We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De-li-cious !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polka

Polka
52 Somerset Street, Graaff-Reinet, South Africa
0875501363
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Pizza, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“De-li-cious !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a pleasant surprise this little restaurant was! With its quirky decor it was quite inviting. Best quiche I've had in a very long time and most definitely THE best peppermint crisp tart I have ever had (indulged in this twice - too good not to).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    84
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ketsch
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“lunch very good, dinner ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

lunch in the garden was nice, dinner a little bit disappointing, since 3 out of 5 ingredients of my starter had run out of stock and so they served only 2 of 5 - but at least i didnt have to pay the starter!
but rest of the menu was ok though you cannot compare it to capetown, but the place is really nice!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Either we got unlucky or this place has lost it's magic, we think it might be the latter.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013


After reading good reviews we were excited about this restaurant. It had a lovely ambience but our experience was below average. The lamb shank looked lovely but first bite and we were disappointed with how dry the meat was, seemed like it had been heated up for too long. They replaced it with lamb chops which were practically raw as their chef had already left by 9:30pm. They offered us a slice of cake on the house and it was soggy and tasted a bit off. The ketchup was also very off and sour. Only the one dish of lamb chops was really delicious. There is potential here but they really need to up their game on quality control. They need someone to keep track of cake freshness, condiment freshness and to make sure the meat is cooked just right. The place is definitely overpriced for the quality of food. We would reluctantly give them one more chance before writing them off completely. If you have high expectations for your meat, we were told to try cold stream round the corner.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riaan J, Owner at Polka, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I refer to your review and would like to apologize for the unsatisfactory evening you experienced. We do take all complaints seriously and I would appreciate it if you could go to our website and email me your contact details in order for me to discuss this matter with you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Have eaten there on my last few trips to Graaff Reinet and all my meals have been excellent, well presented, great portion sizes and well priced.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, lots of really nice food and enjoyed the Butternut soup, one of the best ever
Free internet also so caught up with emails whilst having coffee and of course cake

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polka also viewed

Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Polka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.