We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we hoped for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Lodge on The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Lodge on The Beach to your Saves list
Bay Lodge on The Beach
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Bob Bouwer Crescent | Bayview, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not what we hoped for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

The photos and wesbite of the Bay Lodge give an amazing impression, but the reality doesn't quite live up to them.

The Bay Lodge is right on the beach with amazing views along the beach to the east. Our seaview room had a full height bay window to maximise this and the room was very spacious with a large dressing area and raised corner bath. The breakfast was lovely and served on the terrace under umbrellas.

But the approach to the Bay Lodge is past what looks like a chemical plant, and under a railway bridge. The guest house is located in a modern housing estate with close neighbours on both sides. Mossel Bay itself is a couple of miles away and not the dream of the garden route that we had in mind. But it was about as far as we could drive in one day from Cape Town with a 3 year old.

The pool was really unusable when we visited as it looked like it was in the process of beng cleaned. It is in a small courtyard inside the guesthouse with limited sunshine. There was nowhere to sit after about 9.30 at night unless you managed to catch the staff on duty and ask them not to set the alarms in the communal areas. Although when we did, the staff were helpful and made us a coffee to drink.

Not quite what we had invisioned the place would be, but a convenient stop at the start of the garden route.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frankenthal
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

We picked this Bed & Breakfast from the Portfolio Collection. The pictures published in the Internet are looking great. The reality ... the B&B is situated near large petrol storage tanks. You have a wonderful view to the ocean ... watching "big chemical tankers" getting debarked through an underground pipeline. As a result you can find some oil spots at the beach - not a place you like your children playing. The rooms and the furnitures are outdated ... (30 years old?). The bathroom (with the toilet) had no door. We were told that this is a modern "open plan bathroom". The television and the cabinets were dirty. Although we booked five nights and paid 50% upfront, we immediately decided to leave that awful place. The discussion with the owners who took over this B&B several years ago was disgusting. We argued that the pictures are quite misleading and that we never would have chosen this B&B being aware of the surroundings. The owners basically argued that they need the money. OK - we left. And stayed the remaining 4 nights at Ocean 11, Hermanus. This is the place to stay - not Mossel Bay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosselBayBaylodge, Owner at Bay Lodge on The Beach, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
This guest was happy with his room and view on arrival. He then said he felt unsafe with a oiltanker in the Bay as he felt it could explode. The tanker is about 7km into the Ocean. It was more dangerous flying to South Africa.
The starage tanks are to the rear of the property and is also a few km. away but he used the zoom on his camera to the maximum to try and create a negative response.
The tankers do not debark any "chemicals" - They load petrol and diesel and is not Chemical Tankers.
There are no oil spots on the Beach. The Mossel Bay Beaches was awarded a blue flag status in that period.!
The Furniture is not 30 years old. It was purchased about 6 months prior the guests visit from one of the most well known shops in South Africa namely Weatherly's. This is imported furniture.
This room was inspected by a tourist body soon after his departure and no dirt or any of these false accusations were found in the room.
I as the owner did not "take this B&B over several years ago - I built this property and have no other owners owned this property before.
We all need money but I work for my money in a honest way that so many guests apprteciate and this statement complaint is an untruth and a very personal statement by the complainent.

May I point out that this property is located on some of the most expensive real estate in Mossel Bay. A plot (land only) was sold this year for R6 Million and a house in the street is on the market for R17 Million.
May I point out that the guest wanted a refund because he felt unsafe as he felt that the oil tanker would explode and he advised me that he would go out of his way to make our property look bad on the Internet. I asked him if he was threatening me and he replied "Yes"
Maybe he succeeded in placing unfounded statements on the Internet and hopefully visitors to this site can see both sides of the story.
Thank you to so many guests that enjoyed their stay with us.
The German visitor that stayed in this same room was shocked to read these statements and felt it as "sick"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

My stay at the Bay Lodge was superb, offering services second to none with very accomodation staff. I particularly enjoyed the proximity of the beach as well as having comfortable settings inside and outside the venue.

The staff were very welcoming upon arrival and ensured to inform you of any dining experiences and activities available within the area.

My room at the Bay Lodge was very clean and spacious with an excellent layout for the bathroom. I will be sure to recommend this to friends and family if they decide to visit Mossel Bay in the future.

  • Liked — The beach being so close
  • Disliked — Potential for WIFI Access
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Stayed at Bay Lodge for 2 nights in August. It is in a very residential location, which we found quite difficult to find. Our room was large, but in need of some care and redecoration. The widows did not fit properly and the wind really whistled in them during the storms which seemed to happen each evening. The bathroom was large, but very cold - probably because the window would not close. Again, this room really needed some loving care. Breakfast was OK. Staff were not overly friendly. The whole place smelled of dogs, which could be a bit overpowering at times. The plus side of this place was watching the whales while eating breakfast on the terrace.

  • Liked — watching the whales
  • Disliked — smell of dogs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Lodge on The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lodge on The Beach

Address: 29 Bob Bouwer Crescent | Bayview, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Lodge on The Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Bay Lodge on The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Lodge on The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.