We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mossel Bay Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Marina Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aqua Marina Guest House to your Saves list
Aqua Marina Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   74 Hill Street | Cbd, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 45 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mossel Bay Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Having stayed at Aqua Marina for a few days in 2009 we did not consider any other location for our base to visit the Garden Route this year. We stayed for 8 days this time and did not regret our choice for a minute. A beautiful well-appointed room. Ample breakfasts with fresh local produce. Great view across the bay - whale watching on some days!. Noel and Alida provided the perfect total pakage. When we go back to SA again this is the first booking on our list.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bacton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night only during our tour along the garden route - we had a very warm welcome from Noel & Alida and we enjoyed their company very much. Alida made us a hearty breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. We ate at a local restaurant recommended by Noel where we had a superb meal and then went back to the guesthouse and enjoyed the rest of the evening in conversation with the owners. Very well done and I would certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed here for one night as part of a trip along the Graden Route. Previous reviews have really said it all - everything was first class - welcome, accomodation and superb breakfast. We ate at a local restaurant with a pick-up service, which made a pleasant change from driving. Noel and Alida are a lovely couple and great team, and we sat late into the night with Noel reviewing some of the finer points of South African wine! We were short of time and didn't see too much of Mossel Bay but it is a very convenient place to stop on a touring holiday, and the Aqua Marina is quite definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

This place is amazing. The house is great, the interiors are amazing, the view is awesome and above all, the hosts are fantastic. Breakfast was gigantic. Alida believes that breakfast should be eaten like a king and stands by her belief in the way she feeds you. I would highly recommend you to stop looking anymore and book this place immediately. Oh also, the beds are fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We were in South Africa for a wedding at a hotel which won 'Best Hotel in the World' whilst we were there. But this B&B comes a very close second!!!

The room was beautiful and clean, with lots of 5* touches like a variety of different towels and toiletries. The food was out of this world - Alida cooks great breakfasts (leave plenty of room for them!) and great hospitality in general. Noel was very welcoming and shared a beer with us on the terrace whilst watching the sun go down. We only had one night there on route but did not want to leave. We would recommend this place to anyone visiting Mossel Bay beyond any doubt.

Thanks for a wonderful stay both, Lucy & Mark

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Unfortunately we only stayed for 1 night at the Aqua Maring guest house in Mossel Bay but could have quite easily stayed for longer! the guest house is lovely and the owners made us very welcome and very extremely friendly.

The rooms were gorgeous with a lovely sea view. The breakfast was the best, I have never had a fruit salad as good with over 10 different fruits made fresh. This then followed with a cooked breakfast freshly tailor made for individual likes and dislikes.

It was a short walk to a few restaurants and bars which was a bit disappointing but a nice stop over on our way to Plettenberg Bay

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Exellent stay!
Our room was better than most 5* hotels - spacious room and even bigger bathroom and seaview from bed and bath for example. Breakfast, made by Alida - stunning and different every morning + very good coffee!
But more important - owners - Noel and Alida are great - not just very attentive and helpful, but they are very interesting people and have great sense of humor!
Thank You again!

We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting fantastic stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Marina Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Marina Guest House

Address: 74 Hill Street | Cbd, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Marina Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star (TGCSA graded) Guest House nestled in a quite cul de sac, overlooking the CBD, harbour and magnificent Bay, with the majestic Outeniqua Mountain range forming the back drop. Our luxury bedrooms offer full en suite bathrooms and are equipped with extra length twin single/king size beds with percale linen, full air conditioning, satellite TV, bar fridge (stocked on request), wall safe, tea/coffee tray, hair dryer, Internet access, and all bathroom consumables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aqua Marina Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Marina Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.