effort was made by the staff to make us comfortable.
The guide especially went out of his way and did a repaeat Safari drive with me to try and find the missing keys, but to no avail.
As my only solution was to get a spare key brought all the way from Cape Town, the staff and management went out of their way to make us comfortable until such time as we could depart.
The Safari, the accommodation and all the staff were simply superb and I can highly recommend this venue for either a day or a few days stay.

Room Tip: The tented accommodation is extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Clive

Thanks so much for the comment left
So glad we could assist and even happier that we found the car keys and that it reached you safely.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Francina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My Husband and I received a gift for our Honeymoon and we were given a three day holiday at Bottlierskop. It was amazing, the ambience, the food and the service was excellent. We stayed in the Manor House. The tent style accomodation is outside and will be perfect in Summer however we went in Winter so we preferred the Manor House. The food is very and I mean very TASTY! The service is excellent, staff are very friendly and well trained. I definetly reccomend Bolierskop and I want to go back for one year aniversary.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank so much for the comment left. We are so glad that we were included in your honeymoon and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again for some more tasty food.

Kind regards
Francina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent 2 days at Botlierskop, our first game reserve experience. The staff was very attentive, tents were very comfortable (electric blankets, heater, kettle with tea/coffee, even a hair dryer included) and the food was amazing! My daughter is a vegetarian and they prepared something special for her each night. The elephant ride was great and the walk with the lions was a once in a lifetime experience. We got very close to the animals on the game drives...giraffes, zebras, water buffalos, rhinos, etc...It was very rainy and cold during our first game drive but our guide phoned ahead to the lodge to order hot drinks which were ready when we arrived. We sat near the huge firelplace and warmed up with. We enjoyed seeing the wildlife - especially the monkeys around our tents. We only had a short time to do a side trip from Cape Town and this was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Patty

Thanks so much for your comment. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the hot drinks. We would really love to host you again so hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Francina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Botlierskop is a fantastic big game park experience, 4.5 hours easy driving from Cape Town. It is similar in size to Aquila but has less of a touristy feel. Walks with big cats and feeding elephants is a wonderful (if slightly staged) experience. I would definitely return, the catering is five star, the tented accommodation is very comfortable, even in winter, and private. Had a super massage at the spa. Two tiny niggles: The hot water cylinder in the tents only gives you one hot bath. The rock shandies cost R44.00. Thats quite pricey for a non-alcoholic drink.

Room Tip: Choose a tent, rather than a room in the manor house. Its more private and the bird watching is grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botlierskop, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sir

Thanks so much for the comment and really glad you enjoyed your stay and the experience we have to offer. The geysers are 150 liters with a heat pump system (to save electricity and leave a green footprint). We are considering increasing this to 200 liters. I have checked on the Rock Shandie and the cost is R24. Not sure if you might have misunderstood or if something else was added to the order.
Thank you for your valuable input.
Looking forward hosting you again

Kind Regards
Francina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Botlierskop Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Address: Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Botlierskop Private Game Reserve 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Mossel Bay and George, Botlierskop Private Game reserve offers a great diversity of wildlife with more that 26 different animal species and over 200 bird species. Botlierskop is a 4 star reserve is stretching over 3000 ha of mountains and grasslands. Overnight in luxury tented suites situated close to the river. Each of the 15 air-conditioned luxury-tented suites at Botlierskop is elegantly decorated in a romantic colonial theme with 4-poster beds draped with mosquito nets. The en-suite bathrooms are lavishly equipped with deep baths and an outdoor bush shower with stunning views. Activities offered includes, guided game drives, helicopter flights, elephant back rides, picnic with the elephants and horse back safaris, tea with the elephants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Botlierskop Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.