We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A holiday highlight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Botlierskop Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A holiday highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

What a fantastic place. The tents are amazing, guides really friendly and food very good. There is a really lovely swimming pool which looks over the beautiful surroundings. Had a really good time and really enjoyed the game drive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    53
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
184
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We spent 2 nights in Botlierskop. The adventure already began before we got to the gate of the game reserve as the road leading there were submerged in water. I have been to many places around the world but I must say that checking in to luxury tent with an open air shower which allows you to gaze up into the beautiful starry sky (on a good day, of course) is definitely a place to remember! Even more when it's where my fiance had proposed to me (on our last night in Botlierskop). Anyway, Jurgen was our dedicated and friendly game driver whom really knows his animals! I've never seen or heard of a nyala or a bontebok or the cute lil' dassie (As the africans call these cute lil furry animals). The game drive and 2-horse back riding were my favourite part of the trip. And on rainy days, a trip to the spa is a brilliant idea! Followed by a bowl of warm soup by the fire. 2 things that Botlierskop can improve on are 1. Quality of the food (to us, the food was average and definitely didn't get value for money) and 2. Fire place (the fire should be roaring during the cold winter nights to keep the customers nice and warm when having their meals. Even more so when the dinning tables are situated so far away from the fireplace! Thank God for the blankets)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We only stayed for one night at the Botlierskop game reserve during our tour of the Garden Route. This was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone who is travelling the Garden Route in South Africa. This is camping with a difference! Luxury tents with our own veranda/terrace. The tent has a lovely bathroom area with toiletries supplied and a nice pedestal bath. And there was a shower outside which felt a bit strange at first.
When we arrrived at Botlierskop, we were met with a welcome drink and given that we were a bit late, we had to go on our booked mini-safari just after we got there. . We saw quite a few game animals and of course there was the expected stop to have snacks and sundowners. On our return, we were given a sherry and our luggage was taken to the tent for us via a buggy
The meal in the restaurant was exceptional - 5 courses. You get the opportunity to try different game meats.
There is also an infinity pool and the views are beautiful. The staff were very polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
I would definitely go back there if I go back to the Garden Route.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

On the last day of our SA roadtrip we wanted to try a small game reserve. Now I'm an old hat at safari but at the end of the day it's the place that counts. I had never seen a Knysna Lourie nor a Nyala but both were here! Thank you team and especially Angela for such a great time. You made it seem effortless.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

As a treat I took my mum to South Africa for her 70th birthday. We had 5 nights at Botlierskop and then 4 in Cape Town.
Botlierskop was fantastic! We had a luxury tent by the water and had to pull our way across the water on a floating pontoon to get to our tent at night after being dropped off by a buggy. This was great fun and went some way to burning off the calories consumed in the great restaurant.
We didn't stop charging around in all the time we were there, everything was perfect. The tent, food, staff, the safari's especially the horseback one. My lasting memory however is the stars which were pointed out to us as we were taken back to our tent at night.
I normally find something to complain about, but not here. I only wish I could return with my 4 children!
My

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I cannot say enough about the staff at Botlierskop. We had the best time thanks to the wonderful people making us feel right at home....or better!! The food was fantastic! From the warm towels after the game drive to pool side service and the spa treatment, all was above expectations. We rode horses and took the helicopter ride!! Whatever you can do at Botlierskop, do it with no reservations, you will not regret it!!! I do want to mention Ricardo in this review. He helped in many ways to make the experience that much better! Thank you again!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed at Botlierskop for two nights and had an incredible time. Since we came from Kruger Park, we had already satisfied our need for "real safaris" and mainly came to relax, fish and horseback riding.

These activities were just incredible fun! The riding was excellent, since the horse were very well trained, the guides were really good and we just cantered away through the wild. Fishing was just as well with some really nice bass, carp and catfish.

The lodge is beautifully located in a valley with a romantic river. The luxury tents were in excellent condition and very skillfully decorated (double outside shower!). Food was good, although it did not thrill us as much as in other places. The same holds true for the overall service and atmosphere: we had a wonderful time with our ranger Stuart, but the overall atmosphere is more commercial than family-like (especially compared to our stay at the White Elephant Lodge).

Compared to other places we saw, the safaris in Botlierskop are less "wild". The lions and elephants are tamed and have their own, separated (but big) enclosures. Similarly, the giraffes and rhinos usually stay at their favorite place in the reserve. Thus, a safari trip is less about spotting them but more about driving up to them. Of course, this allows for some great pictures and is fun, nevertheless!

Just to be clear, everything was excellent and we will certainly come back. However, if you are looking for real wilderness or a romantic honeymoon place, there might be even better places. Instead, if you are into riding or fishing or just want to see some great animals close up, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Botlierskop Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Address: Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Botlierskop Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Mossel Bay and George, Botlierskop Private Game reserve offers a great diversity of wildlife with more that 26 different animal species and over 200 bird species. Botlierskop is a 4 star reserve is stretching over 3000 ha of mountains and grasslands. Overnight in luxury tented suites situated close to the river. Each of the 15 air-conditioned luxury-tented suites at Botlierskop is elegantly decorated in a romantic colonial theme with 4-poster beds draped with mosquito nets. The en-suite bathrooms are lavishly equipped with deep baths and an outdoor bush shower with stunning views. Activities offered includes, guided game drives, helicopter flights, elephant back rides, picnic with the elephants and horse back safaris, tea with the elephants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Botlierskop Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.